$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
595 reviews
great hotel, fabulous view

Friendly staff, nice room, great view. We stayed on the 9th floor. We loved it. See full review

  • funworldtraveler
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great place to stay

The view was amazing both day and night. You can see the Falls lit up at night from your bed. The... See full review

  • 52 and beginning to trave
  • Mar 25, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (595)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
595 out of 595
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enyoying life
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2014

The View from this hotel was awesome

We only went there to sleep because we where out most of the time, but the room was clean, the hotel in general was well maintained, I'd definitely go back to this hotel if we go back to Niagara Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely recommend getting the package attraction packages the sell, it includes bus transportation, & attractions depending on your selections. it was worth it.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
benfica bola
niagara falls, canada
Jul 14, 2014

average

Should offer breakfast. Should be more modern. Small bathroom with no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kriss
Toronto
Jul 14, 2014

Unpleasant surprise

I was staying in this hotel 2 times before and if was great. This time I belived that I booked as usual a room with falls view but I end up in a room on second floor with parking lot view. To get to the room I had to go through construction zone and it looked like I'm on the "journey behind the fall"already and it smelled like swamp.Hotel staff explained me that this is what I get and there are no other options. It supposed to be romantic getaway but because of the disappointed circumstances it was a little disaster. I'm not going to recommend this hotel as long as they improve to anyone soon. Kris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beige traveler
Ohio
Jul 14, 2014

Could have been worse

I was expecting a bit more from this hotel given what we paid. The basics were all there, but amenities were lacking. Some grout was missing from our bathroom floor, causing the tiles to shift underfoot. The decor is definitely dated. The "observation deck" was not at all what I expected, just a window overlooking the Falls. But we were indeed very close to the Falls, which was helpful. If we make a second trip, we will probably stay a bit farther out in a quainter location, perhaps near Niagara-on-the-Lake, which had a vibe that we much preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We were beyond impressed with the food at the AG restaurant. We got a delicious, farm-to-table, gourmet meal for a reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yerkola
Boston
Jul 13, 2014

Save your money

Nothing good can be said about this hotel other then location . Interior of the hotel is like a bad dream , tv did not work , hall way smells bad .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnielee bell
Fleming island, Florida
Jul 11, 2014

Southern girl goes north

I thought it was a mistake when I read some of the the reviews. But the hotel and location and staff was great. We had a very lovely room with a great view of the falls , room 821 was wonderful even for the fireworks they the falls have we had a wonderful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park next door it's $5.00 a day compared to $25.00 a day at the hotel and it's just on the other side of Applebee's

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Susie
USA
Jul 8, 2014

Getaway.......... Disappointed

Booked fallsview room only to find out the deceit. The front desk girl had condescending attitude. I mentioned about the room and what floor we had, which was 2nd, with no view,only to be told by her and very rude to go to the 14th floor observation tower if we wanted view. Construction in the hallways, very inconvenient. Experience there very disappointing, not recommending to anyone!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a central location, there were other hotels that would we be highly recommended to search out other than Oakes.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hitten
CT
Jul 7, 2014

Fimily gateaway with hotel that have construction

hotel construction going on all floors. bad time to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel construction going on all floors. bad time to stay there.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HeatGun
Los Angeles
Jul 5, 2014

View is best but what about hair in Jacuzzi tub?

Location is best, there is no way you can get better view of the Falls but what about cleanliness ? I found too many hair pieces around bathroom and inside jacuzzu tub, I went down to Front desk to talk to Manager but girl told me that Managers dont stay after 5PM until 9 AM, what a joke! A huge hotel without manager for 16 hours? Again, great location, double check your room and tub before you enter and have them to clean well, then you have best location, bad management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Toronto, ON
Jul 1, 2014

Needs a makeover!

We checked in pretty late and only stayed for a total of 12 hours. The lobby was maybe the nicest part of the hotel, the air conditioning was pretty weak. The rooms definitely need renovations, is not modern, beds are not as comfortable, tv well there's not many channels, quality not clear. Hallways wallpaper falling apart. The checkout staff kept us waiting for awhile before we were acknowledged. Maybe finish your paper after customers are served or at least tell us to wait abit, instead we awkwardly stood there. Not as welcomed as a 4-5* hotel. But I guess should've expected that as the price definitely reflects the hotel. Actually the Ramada by the outlet is comparable in price and a lot nicer and more modern. If you don't care too much on where you stay then It's ok. The view on the 4th floor is of trees and the midst of the falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the casino

Back to menu Return to top