$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
587 reviews
great hotel, fabulous view

Friendly staff, nice room, great view. We stayed on the 9th floor. We loved it. See full review

  • funworldtraveler
  • Jun 27, 2014
Great place to stay

The view was amazing both day and night. You can see the Falls lit up at night from your bed. The... See full review

  • 52 and beginning to trave
  • Mar 25, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (587)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 587
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matthes
Toronto, on
Mar 2, 2014

Great location & friendly staff

Walking distance to the casino for a great valued price. Room was small but clean. Customer service was great. Parkig was expensive, would recommend finding parking else where

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the casino for free

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elmyraduff
New York, NY
Sep 3, 2013

Amazing views of the falls

The best thing about this hotel is the views! The staff is nice and kind, the rooms are clean, and the location is great. But the view is the best feature of this hotel. Make sure you get a 'fallsview' room and not a 'fallsside' room. Fallsside rooms are standard rooms in floors 2-8. And falsview rooms are 8 and upper floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dinner buffet at the Fallsview Casino is not bad for $20.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Picky Just Honest
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 16, 2012

Honest Reviewer

I got 2 rooms, 1 for me and 1 for a friend. Turns out because he arrived earlier he got upgraded to a better room, which if you were the credit card holder you'd be disappointed too. This hotel is not worth the amount I paid, trust me when I say pay a little more for a better experience. I would consider the Oakes to be an 'upscale' motel and I certainly wouldn't stay there again. You can't expect great things from a 3 star hotel but at least the staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadtrip Foodie
Washington D.C.
Jun 19, 2012

good location but average hotel

The location was really good - was able to see the Falls from hotel, walk to the casino, and for $2.5 oneway took the rail down to see the falls. It leads right to Table Rock Welcome Center. Parking really wasn't too much of a hassle since we were already used to paying around $20/night for our stays in Toronto and Montreal. The hotel rooms were a bit dated with worn carpeting and older bedding (our party booked two rooms), but over all clean. The shower was like a waterfall itself though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We thought the casino would have a decent buffet, but I would suggest avoiding it. No raw bar or crab legs, most of the food looked better than it actually tasted.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
musakguru
Philadelphia, PA
May 29, 2012

Best place to stay at the Falls

It was a great value and by far the best location to the falls. I felt like we had a better viewing experience than the people who paid to go up to the revolving bar to see their view (which is farther away than the Oaks Hotel) I would recommend this place to anyone. The pool was nice, and the staff was pretty friendly overall. Watch out for the expensive soda vending machines though :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dimik1982
Wheeling, IL
May 29, 2012

Long Weekend

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for one day and one night. Stained and smelly carpet throughout the hallway. Light was not working in the room. Loud a/c unit. This hotels needs a lot of standard improvements. At minimum walls need to freshly painted and carpeting needs to replaced. However, the hotel has good location. Paid $15 for parking, while garage next door has $5 parking. Never will recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Like the area. A lot of dining, casino close by, great location near the Waterfall.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 18, 2011

View not guaranteed

Because we booked on [...], we were not able to select a floor although we payed for a falls view. The receptionist basically said "Tough luck!" We ended up on the 5th floor with a partial view of the small falls. We had to pay $15 for parking (their lot filled, so we were sent to an open lot behind Apple Bees). Rip off. We were treated poorly by the receptionist who seemed annoyed to be dealing with us, yet was friendly and animated when a bus group checked in. We would not stay here again (stayed at the Sheraton the next night and loved it!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 18, 2011

View not guaranteed

Because we booked on [...], we were not able to select a floor although we payed for a falls view. The receptionist basically said "Tough luck!" We ended up on the 5th floor with a partial view of the small falls. We had to pay $15 for parking (their lot filled, so we were sent to an open lot behind Apple Bees). Rip off. We were treated poorly by the receptionist who seemed annoyed to be dealing with us, yet was friendly and animated when a bus group checked in. We would not stay here again (stayed at the Sheraton the next night and loved it!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo Jo
Detroit, MI
Jun 6, 2011

Great View!

sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Dec 28, 2010

Excellent hotel, very clean, good price

We couldn't get a falls view room but the hotel has an observation floor on the 14th with some couches to just sit and enjoy the falls. The courtyard room was big with double beds, clean, had tv, iron, hair-dryer etc. Washroom was big and super clean. Only problem is when the neighbors turn on the tap or shower the sound penetrates the thin walls and trust me its pretty loud. Other than that everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top