$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
449 reviews
Great Value

I stayed the beginning of March so because it wasn't during their busy season we got a king suite... See full review

  • Muppetbabytattoos
  • Apr 16, 2015
Very nice exipierience

I stayed in this hotel not a first time and it is always good experience. See full review

  • Kriss
  • Apr 6, 2015
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview

Niagara's boutique style Fallsview hotel, Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls, next door to the Fallsview Casino and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed, and a 14th floor Fallsview observation lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls. The hotel also provides a range of food and drink options to accommodate for guests. Property features a new lobby with pod style check-in, renovated public spaces and rooms, new LED TVs with HD programming in every room and new bedding.

Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a work desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hairdryer, LED TV and Wi-Fi access.
Features

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a boutique destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are newly renovated, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with two on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara offers steaks and seafood served by Canada's only singing servers! There's also an on-site Applebees Grill & Bar for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remingtons of Niagara restaurant is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.

Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Top hotels

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview Room - 2 Queen Beds
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Fallsview Suite - 1 King Bed
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Traditional Room - 2 Double Beds
A stylish room located in our courtyard section at an amazing value! Enjoy all of the amenities offered at The Oakes Hotel without the Fallsview. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room comes with two double sized beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Falls Side Room - 2 Queen Beds
A newly renovated room with floor to ceiling windows facing towards the Falls. From floors 4 to 7, this room has a view of the Niagara River. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room includes two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Remingtons of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara is Niagara's award winning steak and seafood restaurant. Remingtons provides an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remingtons is the ONLY restaurant in canada that features talented singing servers. Try the house specialty slow roasted Prime Rib.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 449
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denise l.
Business
el dorado hills
Apr 8, 2015

Good location

Staff seemed disaffected and rushed. But we liked the location and the view is quite nice of the falls at night. A good budget stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodney C.
Business
Jacksonville
Mar 2, 2015

Romantic Weekend

We stayed over weekend. Had a room overlooking the falls. AWESOME view and you could hear the falls as you go to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WANTED MORE 2
Business
CLEVELAND, OHIO
Sep 21, 2014

WEEKEND GETAWAY

THERE WASN'T ANYTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THE ROOM. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE A REFRIG., A GOOD VIEW OF THE FALLS. ACTUALLY, IT WAS GOOD FOR SIMPLY AN OVERNIGHT ACCOMMODATIONS. HOWEVER, GOOD LOCATION TO THE LIFT TO THE FALLS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DINING CLOSE TO THE HOTEL OVERPRICED. SOME DO NOT SERVICE WATER WITH THE MEAL. WANT YOU TO BUY THE WATER. NEVER HEARD OF SUCH.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudreen Jackson travele
Business
Detroit Michigan
Sep 8, 2014

Location, Location, Location

We loved the location, We had a falls view room and appreciated the view. Right next to the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel gave us a $10 off coupon for a meal which we missed because we did not see it in our room key packet. Look for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kriss
Business
Toronto
May 21, 2014

Good stay

I went to casino and I needed a nice, comfortable room and they provided that. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matthes
Business
Toronto, on
Mar 2, 2014

Great location & friendly staff

Walking distance to the casino for a great valued price. Room was small but clean. Customer service was great. Parkig was expensive, would recommend finding parking else where

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the casino for free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elmyraduff
Business
New York, NY
Sep 3, 2013

Amazing views of the falls

The best thing about this hotel is the views! The staff is nice and kind, the rooms are clean, and the location is great. But the view is the best feature of this hotel. Make sure you get a 'fallsview' room and not a 'fallsside' room. Fallsside rooms are standard rooms in floors 2-8. And falsview rooms are 8 and upper floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dinner buffet at the Fallsview Casino is not bad for $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Picky Just Honest
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 16, 2012

Honest Reviewer

I got 2 rooms, 1 for me and 1 for a friend. Turns out because he arrived earlier he got upgraded to a better room, which if you were the credit card holder you'd be disappointed too. This hotel is not worth the amount I paid, trust me when I say pay a little more for a better experience. I would consider the Oakes to be an 'upscale' motel and I certainly wouldn't stay there again. You can't expect great things from a 3 star hotel but at least the staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadtrip Foodie
Business
Washington D.C.
Jun 19, 2012

good location but average hotel

The location was really good - was able to see the Falls from hotel, walk to the casino, and for $2.5 oneway took the rail down to see the falls. It leads right to Table Rock Welcome Center. Parking really wasn't too much of a hassle since we were already used to paying around $20/night for our stays in Toronto and Montreal. The hotel rooms were a bit dated with worn carpeting and older bedding (our party booked two rooms), but over all clean. The shower was like a waterfall itself though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We thought the casino would have a decent buffet, but I would suggest avoiding it. No raw bar or crab legs, most of the food looked better than it actually tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dimik1982
Business
Wheeling, IL
May 29, 2012

Long Weekend

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for one day and one night. Stained and smelly carpet throughout the hallway. Light was not working in the room. Loud a/c unit. This hotels needs a lot of standard improvements. At minimum walls need to freshly painted and carpeting needs to replaced. However, the hotel has good location. Paid $15 for parking, while garage next door has $5 parking. Never will recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Like the area. A lot of dining, casino close by, great location near the Waterfall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top