$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
447 reviews
Very nice exipierience

I stayed in this hotel not a first time and it is always good experience. See full review

  • Kriss
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great

It was a great expierence, the view was awesome, friendly staff, close to everything. See full review

  • Rene R.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview

Niagara's boutique style Fallsview hotel, Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls, next door to the Fallsview Casino and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed, and a 14th floor Fallsview observation lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls. The hotel also provides a range of food and drink options to accommodate for guests. Property features a new lobby with pod style check-in, renovated public spaces and rooms, new LED TVs with HD programming in every room and new bedding.

Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a work desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hairdryer, LED TV and Wi-Fi access.
Features

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a boutique destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are newly renovated, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with two on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara offers steaks and seafood served by Canada's only singing servers! There's also an on-site Applebees Grill & Bar for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remingtons of Niagara restaurant is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.

Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview Room - 2 Queen Beds
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Fallsview Suite - 1 King Bed
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Traditional Room - 2 Double Beds
A stylish room located in our courtyard section at an amazing value! Enjoy all of the amenities offered at The Oakes Hotel without the Fallsview. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room comes with two double sized beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Falls Side Room - 2 Queen Beds
A newly renovated room with floor to ceiling windows facing towards the Falls. From floors 4 to 7, this room has a view of the Niagara River. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room includes two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Remingtons of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara is Niagara's award winning steak and seafood restaurant. Remingtons provides an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remingtons is the ONLY restaurant in canada that features talented singing servers. Try the house specialty slow roasted Prime Rib.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ottawa Family
Business
Ottawa ON
Mar 10, 2014

2 Star at most

Our stay at this hotel was not satisfactory. The hotel staff was unfriendly, the room was dated and run-down, the view of the parking lot was not what I was expecting when staying in Niagara Falls, to use the WIFI was an extra charge of $35 (no thank you), Parking was an extra $20, and a soda from the vending machine was $30. I'd give this hotel a 2 star at most. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danny DC
Business
Canada
Mar 30, 2014

Don't bother

A very dated , run down hotel When you book on sites other than their own you get shabby room Not worth it all Stay away stick with chains you trust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jaquelyn
Business
USA
Jan 4, 2008

Make your own bed

The Oakes Hotel was in a beautiful location but did not live up to its standards. The manager was incredibly rude to us as well as other employees. The hotel room looked nice at first but the sheets were incredibly dirty with dark stains through out it. We asked them to change the sheets and they gave us the stuff and told us to do it ourselves. We decided to let them do it the next day, which they did. However, they then took my cell phone with the sheets. Thus my phone was roaming and they almost lost it and washed it. They didn't believe us when we reported it missing, and talked down to us. An hour later they did find my cell phone in their sheets. They did nothing to accommodate the mistakes they had made. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you like dirty rooms and being talked down to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Niagra Falls; simple as that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

bad experince

hi my oakes hotel bad experince room very old i think so motel room better than oakes hotel me and my wife not feel well last time i stayed quality hotel that one cheap and best also give me a breakfasr oakes in future never ever i dont recomend anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sally 062012
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Jul 3, 2012

unusable shower

Not a good experience at all! I could not have my child use the shower for 5 nights that I was staying in this place! I got burned myself multiple times using the shower,I called to report the problem with the shower they said they will send someone to fix the problem tomorrow ,I used the shower again the same problem, I called them again the other staff member told me that this part of hotel is a shared facility and water pressure changes when they use the water.I asked them to change my room but they said we can change your room within the same floor but it will still have the same problem or you have to pay $210 for a 3 night upgrade to another floor!The hallways were not clean in this place .The service was completely not acceptable.The management is not honest cause when I talked tomy trip manager regarding my experience they contacted them and they said they offered me a room with no prblem but I did not accept,That's not true!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pbalaji
Business
minneapolis, MN
Jul 9, 2012

Courtyard rooms are terrible

Didn't realize that couryard rooms would be so bad. The room was maintained very poorly, the beds were very old, no wi-fi connection. I was not even able to upgrade to another room that easy. They asked for $100 more to upgrade to another better room. I am giving a 1 star purely for the location. Not too far from the falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Special weekends
Business
shelby, michigan
Jul 30, 2012

Dissapointed

The hotel should of been renovated at least 10 years ago. I could not find anything that even looks new or newer. The hotel said the room above the 9th floor are above the trees and the veiw is great. Maybe 8 to 10 years ago. I was on the 9th floor and only could see a 1/3rd of the falls themself because the trees have grown. I look at detail and for instance I saw food bags on the elevator the day I arrived and were there the next day when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vinies is a great Italian resturant and the service was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
one unhappy guest
Business
Herndon, Virginia
Jun 22, 2012

Not worth a dime!!!

I booked this hotel based on the impressive photo from the search result. after driving over 7 hours to get there I found a very "non impressive hotel", the staff was very rude from the start, the hotel is very dirty and dark with some long hallways that looked like they belong in a "Rob Zombie" movie. After I saw the room I went downstairs and asked the front desk person to cancell my reservation and she told me that they would not cancel because it was a third party reservation. The manager told me that if I did not like it I could contact my booking company and she "wished me good luck" (in a sarcastic way of course). I went back up to my room contacted my booking company and cancelled the reservaqtion without problems. I would never stay in this hotel and would NOT reccomend this Hotel to anybody else, that was my first time in the Niagara Falls area so I walked to another hotel and enjoyed the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brasas Restaurant..!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kate W
Business
Niagara Falls
Jun 11, 2012

choose a different hotel

We are a family of 3, with a grown teenage boy, which was not only written clearly on the reservation sheet, but also obvious at the reception during the check-in. Yet, the guy placed us in a . . . honey-moon suite, with a hot tub tightly fitting next to the only bed in the rather smallish room . . . When I explained to them that my son needs a separate bed, they said they can put a cot next to the tub . . . I was speechless at their lack of ability to handle the situation! At that point, I suggested that perhaps finding another room would be better. They did, but I had to pay extra. At all times their customer service skills and their attitude were appalling! Patronizing, not caring, not at all hospitable, and ready to proof a point rather that look for solutions. Barely 1 out of 5! Our overall opinion of the place remained the same the following morning: the place has a feel and style of a cheap motel, upgraded due to a good location. Apart from the view, which was stunning, not thanks to anything the hotel stuff is doing for you; nothing is worth the price - the cheap old pillows, which give you a neck-ache in the morning, the tiny and dirty bathroom, with leeks on the ceiling, a cheap and dirty shower curtain, and an un-flushed toilet, and the overwhelming smell of bleach on the towels and sheets. A dirty coffeemaker, no fridge, extra charges for parking (of which nobody informed us ahead of time), other guests unhappy and being mistreated in the lobby . . . The list goes on . . . And don't be fooled by the name - you can have a falls view room at the HIlton, or Embassy, for the same price, or even cheaper, and actually be treated like you are welcome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Good Guy gone bad
Business
Mass,us
Jun 22, 2012

"Run Down"

We were placed in second floor,it's a long walked to other side of main building ,pass a very dirty and disgusting hallway,this is no better then a motel . when we first entered our room, the first thing we notice an open soap bar,the sink was wet, looks like someone was there before we checked in that day.but we didn't feel like to go back to the front desk to ask for switch another room since we not going to stay at our room that much. also the AC making very loud noise when turn on. the only great thing to say is the location .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top