$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DawnBrian
Fort Wayne, IN
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Trip!

We had a wonderful time here. The hotel was great. We were in Room 1917 and it had an amazing view! We were on the corner so we had windows on both sides of the room. Room was always clean. Only thing I did not like like was they wanted an extra $15.00 a day for parking. We found a parking garage on the opposite side of Applebees's that was only $5.00 a day and a very short walk to our hotel...worth the extra savings. Other than that, we had a great time and the room view was spectacular. Stay in room 1917 and you will not regret staying here at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the Adventure Pass for $44.95 for the 4 main attractions and 2-day bus pass. Worth every penny! Had a blast! We got it from the Welcome Center right by the Candian Horseshoe Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NDdave
Business
North Dakota
Jun 7, 2014

Very good for the money - can't beat the view!

This hotel is a great value, but don't expect all the bells and whistles of even a hotel by an airport. Best view ever of the falls, don't skimp out and not pay for the fall's view. Staff were excellent in all ways. Rooms needed updated shower / toilet area. Rust on ceiling tile frames, date, dark and OK. Also needed a fridge and microwave, but you can live without those. Rooms could also use shear type drapes to cut the glare and heat from the sun, the AC would barely keep up daytime, but was fine at night. Don't expect very good TV, the stations that came in were like rabbit-ear viewable from 1970! The rooms did have coffee maker, new comfortable beds and pillows, desk and wifi for $10. Parking is $20 a day, but oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rangers'94
Business
Long island, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Dad & Son Get-Away

The location is excellent. Staff was helpful even with the remodeling in the lobby under way. You need to make sure when making reservations that the nominal parking fee, depending on what you define as nominal is spelled out---$20 per day plus tax, to most folks we met, was not really "nominal" .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Review your options before arrival and you will find an array of different types of cuisines either a short or long walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mother2014
Business
Garfield, New Jersey
May 29, 2014

Family getaway

I think hotel needs more employee training. Night mAnager had no idea what a pack and play was or where he could find one. Reception was speaking to employee instead of giving me her full attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zamian
Business
New York
May 29, 2014

Nice View

The hotel was clean. The view from the room was excellent, I arrived a little earlier than my check in time and they took me without charge, unfortunately they charge me $20 for parking for each night I stood there, something I did not expect !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotels there are many parking lots, where you can leave your car overnight for half of the price they charge you in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerToVegas
Business
Findlay, OH
May 28, 2014

Good choice for a quick visit to Niagara Falls

Great location and we saw the falls from our window even though it was marked as fall"side" rather than falls view. No fridge in the room but really good location if you want to be able to walk to the attractions or to use WeGo passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Much Needed Island Time
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
May 27, 2014

Quick getaway

Great location & had a fantastic view from our room. Since the getaway was specifically to relax & visit the Falls area, the hotel location was perfect for us...close to everything we wanted & a great view from our room for the Falls & the fireworks. More than enough restaurants in the area to choose from as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annabel's mom
Business
NYC
May 27, 2014

Good for family

I like this hotel, it's a good value. It's close to many attractions. Also you can see waterfall from 14 floor. Room is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Siri Super Mom
Business
Michigan
May 27, 2014

Great family weekend

Location was perfect! Could see fireworks from the room. Walkable distance to the falls & attractions & Marineland. Room could be a little cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ravi r
Business
shelton, ct
May 26, 2014

good location

good location but no breakfast at the hotel. would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Coast 2014
Business
Alberta Canada
May 23, 2014

Great location

Great location right in front of the Canadian-side Horseshoe Fall. Breakfast and coffee in the room with the view - can't ask for more. Possible the best value for the price you pay. Front desk was not as welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top