$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom Renee
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel has a great location, right by the Falls. It's a breathtaking view of Niagara Falls. Unfortunately, they were doing some construction and we had a room on that end of the hotel. This part was like a motel and less. The toilet didn't flush properly, we didn't have hot water, until maintenance came up to fix it. Maintenance tried to fix the toilet but ended up with a small pool in the bathroom. There were no towels in the pool area and it took several calls from different people and at least an hour before they brought the towels. We didn't spend much time in the room, which was a good thing. There are a lot of activities and places to go outside of the hotel. We still had a great time and would go back but maybe not this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeffrogers
Business
Miami
Jul 30, 2014

Nothing Good except location

For the pruce and the rating I was expecting at least an average hotel. Unfortunately this is far from it. Some serious issues as far as facilities and service. Management from top to bottom needs to work reeeeeeally hard to improve things here. While people will.continue comming to the falls, beware there are many options available, lots of them better than this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gary
Business
Parker, CO
Jul 29, 2014

Best View of the Falls

This is no sales gimmick. This hotel truly does have the best view of the falls. We also enjoyed the view of the fireworks. Although this is a older hotel, it was clean, well maintained and the staff was helpful and very pleasant - why spend extra money to stay at a newer hotel? It was within walking distance to the falls and other activities. The casino is next door which houses shops and a food court. The hotel has a shuttle that took us to Remmingtons - which I would highly recommend, a casual atmosphere with wonderful food! My only wish would be that the room had a refrigerator and the ice machine wasn't located on another floor. I highly recommend the Oakes for a very best view of the falls - we stayed on the 17th floor and it was wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hockey doodad
Business
Pa
Jul 29, 2014

Average at best.

Hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay, but we were assured that the rooms were 'fine'. Well they were not, stiff uncomfortable beds, loud air conditioner that made it hard to sleep, dirty bathroom and shower. Additionally, the hotel advertised as having wifi, but when we got there we were told that the courtyard doesn't have wifi. When I asked for a new room with wifi was told to just connect to the Applebee's wifi and was given the passcode. Pretty sure that's not very legal. Anyways, if you're looking for a cheap hotel with average rooms and close to the falls this one fits the bill. If your looking for nice comfortable accommodations steer clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mackerusa
Business
Warminster, PA.
Jul 27, 2014

Expecting better for the price.

We had a courtyard view, which was overlooking a part of the car park and trash area - not good! Thought that the hotel had a restaurant and lounge area overlooking the falls but was highly disappointed that it had neither. The hotel room was old and run down, I have stayed in better Motel rooms for half the price, not a good experience and would not recommend the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enyoying life
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2014

The View from this hotel was awesome

We only went there to sleep because we where out most of the time, but the room was clean, the hotel in general was well maintained, I'd definitely go back to this hotel if we go back to Niagara Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely recommend getting the package attraction packages the sell, it includes bus transportation, & attractions depending on your selections. it was worth it.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mcarreau
Business
Westport Ma
Jul 25, 2014

This was the worst hotel I ever been to.

The staff was rude and they say free wifi and it is only free in the lobby and on the 14th floor. The rooms are way out dated. The floors had stains and burns and rips in the carpet. I talked to the front desk about the problems with everything and it seemed I was bothering them. That place should be shut down. I will never stay there again and would recommend that nobody stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sigel traveler
Business
sigel america
Jul 19, 2014

falls view

Front staff was helpful. great view of the falls. great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dbeck2790
Business
New Jersey
Jul 15, 2014

Broken Hotel, Awesome view

We stayed here 7/12/14. I read reviews that this hotel was broken down, dirty, but had a great location. They were all right. I noticed that the light fixtures in the lobby were all sticking out. The whole hotel was out dated by a good 30 years. Went up to our room, the hotel walls looked half complete from a remodel but obviously they weren't remodeling. The only thing that was perfect was the view. We were on the tenth floor room 1023. Excellent view. So, sheets were clean and no holes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
benfica bola
Business
niagara falls, canada
Jul 14, 2014

average

Should offer breakfast. Should be more modern. Small bathroom with no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top