$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enyoying life
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2014

The View from this hotel was awesome

We only went there to sleep because we where out most of the time, but the room was clean, the hotel in general was well maintained, I'd definitely go back to this hotel if we go back to Niagara Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely recommend getting the package attraction packages the sell, it includes bus transportation, & attractions depending on your selections. it was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mcarreau
Business
Westport Ma
Jul 25, 2014

This was the worst hotel I ever been to.

The staff was rude and they say free wifi and it is only free in the lobby and on the 14th floor. The rooms are way out dated. The floors had stains and burns and rips in the carpet. I talked to the front desk about the problems with everything and it seemed I was bothering them. That place should be shut down. I will never stay there again and would recommend that nobody stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellamia
Business
Miami Florida
Jul 24, 2014

Amazing

Just perfect !! Can't get any better , excellent view , clean. Very helpfully staff , everything in walking distance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sigel traveler
Business
sigel america
Jul 19, 2014

falls view

Front staff was helpful. great view of the falls. great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dbeck2790
Business
New Jersey
Jul 15, 2014

Broken Hotel, Awesome view

We stayed here 7/12/14. I read reviews that this hotel was broken down, dirty, but had a great location. They were all right. I noticed that the light fixtures in the lobby were all sticking out. The whole hotel was out dated by a good 30 years. Went up to our room, the hotel walls looked half complete from a remodel but obviously they weren't remodeling. The only thing that was perfect was the view. We were on the tenth floor room 1023. Excellent view. So, sheets were clean and no holes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kriss
Business
Toronto
Jul 14, 2014

Unpleasant surprise

I was staying in this hotel 2 times before and if was great. This time I belived that I booked as usual a room with falls view but I end up in a room on second floor with parking lot view. To get to the room I had to go through construction zone and it looked like I'm on the "journey behind the fall"already and it smelled like swamp.Hotel staff explained me that this is what I get and there are no other options. It supposed to be romantic getaway but because of the disappointed circumstances it was a little disaster. I'm not going to recommend this hotel as long as they improve to anyone soon. Kris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
benfica bola
Business
niagara falls, canada
Jul 14, 2014

average

Should offer breakfast. Should be more modern. Small bathroom with no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beige traveler
Business
Ohio
Jul 14, 2014

Could have been worse

I was expecting a bit more from this hotel given what we paid. The basics were all there, but amenities were lacking. Some grout was missing from our bathroom floor, causing the tiles to shift underfoot. The decor is definitely dated. The "observation deck" was not at all what I expected, just a window overlooking the Falls. But we were indeed very close to the Falls, which was helpful. If we make a second trip, we will probably stay a bit farther out in a quainter location, perhaps near Niagara-on-the-Lake, which had a vibe that we much preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We were beyond impressed with the food at the AG restaurant. We got a delicious, farm-to-table, gourmet meal for a reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yerkola
Business
Boston
Jul 13, 2014

Save your money

Nothing good can be said about this hotel other then location . Interior of the hotel is like a bad dream , tv did not work , hall way smells bad .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnielee bell
Business
Fleming island, Florida
Jul 11, 2014

Southern girl goes north

I thought it was a mistake when I read some of the the reviews. But the hotel and location and staff was great. We had a very lovely room with a great view of the falls , room 821 was wonderful even for the fireworks they the falls have we had a wonderful view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park next door it's $5.00 a day compared to $25.00 a day at the hotel and it's just on the other side of Applebee's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top