$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
501 out of 501
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kermooni
Business
Ontario
Aug 6, 2014

way below expectaion

I make it simple: Staff: Generally speaking, the most unproffecianal staff I have ever seen in a hotel or even in a motel. Out of 5 I dealt with, only one was about average. The rest were oweful. Check in: in the hotel description, it says check in is 3pm and I was there right at 3pm. I booked 3 rooms for my guests including 2 babies under 4 months and 2 seniors 70+ (one with disability). The reception told me rooms are not ready and will not be till 4:30pm!!! And when asked why she said it is rush time and we didn't have enough time to clean all room!!! And worst part is she said without any care:" check in is not guaranteed on 3pm anyway". I showed her my booking and said I don't see any where that says so and asked her to show me a proof for her word, and she refused. Even telling her I have 2 baby's and 2 seniors with me, didn't make much of difference and I got my rooms finally around 4:15. Room: My rooms supposed to have falls view, but I got rooms that although were facing south, you couldn't see falls at all. Because it has to be above 14th floor in order to be able to see fall, or you just see back yard parking instead! And my floor was 2. So don't get fool by description of room that says "river view'. The AC in the room was also very noisy and made it defficault to sleep in night. Bathroom sink was also half blocked and waist water couldn't go down easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy Super Mimi
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 5, 2014

Great location with a great view

Nice view of the Canadian falls and fireworks over the falls. Room was very clean and was cleaned daily.We did not know about the $20 daily parking fee and with tax, it was acutally $22.60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your activities on the Canadain side, the American side is very run down and it oftens takes an hour or more to go back and forth through customs.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mother Traveling
Business
Niagara Falls Canada
Aug 4, 2014

location to the falls great everything else was not worth the price

As stated... location to the Falls was great, but the hotel itself left not worth the price.. The smell of insecticide as you got off the Elevator, the Worn out Carpet both in and outside the Room, Water in the Lobby always empty and Lemon in water full of seeds... Not recommended nor will i ever trust this sites ratings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom Renee
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel has a great location, right by the Falls. It's a breathtaking view of Niagara Falls. Unfortunately, they were doing some construction and we had a room on that end of the hotel. This part was like a motel and less. The toilet didn't flush properly, we didn't have hot water, until maintenance came up to fix it. Maintenance tried to fix the toilet but ended up with a small pool in the bathroom. There were no towels in the pool area and it took several calls from different people and at least an hour before they brought the towels. We didn't spend much time in the room, which was a good thing. There are a lot of activities and places to go outside of the hotel. We still had a great time and would go back but maybe not this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeffrogers
Business
Miami
Jul 30, 2014

Nothing Good except location

For the pruce and the rating I was expecting at least an average hotel. Unfortunately this is far from it. Some serious issues as far as facilities and service. Management from top to bottom needs to work reeeeeeally hard to improve things here. While people will.continue comming to the falls, beware there are many options available, lots of them better than this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gary
Business
Parker, CO
Jul 29, 2014

Best View of the Falls

This is no sales gimmick. This hotel truly does have the best view of the falls. We also enjoyed the view of the fireworks. Although this is a older hotel, it was clean, well maintained and the staff was helpful and very pleasant - why spend extra money to stay at a newer hotel? It was within walking distance to the falls and other activities. The casino is next door which houses shops and a food court. The hotel has a shuttle that took us to Remmingtons - which I would highly recommend, a casual atmosphere with wonderful food! My only wish would be that the room had a refrigerator and the ice machine wasn't located on another floor. I highly recommend the Oakes for a very best view of the falls - we stayed on the 17th floor and it was wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hockey doodad
Business
Pa
Jul 29, 2014

Average at best.

Hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay, but we were assured that the rooms were 'fine'. Well they were not, stiff uncomfortable beds, loud air conditioner that made it hard to sleep, dirty bathroom and shower. Additionally, the hotel advertised as having wifi, but when we got there we were told that the courtyard doesn't have wifi. When I asked for a new room with wifi was told to just connect to the Applebee's wifi and was given the passcode. Pretty sure that's not very legal. Anyways, if you're looking for a cheap hotel with average rooms and close to the falls this one fits the bill. If your looking for nice comfortable accommodations steer clear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mackerusa
Business
Warminster, PA.
Jul 27, 2014

Expecting better for the price.

We had a courtyard view, which was overlooking a part of the car park and trash area - not good! Thought that the hotel had a restaurant and lounge area overlooking the falls but was highly disappointed that it had neither. The hotel room was old and run down, I have stayed in better Motel rooms for half the price, not a good experience and would not recommend the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George muller
Business
Boulder ,CO
Jul 26, 2014

Falls view

I reserved a room with Falls view but when I checked in,the receptionist told me that the room had only side view of the Falls . So I ended up payin extra $50 to have reasonably good view. Not completely honest about pricing in the beginning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

To get a shuttle to the Buffalo Airport,get internet service.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enyoying life
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2014

The View from this hotel was awesome

We only went there to sleep because we where out most of the time, but the room was clean, the hotel in general was well maintained, I'd definitely go back to this hotel if we go back to Niagara Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely recommend getting the package attraction packages the sell, it includes bus transportation, & attractions depending on your selections. it was worth it.

Back to menu Return to top