$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy Super Mimi
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 5, 2014

Great location with a great view

Nice view of the Canadian falls and fireworks over the falls. Room was very clean and was cleaned daily.We did not know about the $20 daily parking fee and with tax, it was acutally $22.60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book your activities on the Canadain side, the American side is very run down and it oftens takes an hour or more to go back and forth through customs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mother Traveling
Business
Niagara Falls Canada
Aug 4, 2014

location to the falls great everything else was not worth the price

As stated... location to the Falls was great, but the hotel itself left not worth the price.. The smell of insecticide as you got off the Elevator, the Worn out Carpet both in and outside the Room, Water in the Lobby always empty and Lemon in water full of seeds... Not recommended nor will i ever trust this sites ratings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy and Gary
Business
Parker, CO
Jul 29, 2014

Best View of the Falls

This is no sales gimmick. This hotel truly does have the best view of the falls. We also enjoyed the view of the fireworks. Although this is a older hotel, it was clean, well maintained and the staff was helpful and very pleasant - why spend extra money to stay at a newer hotel? It was within walking distance to the falls and other activities. The casino is next door which houses shops and a food court. The hotel has a shuttle that took us to Remmingtons - which I would highly recommend, a casual atmosphere with wonderful food! My only wish would be that the room had a refrigerator and the ice machine wasn't located on another floor. I highly recommend the Oakes for a very best view of the falls - we stayed on the 17th floor and it was wonderful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mackerusa
Business
Warminster, PA.
Jul 27, 2014

Expecting better for the price.

We had a courtyard view, which was overlooking a part of the car park and trash area - not good! Thought that the hotel had a restaurant and lounge area overlooking the falls but was highly disappointed that it had neither. The hotel room was old and run down, I have stayed in better Motel rooms for half the price, not a good experience and would not recommend the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George muller
Business
Boulder ,CO
Jul 26, 2014

Falls view

I reserved a room with Falls view but when I checked in,the receptionist told me that the room had only side view of the Falls . So I ended up payin extra $50 to have reasonably good view. Not completely honest about pricing in the beginning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

To get a shuttle to the Buffalo Airport,get internet service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enyoying life
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2014

The View from this hotel was awesome

We only went there to sleep because we where out most of the time, but the room was clean, the hotel in general was well maintained, I'd definitely go back to this hotel if we go back to Niagara Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely recommend getting the package attraction packages the sell, it includes bus transportation, & attractions depending on your selections. it was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellamia
Business
Miami Florida
Jul 24, 2014

Amazing

Just perfect !! Can't get any better , excellent view , clean. Very helpfully staff , everything in walking distance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kriss
Business
Toronto
Jul 14, 2014

Unpleasant surprise

I was staying in this hotel 2 times before and if was great. This time I belived that I booked as usual a room with falls view but I end up in a room on second floor with parking lot view. To get to the room I had to go through construction zone and it looked like I'm on the "journey behind the fall"already and it smelled like swamp.Hotel staff explained me that this is what I get and there are no other options. It supposed to be romantic getaway but because of the disappointed circumstances it was a little disaster. I'm not going to recommend this hotel as long as they improve to anyone soon. Kris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
benfica bola
Business
niagara falls, canada
Jul 14, 2014

average

Should offer breakfast. Should be more modern. Small bathroom with no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beige traveler
Business
Ohio
Jul 14, 2014

Could have been worse

I was expecting a bit more from this hotel given what we paid. The basics were all there, but amenities were lacking. Some grout was missing from our bathroom floor, causing the tiles to shift underfoot. The decor is definitely dated. The "observation deck" was not at all what I expected, just a window overlooking the Falls. But we were indeed very close to the Falls, which was helpful. If we make a second trip, we will probably stay a bit farther out in a quainter location, perhaps near Niagara-on-the-Lake, which had a vibe that we much preferred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We were beyond impressed with the food at the AG restaurant. We got a delicious, farm-to-table, gourmet meal for a reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top