$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown Pennsylvania
Jul 20, 2010

dirty hallways!

The location of the hotel is what got me fooled, and the look of the building itself, how ever, little did I know what was expecting me when I got there, went there with my parents and two siblings, and nephew,we had two rooms next to each other that were situated on the second floor I guess at some point this must have been a motel or an inn with no ratings and than they added the tall glass like building that looks very well from the outside, our rooms were located I would say in a maze because you had to make various turns to get to the location after you exited the elevator.The carpet in the hallways were filthy you dont even know what color they are. Hallways are dark and and walls coming apart. for the seven days that I was there I never saw anyone cleaing the hallways, I would not walk the hallways by myself,rooms were done on daily basis, but on one of those days one of the beds in the room was done and the other one was never touched! by the cleaning person, we had to laugh about it I have never seen anything like it! the pool is way too small and the hot tub too! with a very strong smell of clorine, they also look like they are falling appart. The hallway is always hot and humid no airconditioner in hallways,and in the observation deck either. Exercise room is tiny and equipment realy outdated! I would not recomend this hotel to any one, I dont know why it is rated a three star this hotel should have no stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bensalem, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellant views, great value

I paid for the Fallsview King Jacuzzi Suite and it was well worth it. We were on the 20th. floor. The view of the falls was breathe taking. We were able to watch the fireworks right out our window. The rooms do not have a refrigerator so I suggest bringing along a small cooler to keep drinks in. One with wheels like I have would be helpful because ice machines are only on the even number floors up to the 12th. floor. (That's a lot of trips up and down the elevator with the ice bucket!) Room service is expensive but the prices are on par with all the local restaurants. After a long car ride, we decided to have dinner at Applebes which is right outside the hotel. We had two beers, one appetizer, and two entrees. The bill was $90. We found this to be the average price for most of the restaurants in the Fallsview area. The more upscale restaurants like Remingtons can be double that. Even though the prices were high, the food was very good everywhere we went. If you like spicy, you may be disappointed. We found some things to be bland for our tastes. Overall, we had a great experience at the Oakes and would highly recommend for other couples. If you are a family or are budget minded, I would suggest finding a hotel with a kitchenette or at least a refrigerator. Being able to make a few quick meals will keep you from blowing your budget on food and allow you to afford more attractions. Do Not visit Niagra Falls without going on the Maid of the Mist! There are alot of attractions but I would go back for that alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Prices may vary from place to place on the same souvenirs. The best prices are in the small shops on the side streets at the top of Clifton Hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grass Lake, Michigan
Jul 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!!!!

We arrived and checked into our room...it was a 9th floor room...ok view of the falls...the room smelled of smoke...I called the front desk and they were VERY apologetic. They immediately moved us to the 21st floor (honeymmon suite)...the room was great...the view was spectacular...loved it. We were treated so wonderfully. We cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much near by...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 12, 2010

A Wonderful place to stay!

My boyfriend and I came to Niagara Falls to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was perfect! It was close to the incline, the casino and within walking distance to everything! The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The next time we visit Niagara Falls, we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Jul 12, 2010

Not bad

..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 11, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 7, 2010

Unimpressed

The view is great if you enjoy a 1/2 view of the Horseshoe Falls. On one occasion housekeeping simply made he beds and emptied the trash. Whiskers from shaving were still around the sink and a cup was still on the floor. When we called the front desk to complain they sent up A MAINTENANCE MAN who announced he was the only one working. Prepare to travel floor to floor looking for ice as the ice machines stayed emptied. If you want any hope of getting a parking space return to the hotel early. We actually went to the Hilton and Sheraton on the Falls to see their rooms which where way nicer and seriously considered moving for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the Skylon Tower which is a popular dining attraction because of the view it offers, don't go for the food. There is a observation deck where you can get the view and skip the awful food. There are tons of places to eat where you can't go wrong

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2010

the Oakes Review

Romms and hallways seems to show the age of the hotel. broken wall paper, room numbers missing. other numbers painted instead of re glue the fallen numbers or what at least buy new number for te rooms. paid a lot or the room, but could not enjoy the falls view , staff did mention I would be little too low on the view, but I didn't know it was going to be that low, all we could see were trees. probably because of the ammount of guess, the staff was little bit on the deffensive side and tlltie bit too short and rude when taking care of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is close to the main attractios, so in that case it is worth the $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2010

the Oakes Review

Romms and hallways seems to show the age of the hotel. broken wall paper, room numbers missing. other numbers painted instead of re glue the fallen numbers or what at least buy new number for te rooms. paid a lot or the room, but could not enjoy the falls view , staff did mention I would be little too low on the view, but I didn't know it was going to be that low, all we could see were trees. probably because of the ammount of guess, the staff was little bit on the deffensive side and tlltie bit too short and rude when taking care of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is close to the main attractios, so in that case it is worth the $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, On. Can.
Jul 3, 2010

Great Location Great Price

We booked this hotel on the busiest holiday w/e at a decent rate. It was close to the falls, the casino, the many attractions and restaurants Niagara falls has to offer. We usually book 4 or 5 star hotels but will gladly return to this 3 star hidden gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top