$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
420 reviews
The Best Hotel Stay

The view was fantastic as advertised and staff cordial and professional. We took advantage of the... See full review

  • Warren and Kathy
  • Oct 3, 2014
Well worth it

Great location, and view I would definitely stay again See full review

  • Couple break away
  • Sep 26, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (420)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
420 out of 420
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DawnBrian
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Trip!

We had a wonderful time here. The hotel was great. We were in Room 1917 and it had an amazing view! We were on the corner so we had windows on both sides of the room. Room was always clean. Only thing I did not like like was they wanted an extra $15.00 a day for parking. We found a parking garage on the opposite side of Applebees's that was only $5.00 a day and a very short walk to our hotel...worth the extra savings. Other than that, we had a great time and the room view was spectacular. Stay in room 1917 and you will not regret staying here at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the Adventure Pass for $44.95 for the 4 main attractions and 2-day bus pass. Worth every penny! Had a blast! We got it from the Welcome Center right by the Candian Horseshoe Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mystified
Business
Niagara Falls, ON, Cananda
Oct 15, 2012

Amazing View

Had a room overlooking Horseshoe Falls, fantastic view! We were able to walk to anything we wanted to do. Make sure you get the upgraded room. We had the $55 a night room which was very dumpy, but were able to upgrade for $30 per night. We didn't expect the $15/night parking cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KritiK
Business
Essex
Sep 20, 2012

Perfect view of Falls

Was up on14th floor with a Fallsview room - perfect view of The Horseshoe Falls and can also see the 'Amercian' Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Ellen
Business
Oakes Hotel Falls View (Niagara Falls)
Sep 17, 2012

Great hotel

We had a room on the 12th floor and we couldn't have had a better view of the Horseshoe Falls. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We purchased the $69, plan for a couple which entitled us to a free breakfast and free supper with free wine tasting at 4 wineries. What a deal!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GrumpyGma
Business
Atlanta,ga
Sep 13, 2012

Great view

Smelled of cigarettes upon entrance to lobby, room also smelled of cigarettes. Had a drainage problem in tub, which I must say was taken care of immediately! Parking situation not great at $15 a night. Need to take brush and clean around faucet of sink (yuck). For the price you couldn't beat the view, wish we had been up 2 or 3 floors. Also thought I read on line that there was a lounge on one of upper floors, was I dreaming? since we spent little time in the room, I guess it was okay! Also could not get the vending machines to take my money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a keg restaurant 4 blocks away and less expensive then at the embassy suites . Take the over the falls tour great time saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zigy
Business
Wahnapitae Ontario
Sep 9, 2012

Nice view

The view is what you pay for, (plus $30.00 parking for 2 days) the room was OK but not great. No fridge or microwave, these are standard at most motel/hotel's, for what we paid you would think all the bells and whistles would be included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deb Maddox
Business
Maine
Aug 21, 2012

Mrs

We were very disappointed with the view. Since the ad for hotel stated that had best view over seeing the falls guareented. The only view we had the first night was the parking lot. which included the dumpster! If i had not complained we wouldnt have move room on the 2nd night. They did put us on the 8th floor so we did have a some part of a veiw of the falls. The actual picture they advertise with on their sight is actually taken from 14th floor observation window. The plumbing didnt work in the first room until we called the front desk and they sent someone up to fix it. The rooms, hall,walls, hot tub were all very dirty. I have stayed in 2 other hotel since, paid less money and very good if not exceptionally clean. I would never recommend that hotel to anyone nor would I ever stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the renegade restaurant was exceptional. All other places we vistited during our stay was great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmmaLecompte1
Business
Corning, NY
Aug 15, 2012

Great Location

We were able to see the falls from our window. The colors at night were lovely and we even had fire works too on Sunday. The pool was dirty though and the kids were disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a long walk down and back to the Falls. Be prepared to stay down and enjoy the park and view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seriously1234
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Tricky

We booked for a courtyard room. When we arrived there is a section of the hotel that is unrenovated. The rates pertained only to that section. The carpet was black, you open the door to an ironing board and it was moldy. We complained and our only option was to upgrade to 30 more a night. The staff said this was a discount from the normal 60 upgrade charge, becaue we were getting engaged and my fiance begged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eddieme
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Aug 11, 2012

Real dump with a view

The hotel needs all new bedding and a cleaning staff that can see dust. The view is amazing and one can over look the bedding that should have been burned three years ago. The chairs have holes in them and the tv is ancient. It's a shame because this hotel could commend a lot more money but the owners apparently rather suck what ever money they can. Over all if you have low expectations This is the place for you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top