$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
452 out of 452
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joeytuna
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Jan 6, 2014

Nice view but..

That's it. Furniture is so old. Room was dry and furniture was 90s... But view was great. I was in a king suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Imax

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amitaponce1
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2013

HOTEL NOT RECOMENDED

Bad Service in the Front Desk. Bad Service Room. Not cordiallity. Not helpful. Too much impersonal. ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yanni Alex
Business
New York
Nov 2, 2013

A room with a VIEW.

I just got back from a 3 nights stay at Oakes Hotel Overlooking tha Falls. It was an excellent choice. The view was breathtaking. Everything was great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Lad
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2013

Short Notice

The stay was very pleasant; the staff - very helpful; the coffee maker was broken, the ice maker on the floor was broken. But for the price, and the location of the hotel (over looking the Niagara Falls) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Great time in Scotland
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 19, 2013

fuming in IN

First let me say it is worth see the Falls, taking a trip on Maid of the Mist, and touring Journey Behind the Falls. Now the hotel. Shop around. DO NOT GO BY THE DESCRIPTION ON this site. Call the hotel directly if you can. I can not trust this site any longer to be accurate on a hotel's description. First, this is not the only hotel close to the Falls. Second, nothing was said about an "amenity" of $16 dollars for parking A DAY!!! Yes, that is correct. PLEASE ADD $16 (CANADIAN) A DAY FOR PARKKING in an Applebee's parking lot!! Was not happy upon checking out to receive the bill for an extra $60 for our 3 day stay. Upon check in we were told that there is an extra $15 for parking. No one said per day or that tax is not included. With a huge amount for an amenity you would think that would be included in the price of the hotel room or signs would be posted around the hotel saying parking $!5 a night. There is not lounge to look at the Falls. Fitness room does not contain any type of weights. Pool is very cold. The only restaurant on site is of course Applebees. The other two are a very long walk away. Free WiFi only for certain rooms and only located in the lobby and "lounge".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Maid of the Mist and Journey Behind the Falls.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbo S
Business
Adelaide Australia
Oct 10, 2013

Dishonest room advertising

Being from Australia and having a wife partially confined to a wheelchair I specifically booked and paid for two 'Falls View' rooms for ourselves and a friend travelling with us. The rooms we were allocated were in fact not the 'falls view' rooms we had paid for but 'trees view' rooms with a trace of falls visible through the trees. I took this up with a rather pompous desk clerk who appeared to be running things at the reception desk and he said to me, "In a couple of months the leaves won't be there" Great!!.....we had to take an elevator to the fourteenth floor to a public viewing area to see what we had paid for in our rooms. By the number of Asian tourists I would say that all the upper floors with unobstructed views are permanently booked by Asian tour operators who manage to keep them fully occupied, and the rest of us mugs have to take what ever is left over. I told this pompous clerk that although technically, he gave us what we paid for in that the rooms faced the general direction of the falls....... practically we got screwed, and I would like to think if he visited our country he would be treated better than he had treated us! These people know exactly what they are offering and It is just plain dishonest to promote and charge for an obstructed view room as a non-obstructed room. Very shabby treatment!! Would not under any circumstance recommend this hotel. Give it a big miss, there is every possibility that like us, you will be screwed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you must have a room in this hotel make sure you specify at the time of booking that you will under no circumstance accept a room below the tenth floor. I wish I had that knowledge before booking. These people have no moral principals!

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue and Baz
Business
Caerleon, South Wales
Oct 9, 2013

Great Location

The room's view overlooking the Falls was great, although the decor and furnishings were somewhat jaded and tired. There are no facilities for eating or drinking at the hotel and the reception area can get congested. We were only there for two nights and that was about right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OKbanker
Business
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Sep 15, 2013

Great trip to Niagara Falls

The room was great and the view was awesome. We were on the 20th floor, which overlooked both American and Horseshoe Falls. Hotel a short walk from the Horseshoe Falls. Just remember to book a Fallsview room with Jacuzzi suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk from Applebees, but make sure you have lunch at the Keg Room, across the street, as view is out of this world. Also, the foodcourt at the Casino is great for lunch.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butchtony
Business
Niagaria Falls, Canada
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect location to enjoy the Falls, and take in the scenery!

Very very nice! definitely no complaints from me or my lady friend and we will do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many things to do are within walking distance of your Hotel!

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YSI1
Business
novi, mi
Sep 9, 2013

Great Location

The view is extraordinary! Elevators were too busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Niagara on the Lake Shaw Festival

Back to menu Return to top