$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
500 out of 500
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robertas
Business
Vilnius, Lithuania
Jun 15, 2014

Wonderful view, needs refurbishment

Booked it for the falls view, which was very good, though we would have preferred to stay on higher floors than 9th. The lobby is being refurbished, and the room was old and needs refurbishment. It smelled (and was full of) dust because of the old conditioner. Pity the windows do not open. Expected a better room, but the views of the falls are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abe3
Business
Chicago
Jun 13, 2014

Didn't live up to expectations

Hotel under renovation. The was a $20 parking fee that wasn't stated in the reservation. The falls weren't really visible as they said they will be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NDdave
Business
North Dakota
Jun 7, 2014

Very good for the money - can't beat the view!

This hotel is a great value, but don't expect all the bells and whistles of even a hotel by an airport. Best view ever of the falls, don't skimp out and not pay for the fall's view. Staff were excellent in all ways. Rooms needed updated shower / toilet area. Rust on ceiling tile frames, date, dark and OK. Also needed a fridge and microwave, but you can live without those. Rooms could also use shear type drapes to cut the glare and heat from the sun, the AC would barely keep up daytime, but was fine at night. Don't expect very good TV, the stations that came in were like rabbit-ear viewable from 1970! The rooms did have coffee maker, new comfortable beds and pillows, desk and wifi for $10. Parking is $20 a day, but oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rangers'94
Business
Long island, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Dad & Son Get-Away

The location is excellent. Staff was helpful even with the remodeling in the lobby under way. You need to make sure when making reservations that the nominal parking fee, depending on what you define as nominal is spelled out---$20 per day plus tax, to most folks we met, was not really "nominal" .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Review your options before arrival and you will find an array of different types of cuisines either a short or long walk from the hotel.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mother2014
Business
Garfield, New Jersey
May 29, 2014

Family getaway

I think hotel needs more employee training. Night mAnager had no idea what a pack and play was or where he could find one. Reception was speaking to employee instead of giving me her full attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zamian
Business
New York
May 29, 2014

Nice View

The hotel was clean. The view from the room was excellent, I arrived a little earlier than my check in time and they took me without charge, unfortunately they charge me $20 for parking for each night I stood there, something I did not expect !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the hotels there are many parking lots, where you can leave your car overnight for half of the price they charge you in the hotel.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerToVegas
Business
Findlay, OH
May 28, 2014

Good choice for a quick visit to Niagara Falls

Great location and we saw the falls from our window even though it was marked as fall"side" rather than falls view. No fridge in the room but really good location if you want to be able to walk to the attractions or to use WeGo passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Much Needed Island Time
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
May 27, 2014

Quick getaway

Great location & had a fantastic view from our room. Since the getaway was specifically to relax & visit the Falls area, the hotel location was perfect for us...close to everything we wanted & a great view from our room for the Falls & the fireworks. More than enough restaurants in the area to choose from as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annabel's mom
Business
NYC
May 27, 2014

Good for family

I like this hotel, it's a good value. It's close to many attractions. Also you can see waterfall from 14 floor. Room is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Siri Super Mom
Business
Michigan
May 27, 2014

Great family weekend

Location was perfect! Could see fireworks from the room. Walkable distance to the falls & attractions & Marineland. Room could be a little cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top