$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
451 out of 451
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DawnBrian
Fort Wayne, IN
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Trip!

We had a wonderful time here. The hotel was great. We were in Room 1917 and it had an amazing view! We were on the corner so we had windows on both sides of the room. Room was always clean. Only thing I did not like like was they wanted an extra $15.00 a day for parking. We found a parking garage on the opposite side of Applebees's that was only $5.00 a day and a very short walk to our hotel...worth the extra savings. Other than that, we had a great time and the room view was spectacular. Stay in room 1917 and you will not regret staying here at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the Adventure Pass for $44.95 for the 4 main attractions and 2-day bus pass. Worth every penny! Had a blast! We got it from the Welcome Center right by the Candian Horseshoe Falls.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marissa T
Business
NJ
Jun 28, 2014

Location was great ! Ammenities not so much

For the money paid to stay on a weekday where the falls was really very close to the hotel, I would say location was the BEST! In order for us to save, we decided to go on a weekday. If it was on a weekend, it was almost double. They dont have free parking so either you pay $20/night to park right at the hotel or park elsewhere which is about $10/night. Wifi is almost non existent. You pay $ 10 to use it for the whole trip but signal only works if you are in the lobby. Staff was great and gave me a refund on wifi charge, We were on the 7 floor which did not have a super great view because of the trees. I did request a higher floor ( they have about 19 or 20 floors ) but assigned us on the 7th. I also requested a refrigerator but they did not have anything for me to use. I guess they were all out of it. You would also pay for these if you want a ref in your room. We took the double Queen beds and the mattress, sheets and pillows were awesome. I wish I knew the brand of the pillows, just loved it. Clean room, no cabinets but lots of drawers. We all slept very well. Some view of the falls on the 7th floor. I would recommend this hotel as everything is very close by. Just request for higher floors if you want a better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save when eating, go a block after the tourist spot area. Avoid Falls view Blvd and Stanley Ave. unless you are willing to pay 2 kinds of taxes.. 13% and 3% as these streets are tourist areas. A block after these streets are cheaper. They have coupon books in hotel entries so use those as well to save more.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Joseph
Business
Long island , New york
Jun 28, 2014

family vacation

Advertised price is very attractive, hotel needs a complete renovation inside, why is roof paint peeling and falling on floor, wall papers are coming of the wall. Asked for a upgrade to a better room, I was turned down twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
funworldtraveler
Business
Rockwood, PA
Jun 27, 2014

great hotel, fabulous view

Friendly staff, nice room, great view. We stayed on the 9th floor. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take the incline @ $2.50 per person or take a longer walk to get to the falls.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tamazincius
Business
Vilnius, Lithuania
Jun 19, 2014

A million dollar worth view

The best feature of this hotel is the view to Niagara falls thus a room with a fallsview is a must. WiFi is satisfactory, everything else corresponds with 3* hotel status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dmeyer
Business
kingston , ny
Jun 19, 2014

second honey moon

this hotel was a nice location but needed much updating,example there was no cable t.v in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robertas
Business
Vilnius, Lithuania
Jun 15, 2014

Wonderful view, needs refurbishment

Booked it for the falls view, which was very good, though we would have preferred to stay on higher floors than 9th. The lobby is being refurbished, and the room was old and needs refurbishment. It smelled (and was full of) dust because of the old conditioner. Pity the windows do not open. Expected a better room, but the views of the falls are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abe3
Business
Chicago
Jun 13, 2014

Didn't live up to expectations

Hotel under renovation. The was a $20 parking fee that wasn't stated in the reservation. The falls weren't really visible as they said they will be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NDdave
Business
North Dakota
Jun 7, 2014

Very good for the money - can't beat the view!

This hotel is a great value, but don't expect all the bells and whistles of even a hotel by an airport. Best view ever of the falls, don't skimp out and not pay for the fall's view. Staff were excellent in all ways. Rooms needed updated shower / toilet area. Rust on ceiling tile frames, date, dark and OK. Also needed a fridge and microwave, but you can live without those. Rooms could also use shear type drapes to cut the glare and heat from the sun, the AC would barely keep up daytime, but was fine at night. Don't expect very good TV, the stations that came in were like rabbit-ear viewable from 1970! The rooms did have coffee maker, new comfortable beds and pillows, desk and wifi for $10. Parking is $20 a day, but oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rangers'94
Business
Long island, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Dad & Son Get-Away

The location is excellent. Staff was helpful even with the remodeling in the lobby under way. You need to make sure when making reservations that the nominal parking fee, depending on what you define as nominal is spelled out---$20 per day plus tax, to most folks we met, was not really "nominal" .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Review your options before arrival and you will find an array of different types of cuisines either a short or long walk from the hotel.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mother2014
Business
Garfield, New Jersey
May 29, 2014

Family getaway

I think hotel needs more employee training. Night mAnager had no idea what a pack and play was or where he could find one. Reception was speaking to employee instead of giving me her full attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top