$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DawnBrian
Fort Wayne, IN
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Trip!

We had a wonderful time here. The hotel was great. We were in Room 1917 and it had an amazing view! We were on the corner so we had windows on both sides of the room. Room was always clean. Only thing I did not like like was they wanted an extra $15.00 a day for parking. We found a parking garage on the opposite side of Applebees's that was only $5.00 a day and a very short walk to our hotel...worth the extra savings. Other than that, we had a great time and the room view was spectacular. Stay in room 1917 and you will not regret staying here at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the Adventure Pass for $44.95 for the 4 main attractions and 2-day bus pass. Worth every penny! Had a blast! We got it from the Welcome Center right by the Candian Horseshoe Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ottawa Family
Business
Ottawa ON
Mar 10, 2014

2 Star at most

Our stay at this hotel was not satisfactory. The hotel staff was unfriendly, the room was dated and run-down, the view of the parking lot was not what I was expecting when staying in Niagara Falls, to use the WIFI was an extra charge of $35 (no thank you), Parking was an extra $20, and a soda from the vending machine was $30. I'd give this hotel a 2 star at most. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matthes
Business
Toronto, on
Mar 2, 2014

Great location & friendly staff

Walking distance to the casino for a great valued price. Room was small but clean. Customer service was great. Parkig was expensive, would recommend finding parking else where

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the casino for free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple break away
Business
michigan, detroit
Feb 20, 2014

needed a break

Hotel had no hot water, chamber person called for maintenance and when he came he was demeaning to her. He said there is hot water when clearly there wasn't, and there was no hot water in Jacuzzi. The mattress was awful both of us woke up with sore backs and found it hard to sleep all night. Furniture in room was torn in both chairs. We have stayed prior to this and had the same room with no complaints. They say they have a lounge on 14th floor when all it is, is a bench with windows to look out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are all around you, ranging from fancy meals to quick food. Casino is next door which has shopping as well as dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayM2013
Business
Canada
Feb 19, 2014

Great View and packages

A planned trip and purpose would make you enjoy your trip. We went there for the view, jacuzzi and the romance package. Veronica and Nicole were great. Call them by name and they'll be able to help. We didn't need the big flat screen, the ref and the other luxuries. Just the good price for a suite with jacuzzi, coffee maker and good food. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get the romance package.. Room 2020 was the best for viewing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joeytuna
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Jan 6, 2014

Nice view but..

That's it. Furniture is so old. Room was dry and furniture was 90s... But view was great. I was in a king suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Imax

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amitaponce1
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2013

HOTEL NOT RECOMENDED

Bad Service in the Front Desk. Bad Service Room. Not cordiallity. Not helpful. Too much impersonal. ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yanni Alex
Business
New York
Nov 2, 2013

A room with a VIEW.

I just got back from a 3 nights stay at Oakes Hotel Overlooking tha Falls. It was an excellent choice. The view was breathtaking. Everything was great as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Lad
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2013

Short Notice

The stay was very pleasant; the staff - very helpful; the coffee maker was broken, the ice maker on the floor was broken. But for the price, and the location of the hotel (over looking the Niagara Falls) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Great time in Scotland
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 19, 2013

fuming in IN

First let me say it is worth see the Falls, taking a trip on Maid of the Mist, and touring Journey Behind the Falls. Now the hotel. Shop around. DO NOT GO BY THE DESCRIPTION ON this site. Call the hotel directly if you can. I can not trust this site any longer to be accurate on a hotel's description. First, this is not the only hotel close to the Falls. Second, nothing was said about an "amenity" of $16 dollars for parking A DAY!!! Yes, that is correct. PLEASE ADD $16 (CANADIAN) A DAY FOR PARKKING in an Applebee's parking lot!! Was not happy upon checking out to receive the bill for an extra $60 for our 3 day stay. Upon check in we were told that there is an extra $15 for parking. No one said per day or that tax is not included. With a huge amount for an amenity you would think that would be included in the price of the hotel room or signs would be posted around the hotel saying parking $!5 a night. There is not lounge to look at the Falls. Fitness room does not contain any type of weights. Pool is very cold. The only restaurant on site is of course Applebees. The other two are a very long walk away. Free WiFi only for certain rooms and only located in the lobby and "lounge".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Maid of the Mist and Journey Behind the Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbo S
Business
Adelaide Australia
Oct 10, 2013

Dishonest room advertising

Being from Australia and having a wife partially confined to a wheelchair I specifically booked and paid for two 'Falls View' rooms for ourselves and a friend travelling with us. The rooms we were allocated were in fact not the 'falls view' rooms we had paid for but 'trees view' rooms with a trace of falls visible through the trees. I took this up with a rather pompous desk clerk who appeared to be running things at the reception desk and he said to me, "In a couple of months the leaves won't be there" Great!!.....we had to take an elevator to the fourteenth floor to a public viewing area to see what we had paid for in our rooms. By the number of Asian tourists I would say that all the upper floors with unobstructed views are permanently booked by Asian tour operators who manage to keep them fully occupied, and the rest of us mugs have to take what ever is left over. I told this pompous clerk that although technically, he gave us what we paid for in that the rooms faced the general direction of the falls....... practically we got screwed, and I would like to think if he visited our country he would be treated better than he had treated us! These people know exactly what they are offering and It is just plain dishonest to promote and charge for an obstructed view room as a non-obstructed room. Very shabby treatment!! Would not under any circumstance recommend this hotel. Give it a big miss, there is every possibility that like us, you will be screwed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you must have a room in this hotel make sure you specify at the time of booking that you will under no circumstance accept a room below the tenth floor. I wish I had that knowledge before booking. These people have no moral principals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top