$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good Lad
Business
New York
Oct 21, 2013

Short Notice

The stay was very pleasant; the staff - very helpful; the coffee maker was broken, the ice maker on the floor was broken. But for the price, and the location of the hotel (over looking the Niagara Falls) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Great time in Scotland
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 19, 2013

fuming in IN

First let me say it is worth see the Falls, taking a trip on Maid of the Mist, and touring Journey Behind the Falls. Now the hotel. Shop around. DO NOT GO BY THE DESCRIPTION ON this site. Call the hotel directly if you can. I can not trust this site any longer to be accurate on a hotel's description. First, this is not the only hotel close to the Falls. Second, nothing was said about an "amenity" of $16 dollars for parking A DAY!!! Yes, that is correct. PLEASE ADD $16 (CANADIAN) A DAY FOR PARKKING in an Applebee's parking lot!! Was not happy upon checking out to receive the bill for an extra $60 for our 3 day stay. Upon check in we were told that there is an extra $15 for parking. No one said per day or that tax is not included. With a huge amount for an amenity you would think that would be included in the price of the hotel room or signs would be posted around the hotel saying parking $!5 a night. There is not lounge to look at the Falls. Fitness room does not contain any type of weights. Pool is very cold. The only restaurant on site is of course Applebees. The other two are a very long walk away. Free WiFi only for certain rooms and only located in the lobby and "lounge".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Maid of the Mist and Journey Behind the Falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbo S
Business
Adelaide Australia
Oct 10, 2013

Dishonest room advertising

Being from Australia and having a wife partially confined to a wheelchair I specifically booked and paid for two 'Falls View' rooms for ourselves and a friend travelling with us. The rooms we were allocated were in fact not the 'falls view' rooms we had paid for but 'trees view' rooms with a trace of falls visible through the trees. I took this up with a rather pompous desk clerk who appeared to be running things at the reception desk and he said to me, "In a couple of months the leaves won't be there" Great!!.....we had to take an elevator to the fourteenth floor to a public viewing area to see what we had paid for in our rooms. By the number of Asian tourists I would say that all the upper floors with unobstructed views are permanently booked by Asian tour operators who manage to keep them fully occupied, and the rest of us mugs have to take what ever is left over. I told this pompous clerk that although technically, he gave us what we paid for in that the rooms faced the general direction of the falls....... practically we got screwed, and I would like to think if he visited our country he would be treated better than he had treated us! These people know exactly what they are offering and It is just plain dishonest to promote and charge for an obstructed view room as a non-obstructed room. Very shabby treatment!! Would not under any circumstance recommend this hotel. Give it a big miss, there is every possibility that like us, you will be screwed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you must have a room in this hotel make sure you specify at the time of booking that you will under no circumstance accept a room below the tenth floor. I wish I had that knowledge before booking. These people have no moral principals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue and Baz
Business
Caerleon, South Wales
Oct 9, 2013

Great Location

The room's view overlooking the Falls was great, although the decor and furnishings were somewhat jaded and tired. There are no facilities for eating or drinking at the hotel and the reception area can get congested. We were only there for two nights and that was about right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OKbanker
Business
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Sep 15, 2013

Great trip to Niagara Falls

The room was great and the view was awesome. We were on the 20th floor, which overlooked both American and Horseshoe Falls. Hotel a short walk from the Horseshoe Falls. Just remember to book a Fallsview room with Jacuzzi suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk from Applebees, but make sure you have lunch at the Keg Room, across the street, as view is out of this world. Also, the foodcourt at the Casino is great for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butchtony
Business
Niagaria Falls, Canada
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect location to enjoy the Falls, and take in the scenery!

Very very nice! definitely no complaints from me or my lady friend and we will do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many things to do are within walking distance of your Hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YSI1
Business
novi, mi
Sep 9, 2013

Great Location

The view is extraordinary! Elevators were too busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Niagara on the Lake Shaw Festival

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EJKomar
Business
Cary, IL
Sep 8, 2013

Great views but...

While the bed was comfortable, the furniture near the windows were heavily stained from many occupants who had rest their arms on the fabric. Our room was 1018; the view was spectacular which was what we paid for at $165 a night. One particular front desk gentleman was less than that as I overheard him speak to guests. Our friend's room was awful; bed had to be over 20 years old and showed it. Terrible sleep for them. Ask for the highest floor possible. Anything under 9th you miss out on the New York side falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RocDave
Business
Rochester NY
Sep 7, 2013

Average Except for the Great Location and Nice VIew

The positives of the Oakes are the great location with a good view of the Horseshoe Falls with quick access to the Table Rock Welcome Centre via the nearby "Incline railway". The view of the falls from our sixth floor room was good with an even better view from the 14th floor viewing area. The onsite Applebee's was convenient for breakfast. The room was clean but a bit outdated to dull as was the rest of the place; the pool room seemed particularly unattractive. Our only real problem was the lack of any convenient way to charge our phones/electronics. Ask for a discount at Applebee's with your room key

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Incline Railway" with a great view of the falls is just a short walk from the Oakes hotel. Get an all day pass to ride as many times as you want. It takes you quickly to the Niagara Parks Table Rock Visitor Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
first time to the falls
Business
ontario
Sep 7, 2013

needs to be updated

The staff was great but the hotel needs a renovation the pool was indoors but cold the hot tub was just warm and the sauna was not very hot with the temp turned right up the fitness room had a couple of bikes and that was about it and anyone walking by the hotel could see you. There is no fridge or microwave in the rooms and there is only ice machines on the 2 4 6 8 10 and 12th floors we were on the 12th floor but the machine was broken and looked like it had been that way for some time there is 21 floors and only 6 ice machines the hallway carpet had spots where the pattern was almost worn off from the traffic over the years and the walls had wear marks from the carts hitting it over and over again our room was nice but there where holes in the wall in the bathroom where stuff use to hang but had been moved and we got the king bed with the jetted tub it was nice but they put mirrors on the tap side and the back wall and the other wall is wall paper not a smart choise if u ask me. The view was great but I heard on the lower floors the trees get in the way of the view and the staff were very nice and very helpful . I would rec. this hotel if you are looking for a cheaper hotel close to the falls with a great view if you want the high class feel then this is not the hotel for u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

if you dont wanna drive the entertainment pass that does the maid of the mist and walk behind the falls is great as it gives you 4 attractions plus free bus service for 2 24 hour periods and the bus picks you up right infront of applebees which is right beside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top