$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Michaels Inn by the Falls

2 stars
View map of 5599 River Road, Niagara Falls, ON L2E3H3

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
113 reviews
Great Overnight Stay

Stayed overnight on our way from Boston to Toronto ( family of three) during2014 Columbus Day... See full review

  • vikas s
  • Dec 29, 2014
Nice Hotel

Reasonably priced. Lovely room! Short walk (around 10 minutes) to Clifton Hill and the Horseshoe... See full review

  • nickname
  • Dec 31, 2014
Family-favorite inn with specialty suites steps from falls and casinos
The family-friendly Michael’s Inn by the Falls, the self-proclaimed "closest inn to the falls," is a AAA 3-diamond-rated property, ideal for those seeking affordable comfort and convenience. Guest rooms are traditionally decorated and available in a variety of formats and layouts. The two in-site restaurants cater to every palate and occasion. There's also a wading pool, sauna, fitness center, Jacuzzi and parking (Fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located steps away from the Falls
  • Large family rooms, Jacuzzi rooms and honeymoon suites
  • Parking (Fees apply)
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Guest rooms are comfortable and traditionally decorated, available in a variety of formats and layouts, including cityview, fallsview, Jacuzzi and family rooms. All are spacious with an emphasis on comfort, and feature coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and TV with pay-per-view movies.
Features
Billing itself as the "closest inn to the Falls," the AAA 3-diamond Michael’s Inn by the Falls is a full-service property steps away from the falls, Clifton Hill and both area casinos. Recreation and fitness options abound, with a children's wading pool, oversized Jacuzzi, sauna and state-of-the-art fitness center equipped with basic cardio machines and plate-loaded weight training stations. Other amenities include an on-site ATM, safe deposit box at the front desk, free newspaper on Saturdays and room service from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (varies by season).

The on-site Embers restaurant serves three square meals daily, from casual meals to intimate dinners (children's menus available). There's also Open Hearth Restaurant, a concept venue where the chef prepares innovative entrees in full view of guests, from a glass-enclosed kitchen that offers an energy that's unrivaled in Niagara-area dining.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (26.3 mi/42.3 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial service

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michaels Inn by the Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Michaels Inn by the Falls Rooms

City View
Standard City View room with two double beds, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Ground Level
Two double beds, ground level, no view free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Fallsview
Standard American Falls View room with 2 double beds/queens, balcony, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m..

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bird Kingdom: 0 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 0.2 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.6 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 2.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 106.5 mi

Dining

Embers Open Hearth
This restaurant offers views of the falls. Open for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Michaels Inn by the Falls

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikas s
Business
Hudson
Dec 29, 2014

Great Overnight Stay

Stayed overnight on our way from Boston to Toronto ( family of three) during2014 Columbus Day weekend. Located in a quiet area just a few steps from Planet Hollywood.The room was clean. The neighbors upstairs were a bit noisy late in the night, a quick call to the reception addressed took care of it. Will definitely recommend it to friends. Our room cost under $65, incl of taxes. Excellent value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Very close the Rainbow Bridge/Canada Customs checkpoint entry to Canada. Easy access to the freeway (QEW) to Toronto. Quick access in and out of Niagara Falls area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikas s
Business
Hudson
Dec 16, 2014

Great Overnight Stay

Stayed overnight on our way from Boston to Toronto ( family of three) during2014 Columbus Day weekend. Located in a quiet area just a few steps from Planet Hollywood.The room was clean. The neighbors upstairs were a bit noisy late in the night, a quick call to the reception addressed took care of it. Will definitely recommend it to friends. Our room cost under $65, incl of taxes. Excellent value for money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovely mom
Business
Ontario Canada
Nov 17, 2014

Great family getaway for the price

Micheals Inn rates are very reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel for the price we paid! The rooms were clean and the staff was very accommodating. We arrived hours before check in and they did everything they could to get our rooms ready which they did. We will definitely stay at Micheals Inn on our next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AAA family
Business
Vernon Hill, IL
Aug 30, 2014

Michaels Inn Niagara Falls

Great location, 10 minutes walk to the Clifton Hills, except for the location, everything else is just average. When checking out, I had to wait at the front desk for about 15 minutes, so that they can send someone up to check the room, make sure nothing is missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
buddie
Business
NYC
Aug 15, 2014

good hotel-extremey rude staff

The hotel was in good shape. Location was good, not awesum as some other reviewers point out. Its a good 10-15 min walk to the falls. The attractions were nearby though. The staff was rude rude rude. Avoid the breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road trip Rachel
Business
Chicago
Aug 7, 2014

Quick weekender

Very close but quiet area next to falls. Minivan with overhead carrier can not go thru front are to first level parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
samsis
Business
michigan
Aug 3, 2014

fun trip

We had a good time at the falls. The hotel is very clean but need some updating. It looks like they are updating in small places but it needs it pretty much everywhere. The bed was new just the tv and furniture needed updating. But overall it was a good room. Air condition worked well you could see the falls from our room balcony. You can check in and walk everywhere. Very close to everything. Bottom line I would stay again since I am only in my room to sleep and bed was new but if I was going to hang out in my room I would choose somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebang
Business
Canton, Michigan
May 28, 2014

Family Getaway

It is good for the price we paid. The only down side is there is no free breakfast that comes with it. In some inns or hotels the price includes a simple breakfast even just milk, coffee, cereal, bread or donut nothing fancy that I expect. Also, there is no refrigerator in the room you have to request one if you want. But overall decent place to stay and only a few minutes walk to the falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
treated poorly
Business
toronto
Aug 30, 2013

Grouchy staff

When we first pulled up to the hotel it looked awful. Much worse then the pictures. For the price, i wasn't expecting the Ritz but I also wasn't expecting the Bates motel. Inside the lobby looked like a motel. There was a front desk lady arguing with a male customer. Another female clerk called me to the counter. She said "ID and credit card" in a seargents tone. No hello, no can i help you, nothing. Between the terrible look of the hotel and the rude staff, i wanted to leave. We gave it a chance, went to the room and it was "ok". Very small but clean. We also used their pool which was also clean a of average size. The location was no too bad. About a 10 minute walk to get to clifton hill, casino etc. Still after coming home yesterday i'm still upset how i was treated so rudely and by the way the man beside me was treated by his front desk clerk its obviously happening to everyone. I hope the owner reads this review because the front desk makes or breaks you like it did with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acesgao
Business
brampton,canada
Aug 27, 2013

mulligan tour getaway

room very nice, clean comfortably. pool very clean,location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top