$48 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Michaels Inn by the Falls

2 stars
5599 River Road, Niagara Falls, ON L2E3H3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
103 reviews
Weekend getaway

Room was nice but decor was dated. Looking forward to seeing the renovations they have done to the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Good experience

This hotel was close to everything but still quiet. Comfortable bed and clean room. could use some... See full review

  • joey888267
  • Sep 19, 2014
Family-favorite inn with specialty suites steps from falls and casinos
The family-friendly Michael’s Inn by the Falls, the self-proclaimed "closest inn to the falls," is a AAA 3-diamond-rated property, ideal for those seeking affordable comfort and convenience. Guest rooms are traditionally decorated and available in a variety of formats and layouts. The two in-site restaurants cater to every palate and occasion. There's also a wading pool, sauna, fitness center, Jacuzzi and parking (Fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located steps away from the Falls
  • Large family rooms, Jacuzzi rooms and honeymoon suites
  • Parking (Fees apply)
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Guest rooms are comfortable and traditionally decorated, available in a variety of formats and layouts, including cityview, fallsview, Jacuzzi and family rooms. All are spacious with an emphasis on comfort, and feature coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and TV with pay-per-view movies.
Features
Billing itself as the "closest inn to the Falls," the AAA 3-diamond Michael’s Inn by the Falls is a full-service property steps away from the falls, Clifton Hill and both area casinos. Recreation and fitness options abound, with a children's wading pool, oversized Jacuzzi, sauna and state-of-the-art fitness center equipped with basic cardio machines and plate-loaded weight training stations. Other amenities include an on-site ATM, safe deposit box at the front desk, free newspaper on Saturdays and room service from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (varies by season).

The on-site Embers restaurant serves three square meals daily, from casual meals to intimate dinners (children's menus available). There's also Open Hearth Restaurant, a concept venue where the chef prepares innovative entrees in full view of guests, from a glass-enclosed kitchen that offers an energy that's unrivaled in Niagara-area dining.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (26.3 mi/42.3 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michaels Inn by the Falls also booked these hotels.

Michaels Inn by the Falls Rooms

City View
Standard City View room with two double beds, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Ground Level
Two double beds, ground level, no view free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Fallsview
Standard American Falls View room with 2 double beds/queens, balcony, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m..

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bird Kingdom: 0 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 0.2 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.6 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 2.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 106.5 mi

Dining

Embers Open Hearth
This restaurant offers views of the falls. Open for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Michaels Inn by the Falls

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
no nickname 1
Business
Akron
Oct 12, 2011

"Run of the House" room was a dump!

Purchased "economy run of house" room through Orbitz. The room was a dump. Peeling wall paper, old 70's decor, old bathroom. Unfriendly staff. Had to cross to another building to get ice. Only positive - walking distance to falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve00
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 26, 2011

Fine hotel, but...

The hotel is fine, location good, clean, etc. But, they have multiple signs in the lobby offering a 50% discount on your next stay if you give them a good review and send them a copy. Also, I had to pay $10 for parking in their lot, which wasn't included (or mentioned) in the booked price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
moe1
Business
avenel nj
Jul 16, 2012

famliy getway

i was told that i will take the room at 1:00 but the room was redye at 4:00 i was staying at the car for 4;00 hours withe my family and after i got the room i was not clean and it has only one bed and i order it withe 2 bad .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bahman
Business
Ft. Myers FL
Jul 27, 2012

Do not try them.

Hotel was run down. Staff was NOT friendly at all. A/C run like engine room. Asked for king bed, no luck. Not worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MJW from michigan
Business
michigan
Aug 9, 2012

Won't stay again.

have stayed at michaels several times over the years and this was the worst stay i have had. They were renovating the lobby so everthing was torn up. they should have renovated the rooms first since they are in rough shape. The blankets and comforter were dirty and had hairs all over them. We asked the desk if they could change them but no one ever showed up even though they said they would. The next day I asked the desk again and they finally had someone change them. If you eat at the breakfast area plan on eating on concrete since they tore up all the carpet. Overall the rooms are not very clean and I think I would stay somewhere else before staying there again. Keep in mind that this is where we stayed on our honeymoon yrars ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Niagara on the lakes was a very nice town to spend the day at. It is about 10 miles away. If you like wine tasting there are several wineries in that area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
treated poorly
Business
toronto
Aug 30, 2013

Grouchy staff

When we first pulled up to the hotel it looked awful. Much worse then the pictures. For the price, i wasn't expecting the Ritz but I also wasn't expecting the Bates motel. Inside the lobby looked like a motel. There was a front desk lady arguing with a male customer. Another female clerk called me to the counter. She said "ID and credit card" in a seargents tone. No hello, no can i help you, nothing. Between the terrible look of the hotel and the rude staff, i wanted to leave. We gave it a chance, went to the room and it was "ok". Very small but clean. We also used their pool which was also clean a of average size. The location was no too bad. About a 10 minute walk to get to clifton hill, casino etc. Still after coming home yesterday i'm still upset how i was treated so rudely and by the way the man beside me was treated by his front desk clerk its obviously happening to everyone. I hope the owner reads this review because the front desk makes or breaks you like it did with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 21, 2009

False Advertising

The staff was horrible! We reached at 2pm at the hotel and was told we had to wait an hour for check in time. This would have been completely fine if we didn't have to watch a bunch of other families check in before the official check in time!!! Finally when we got to check in, we had been promised a great view of the falls on the third floor but our third floor room number was scribbled over and we were given a second floor room instead. This meant that the great view we paid for didn't exist. Yes we could see the falls but only if we squashed ourselves into the very edges of the window. And the rooms! They look nothing like the pictures on the site. Totally false advertising! We went to another hotel the next day and will never go back to this inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M.Lina
Business
Pickering, ON, Canada
Oct 17, 2011

Its just ok

not the cheapest place, but it was nicer than the motels and other inn's. The hot tub, room w/balcony, service was alright. The bathroom was outdated but clean. The location was great. Walking distance to the Clifton strip. We also can see the US falls about 20 min walk to niagara falls (but it was a nice walk)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min cab ride under 8 bucks to falls view casino! Fun and exciting! Afterwards hit up club dragonfly downstairs of the casino. The crowd ranged from 25-40.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
itrat ali
Business
virginia
Jul 9, 2012

not realy

very bad .....................never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super happy NOT
Business
Miami
Aug 11, 2012

Got what I paid for: "Very little!"

Below average room. Noise from air conditioning unit kept me up. Called front desk to have someone look at it and no one responded. Bed springs were coming through mattress. Our room faced a run down abandoned house

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top