$43 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Michaels Inn by the Falls

2 stars
View map of 5599 River Road, Niagara Falls, ON L2E3H3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Michaels Inn by the Falls

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 21, 2009

False Advertising

The staff was horrible! We reached at 2pm at the hotel and was told we had to wait an hour for check in time. This would have been completely fine if we didn't have to watch a bunch of other families check in before the official check in time!!! Finally when we got to check in, we had been promised a great view of the falls on the third floor but our third floor room number was scribbled over and we were given a second floor room instead. This meant that the great view we paid for didn't exist. Yes we could see the falls but only if we squashed ourselves into the very edges of the window. And the rooms! They look nothing like the pictures on the site. Totally false advertising! We went to another hotel the next day and will never go back to this inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Far Flung Travels
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 19, 2009

Convenient and Close: No Complaints Here

When it comes to looking for a place to stay overnight, all I want is a cheap, clean room in a smaller, more intimate place (not interested in the high-rise hotel with tons of people). Michael's Inn exceeded my expectations. Sure, we didn't have a falls-view room), but otherwise the location on River Road is perfect: close to everything (Bridal Veil Falls, Clifton Hill, Maid of the Mist and literally right next door to Bird Kingdom), but not quite in the hubbub of all the tourist activity. The inn offers FREE PARKING, which was welcomed considering the prices for parking elsewhere in Niagara Falls ranged from $10 to $18. We parked there and walked or bike to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Niagara Falls is expensive, but you're not necessarily getting your money's worth. Check out Olson's at the Ravine in St. Davids. The restaurant, owned by Canadian FOOD NETWORK celebrity Anna Olson is delicious, whether you try the pizza (wood-fired in the brick oven out back) or her signature desserts. To get there head north on River Road and turn left on York Road; the restaurant is about three miles down on your right, located on a vineyard. We paid the same amount there for a fantastic meal as we did for a ho-hum dinner at the Secret Garden across from the falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pixiemama
Business
Northumberland, PA
Jun 3, 2009

all around great hotel

Our room wasn't ready until 3:30, but other than that it is a pleasant place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We could see the American Falls from our balcony which overlooked the river. The hotel is the first right turn after customs (right over the border on Rainbow Bridge), so it's easy to find. Most of the major attractions, including the falls are within a two mile walk directly down the street the hotel is on. If you don't mind the walk, you can leave your car at the hotel and save a lot on parking fees. The kids loved the pool and jacuzzi (open til 11pm) and the fitness room is small but useful. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Niagara Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Jun 2, 2009

Affordable accomodation

Although Michael's Inn is starting to show its age - we found that for the cost factor we received great service and the location was convenient with free parking as a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami FL
May 31, 2009

3 stars my........

Not a bad place, but not a three star hotel either. It's a short walk to the falls from your room. Hotel needs some mondernization, I felt like I was in 1986 but for the price you can't really complain. It's just not worthy of the 3 star rating I don't care where it comes from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 30, 2009

very pleased!

The hotel had FREE PARKING which was a big attraction to us. The room was nice. simple but clean. And the hotel is located about a fave min walk to the falls and the maid of the mist. The people mover even has a stop about a block away! Was very happy overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 17, 2009

Great location for a great price!

Stayed one night 5/15/09 but have stayed there many times before. It is one of the best locations for the best price. Nice indoor pool, free parking, rooms are outdated but very clean. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was a little overpriced but good variety and delicious. Quick and easy walk to falls, Clifton Hills area and Casino Niagara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than five minute drive to Fallsview Casino (Always says $10-$20 to park at the casino garage but if you get a players club card at the casino, which is free, you park for free!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ree supertraveler
Business
uniontown, PA
Mar 17, 2009

horrible stay

we were very disappointed they gave us a dirty room #16 then the gentleman at the desk who was very nice sent us to room #18 which was not much cleaner I scrubbed the bathroom floor myself. The lady at the front desk was not nice the next two days I was very disappointed when we checked out she didn't even ask us how are stay was. We came there on a recommendation from a coworker who was appaulled when i came back to work to tell her. The fromt desk staff (manager lady-heavyset) she was more intrested in walking her dog then helping us!!!!!!!!!! the only bright spot was the waiter -Mile he was wonderful. We are coming back in May with our children and the rest of our family but we will not be staying at Michaels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shower clown
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Tom thumb room

I looked over many hotels in Niagara Falls, Ontario. I wanted a room with a Jacuzzi bath and a smoking room. When I saw the virtual tour on the Orbitz web site the room looked very large, two sinks a fire place and a very modern Jacuzzi tub. Well, the old saying a picture can tell a thousand words is so very wrong in this case. The room I actually stayed in at The Michaels Inn was very small, very small. The Jacuzzi tube was old and dirty looking. No fire place, single sink, and the shower. Lets talk about the shower. I am about 6'3" tall and about 235lbs. If Candid Camera was taking pictures of me in that shower fit for a [...], the whole country would still be laughting. I now know what a trapped rat feels like. The staff was great, food was ok. My wife and I will never book this hotel again. The room fees should have been half of what I paid. Oh yes, I booked a smoking room, they had none upon my arrival. If you are looking to see the falls attractions be prepared to drive, most are not within walking distance especially in the winter time. Never again !!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Have your car handy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carnegie, PA
Nov 3, 2008

Food

The Breakfast buffet was way over priced and cold. The Dining room had a funny odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shortwalk to Casino and Falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top