$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Michaels Inn by the Falls

2 stars
5599 River Road, Niagara Falls, ON L2E3H3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Great price

Great location and even a better price....pool area has a sweet hot tub. See full review

  • Dana Erie
  • Dec 5, 2014
Weekend getaway

Room was nice but decor was dated. Looking forward to seeing the renovations they have done to the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Family-favorite inn with specialty suites steps from falls and casinos
The family-friendly Michael’s Inn by the Falls, the self-proclaimed "closest inn to the falls," is a AAA 3-diamond-rated property, ideal for those seeking affordable comfort and convenience. Guest rooms are traditionally decorated and available in a variety of formats and layouts. The two in-site restaurants cater to every palate and occasion. There's also a wading pool, sauna, fitness center, Jacuzzi and parking (Fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located steps away from the Falls
  • Large family rooms, Jacuzzi rooms and honeymoon suites
  • Parking (Fees apply)
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Guest rooms are comfortable and traditionally decorated, available in a variety of formats and layouts, including cityview, fallsview, Jacuzzi and family rooms. All are spacious with an emphasis on comfort, and feature coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and TV with pay-per-view movies.
Features
Billing itself as the "closest inn to the Falls," the AAA 3-diamond Michael’s Inn by the Falls is a full-service property steps away from the falls, Clifton Hill and both area casinos. Recreation and fitness options abound, with a children's wading pool, oversized Jacuzzi, sauna and state-of-the-art fitness center equipped with basic cardio machines and plate-loaded weight training stations. Other amenities include an on-site ATM, safe deposit box at the front desk, free newspaper on Saturdays and room service from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (varies by season).

The on-site Embers restaurant serves three square meals daily, from casual meals to intimate dinners (children's menus available). There's also Open Hearth Restaurant, a concept venue where the chef prepares innovative entrees in full view of guests, from a glass-enclosed kitchen that offers an energy that's unrivaled in Niagara-area dining.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (26.3 mi/42.3 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michaels Inn by the Falls also booked these hotels.

Michaels Inn by the Falls Rooms

City View
Standard City View room with two double beds, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Ground Level
Two double beds, ground level, no view free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Fallsview
Standard American Falls View room with 2 double beds/queens, balcony, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m..

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bird Kingdom: 0 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 0.2 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.6 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 2.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 106.5 mi

Dining

Embers Open Hearth
This restaurant offers views of the falls. Open for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Michaels Inn by the Falls

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Jun 2, 2009

Affordable accomodation

Although Michael's Inn is starting to show its age - we found that for the cost factor we received great service and the location was convenient with free parking as a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami FL
May 31, 2009

3 stars my........

Not a bad place, but not a three star hotel either. It's a short walk to the falls from your room. Hotel needs some mondernization, I felt like I was in 1986 but for the price you can't really complain. It's just not worthy of the 3 star rating I don't care where it comes from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 30, 2009

very pleased!

The hotel had FREE PARKING which was a big attraction to us. The room was nice. simple but clean. And the hotel is located about a fave min walk to the falls and the maid of the mist. The people mover even has a stop about a block away! Was very happy overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 17, 2009

Great location for a great price!

Stayed one night 5/15/09 but have stayed there many times before. It is one of the best locations for the best price. Nice indoor pool, free parking, rooms are outdated but very clean. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was a little overpriced but good variety and delicious. Quick and easy walk to falls, Clifton Hills area and Casino Niagara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than five minute drive to Fallsview Casino (Always says $10-$20 to park at the casino garage but if you get a players club card at the casino, which is free, you park for free!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ree supertraveler
Business
uniontown, PA
Mar 17, 2009

horrible stay

we were very disappointed they gave us a dirty room #16 then the gentleman at the desk who was very nice sent us to room #18 which was not much cleaner I scrubbed the bathroom floor myself. The lady at the front desk was not nice the next two days I was very disappointed when we checked out she didn't even ask us how are stay was. We came there on a recommendation from a coworker who was appaulled when i came back to work to tell her. The fromt desk staff (manager lady-heavyset) she was more intrested in walking her dog then helping us!!!!!!!!!! the only bright spot was the waiter -Mile he was wonderful. We are coming back in May with our children and the rest of our family but we will not be staying at Michaels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shower clown
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Tom thumb room

I looked over many hotels in Niagara Falls, Ontario. I wanted a room with a Jacuzzi bath and a smoking room. When I saw the virtual tour on the Orbitz web site the room looked very large, two sinks a fire place and a very modern Jacuzzi tub. Well, the old saying a picture can tell a thousand words is so very wrong in this case. The room I actually stayed in at The Michaels Inn was very small, very small. The Jacuzzi tube was old and dirty looking. No fire place, single sink, and the shower. Lets talk about the shower. I am about 6'3" tall and about 235lbs. If Candid Camera was taking pictures of me in that shower fit for a [...], the whole country would still be laughting. I now know what a trapped rat feels like. The staff was great, food was ok. My wife and I will never book this hotel again. The room fees should have been half of what I paid. Oh yes, I booked a smoking room, they had none upon my arrival. If you are looking to see the falls attractions be prepared to drive, most are not within walking distance especially in the winter time. Never again !!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Have your car handy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carnegie, PA
Nov 3, 2008

Food

The Breakfast buffet was way over priced and cold. The Dining room had a funny odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shortwalk to Casino and Falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 19, 2008

Great value

Michaels Inn is a very nice hotel close to the Falls. It's one of the older hotels, and is well kept. The room rates are extremely reasonable. I like this hotel a lot and always stay here because it is tucked away from the busy district of Clifton Hill, but is within walking distance of tourist attractions and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 18, 2008

Great Value

My experience with Michael's Inn was very positive. The hotel staff was polite and efficient. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. For the value, I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to the Niagara Falls. The location is extremely convenient; all the sites were relatively close--within a short stroll. The hotel offers adequate amenities as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fair Lawn
Sep 7, 2008

Very family friendly

Great location - it was really only one block to the Falls and all attractions / restaurants. The room was very comfortable and much larger than most of the Inn we were staing. The room was very clean. We will recomend this hotel to all our friends who is planning to go to see the Niagra Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, Entertainment, Shopping, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top