$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Michaels Inn by the Falls

2 stars
5599 River Road, Niagara Falls, ON L2E3H3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
103 reviews
Great price

Great location and even a better price....pool area has a sweet hot tub. See full review

  • Dana Erie
  • Dec 5, 2014
Weekend getaway

Room was nice but decor was dated. Looking forward to seeing the renovations they have done to the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Family-favorite inn with specialty suites steps from falls and casinos
The family-friendly Michael’s Inn by the Falls, the self-proclaimed "closest inn to the falls," is a AAA 3-diamond-rated property, ideal for those seeking affordable comfort and convenience. Guest rooms are traditionally decorated and available in a variety of formats and layouts. The two in-site restaurants cater to every palate and occasion. There's also a wading pool, sauna, fitness center, Jacuzzi and parking (Fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located steps away from the Falls
  • Large family rooms, Jacuzzi rooms and honeymoon suites
  • Parking (Fees apply)
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Guest rooms are comfortable and traditionally decorated, available in a variety of formats and layouts, including cityview, fallsview, Jacuzzi and family rooms. All are spacious with an emphasis on comfort, and feature coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and TV with pay-per-view movies.
Features
Billing itself as the "closest inn to the Falls," the AAA 3-diamond Michael’s Inn by the Falls is a full-service property steps away from the falls, Clifton Hill and both area casinos. Recreation and fitness options abound, with a children's wading pool, oversized Jacuzzi, sauna and state-of-the-art fitness center equipped with basic cardio machines and plate-loaded weight training stations. Other amenities include an on-site ATM, safe deposit box at the front desk, free newspaper on Saturdays and room service from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (varies by season).

The on-site Embers restaurant serves three square meals daily, from casual meals to intimate dinners (children's menus available). There's also Open Hearth Restaurant, a concept venue where the chef prepares innovative entrees in full view of guests, from a glass-enclosed kitchen that offers an energy that's unrivaled in Niagara-area dining.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (26.3 mi/42.3 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michaels Inn by the Falls also booked these hotels.

Michaels Inn by the Falls Rooms

City View
Standard City View room with two double beds, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Ground Level
Two double beds, ground level, no view free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Fallsview
Standard American Falls View room with 2 double beds/queens, balcony, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m..

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bird Kingdom: 0 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 0.2 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.6 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 2.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 106.5 mi

Dining

Embers Open Hearth
This restaurant offers views of the falls. Open for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Michaels Inn by the Falls

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2008

great location

Rooms were clean staff was helpfull, Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amarillo, TX
Jul 26, 2008

great location

after reviewing several properties for our anniversary trip to Niagara Falls, i kept returning to Michael's Inn. The location, free parking, view, and price confirmed I had made an excellent choice. We do not stay in our room much ever so some amenities were not experienced. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you like being close to attractions but not the noise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options available and plenty of amusements for the children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 16, 2008

Friendly, convenient, plesant

Michael's was a good choice for our stay in Niagara. The room was clean, and comfortable. The Inn was near all the attractions, which saved us on parking and time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Niagara on the lake is nearby, and during our stay offered a wonderful selection of plays to enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 3, 2008

usefull

it is a good hotel for de rates and the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

it is not so far from lhe falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 14, 2007

Confortable

The hotel was what I expected for the price. Our children enjoyed the pool and the room confortable for the four of us. We only ate breakfast at the Hotel and it was the usual buffet. The food was good and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within walking distance of the beautiful falls, the rainbow bridge and every tourist trap known to man.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Great location!

This hotel was just okay. The room was a little dated and there were a few things that need TLC. The closet door was broken and the vanity sink wouldn't close at all. Overall it was clean and the location was wonderful! We walked to the Falls, Maid of the Mist and the Clifton Hills area. This saved us about $15-18 per day on parking. I must say the staff at the on site restaurant was first rate!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leeland
Business
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2007

Great location and friendly staff

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Michaels Inn. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was great. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Bird and Reptile exhibit just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2007

close to attractions

The hotel was clean and had a nice pool and hot tub, and was close to Niagara Falls attractions. The dining wasn't that great, the food was actually not good. We paid a lot for a Friday night for less than 24 hours stay, would have liked to have had some flexibility on check in time and had. The restaurant should have stayed open later on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You are better off walking anyway, and it is expected. Long walks but lots to see so it was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2007

Close to the falls...

Michaels Inn was very accommodating to our needs. Rooms were a bit outdated but we did not spend much time in there as we spent our time out and around town. Planet Hollywood and the Casino were basically in the back parking lot of this Inn. We were happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great time going on the Jet Boat Tours further down river. We also enjoyed Greg Frewin's Magic Show as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Stuck in the 50s

I chose Michael's Inn because it looked like a comfortable place with character. The location was excellent, within walking distance of the Falls and attractions. It also had free parking. The downside of our stay was that the hotel didn't have the modern amenities expected of a 21st century hotel: the building was not wireless, the business center consisted of a closet sized alcove with a pay for use computer, there was no continental breakfast and there was a charge for local calls. Our room, in the back, had a view of the parking lot but I was unwilling to pay extra for a falls view - possible only by leaning out the balcony. We concluded that the Falls are beautiful but beings Niagara is habitable only 6 mos out of the year, they stick it to tourists. For example, three tacos at one dumpy place was $14. Get real!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Clifton Hill and Niagara Casino. Bit of a hike, 30 minutes to Horseshoe Falls but route is lovely parkway. Don't miss Niagara on the Lake, a 40 minute drive north along the Niagara Parkway. Jet Boat, for $50 a person, was an unforgettable ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top