$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Michaels Inn by the Falls

2 stars
5599 River Road, Niagara Falls, ON L2E3H3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
111 reviews
Gratifying Stay

I was pleased to find the Hotel so easily. Just a right turn off of the Rainbow bridge into... See full review

  • Eighty One
  • Aug 13, 2014
Quick weekender

Very close but quiet area next to falls. Minivan with overhead carrier can not go thru front are to... See full review

  • Road trip Rachel
  • Aug 7, 2014
Family-favorite inn with specialty suites steps from falls and casinos
The family-friendly Michael’s Inn by the Falls, the self-proclaimed "closest inn to the falls," is a AAA 3-diamond-rated property, ideal for those seeking affordable comfort and convenience. Guest rooms are traditionally decorated and available in a variety of formats and layouts. The two in-site restaurants cater to every palate and occasion. There's also a wading pool, sauna, fitness center, Jacuzzi and parking (Fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located steps away from the Falls
  • Large family rooms, Jacuzzi rooms and honeymoon suites
  • Parking (Fees apply)
  • Fitness center
Rooms
Guest rooms are comfortable and traditionally decorated, available in a variety of formats and layouts, including cityview, fallsview, Jacuzzi and family rooms. All are spacious with an emphasis on comfort, and feature coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and TV with pay-per-view movies.
Features
Billing itself as the "closest inn to the Falls," the AAA 3-diamond Michael’s Inn by the Falls is a full-service property steps away from the falls, Clifton Hill and both area casinos. Recreation and fitness options abound, with a children's wading pool, oversized Jacuzzi, sauna and state-of-the-art fitness center equipped with basic cardio machines and plate-loaded weight training stations. Other amenities include an on-site ATM, safe deposit box at the front desk, free newspaper on Saturdays and room service from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (varies by season).

The on-site Embers restaurant serves three square meals daily, from casual meals to intimate dinners (children's menus available). There's also Open Hearth Restaurant, a concept venue where the chef prepares innovative entrees in full view of guests, from a glass-enclosed kitchen that offers an energy that's unrivaled in Niagara-area dining.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (26.3 mi/42.3 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax service
  • Full-service business center
  • Secretarial service

Hotel Map

43.0929 -79.0679
Area served
Niagara Falls, ON Canada
Nearby airports
Buffalo, NY BUF-Buffalo Niagara International Toronto,ON YYZ- Lester B. Pearson International Hamilton International YHM - Hamilton, ON St. Catharines/Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON CYSN - Niagara District Airport
Area description
Michael's Inn has one of the best locations of all the local hotels. It is within 270 meters from the Falls right next to the Rainbow Bridge and ideally situated for those wanting to access everything by foot. This is the best ways around the Falls! Most major attractions are within a ten minute walk. We are a smoke free property

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Michaels Inn by the Falls also booked these hotels.

Michaels Inn by the Falls Rooms

City View
Standard City View room with two double beds, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Ground Level
Two double beds, ground level, no view free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m.
Fallsview
Standard American Falls View room with 2 double beds/queens, balcony, free WIFI: Check in begins 3:00 p.m., check out is 11:00 a.m..

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Bird Kingdom: 0 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 0.2 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 0.3 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.6 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 2.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 106.5 mi

Dining

Embers Open Hearth
This restaurant offers views of the falls. Open for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Michaels Inn by the Falls

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pack Light and Go
Triad, NC
Jul 9, 2012

Red Heart-Shaped Tub..probably not clean, but cool looking in the corner of our room.

lovely in a cheesy-i'm-in-niagara-falls-so-im-going-to-be ironically hipster-cheeseball sort of a way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
okay kid
Toronto
Aug 24, 2014

Good settin g

Hotel suited our needs perfectly---location worked out very well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a bad spot to stay to see the Falls-----a lovely drive to Niagara-on the-Lake from the hotel

Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eighty One
NYC, NY
Aug 13, 2014

Gratifying Stay

I was pleased to find the Hotel so easily. Just a right turn off of the Rainbow bridge into Canada. Pleasant and most helpful Hotel Staff. Easy access to Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub area. Quiet, Restful. Clean. I got my money's worth. Thank you! PS There was an unexpected charge of $10.00 for parking, however , parking charges throughout the Falls area were much higher , averaging $20.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask about neighborhood Italian Restaurant. Good food. Excellent service, Moderate pricing. Enjoyable "House" red wine

Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road trip Rachel
Chicago
Aug 7, 2014

Quick weekender

Very close but quiet area next to falls. Minivan with overhead carrier can not go thru front are to first level parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A twin flame
Connecticut
Jun 3, 2014

Amazing Retreat!

Michael's Inn by the Falls does not truly sell their location. I could throw a stone from the front and if it wasn't for Rainbow Bridge it would land nearly in the heart of the city. Clifton Hill, all the main attractions, and the falls themselves were all within walking distance. I purchased a WEGO bus pass but never even used it! The room was excellent, the staff courteous and friendly. Parking is $10 per night per vehicle and there is plenty of parking space. Overall we had a marvelous experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to watch the fireworks over the falls on Friday or Sunday nights go and find the main garden. There is a higher section here that has benches lined with trees. Go as far as you can on this level toward the main intersection and sit on the balcony. You CAN'T beat the view!

Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebang
Canton, Michigan
May 28, 2014

Family Getaway

It is good for the price we paid. The only down side is there is no free breakfast that comes with it. In some inns or hotels the price includes a simple breakfast even just milk, coffee, cereal, bread or donut nothing fancy that I expect. Also, there is no refrigerator in the room you have to request one if you want. But overall decent place to stay and only a few minutes walk to the falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shervin
North york
Feb 19, 2014

A good night

This hotel was good, the only thing was missing was fridge and microwave .. Over all it was a good experience spending a night there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zoigl
Muskegon
Nov 11, 2013

Great location, cheap price

great location right next to the niagara falls, good price, would book this again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Wheel

Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Gambler
Rochester, NY
Oct 25, 2013

Convenient location, decent value

A cheaper option available near old casino. Rooms smell of smoke though, which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler201315
Upstate New York
Oct 20, 2013

Parking not free anymore

Beware there is a parking fee which I did not know when booked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Michaels Inn by the Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
treated poorly
toronto
Aug 30, 2013

Grouchy staff

When we first pulled up to the hotel it looked awful. Much worse then the pictures. For the price, i wasn't expecting the Ritz but I also wasn't expecting the Bates motel. Inside the lobby looked like a motel. There was a front desk lady arguing with a male customer. Another female clerk called me to the counter. She said "ID and credit card" in a seargents tone. No hello, no can i help you, nothing. Between the terrible look of the hotel and the rude staff, i wanted to leave. We gave it a chance, went to the room and it was "ok". Very small but clean. We also used their pool which was also clean a of average size. The location was no too bad. About a 10 minute walk to get to clifton hill, casino etc. Still after coming home yesterday i'm still upset how i was treated so rudely and by the way the man beside me was treated by his front desk clerk its obviously happening to everyone. I hope the owner reads this review because the front desk makes or breaks you like it did with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search