$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

3 stars
View map of 1333 Weber Street East, Kitchener, ON N2A 1C2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
7 reviews
good place to stay

good comfortable and good location. staff are very helpful. nice pool and hot tub area. overall a... See full review

  • raluca2012
  • Oct 10, 2012
Pretty good

When I got to the hotel, the check-in was quick and easy, but that was mainly because there weren't... See full review

  • Someone Awesome
  • Jul 6, 2009
Our pet-friendly hotel is near Highway 401, restaurants, skiing, golfing and shopping. Experience life in 1914 at Doon Heritage Village, or attend an event at Centre in the Square four kilometers away. Wake up to free Rise and Dine breakfast, free newspaper, and energize in the gym. Use the 24-hour front desk and free Wi-Fi to look up attractions. Take the family to our heated indoor salt water pool with waterslide and hot tub. Meeting rooms and 24-hour fax/copy services available. Guest rooms include lush bedding, microwave and refrigerator. Hot tub suites and smoke-free rooms available.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga also booked these hotels.

★★★
$64
3.3 / 5 7 reviews
★★
$48
3.1 / 5 14 reviews
★★
$38
2.6 / 5 5 reviews
★★★
$83
3.7 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$74
3.7 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$69
4.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★
$72
4.1 / 5 9 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:30 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.3

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
raluca2012
Couples
mt albert
Oct 10, 2012

good place to stay

good comfortable and good location. staff are very helpful. nice pool and hot tub area. overall a good place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Communist Bull
Friends
Mississauga, ON
Dec 17, 2010

Good if you don't care

The hotel was very average and needed a bit of a makeover. The staff was very mediocre at best and the room service tried to kick us out of our room when we had specifically asked for an extended check out time. I don't like it when people wake me up from my sleep so that was a huge annoyance. We only stayed in Kitchener-Waterloo one night to party at a new nightclub so in this case, the hotel was okay. Just somewhere to sleep really - if you're looking for luxury or a comfortable family stay, it wouldn't be here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to ClubBeta on King Street in Waterloo which was about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It's a new club with a very good atmosphere but no liquor license and poor coat check service. Having said all that, it was a very good time and the music was awesome.

Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barrie Ont.
Sep 17, 2009

Not my "cup of Tea"

I attended a trade show in area and most hotels were booked-up. It appeared the hotel had a multi story tower addition but I stayed on the ground floor in the old part - which was like a two story motel. People I met said the Tower was nice and quiet. It was a good thing I had to rise early as did whoever was staying above me. The floors creaked so much I was awake every time they were. I was up early in the mornings and had to creep along the hallway because the floors there also creaked so loudly I was afraid I'd wake someone. I noticed a bit of paper in the hallway when I walked to my room my first day. It remained in the same spot for the entire 3 nights and 4 days I was there. The people running the Hub, (resteraunt/bar) were freindly and they made-up for the shortcomings of the facility. As far as the hotel staff goes, after checking in I didn't hear a single word including good morning. At least the room rate was cheaper than the rooms at other places I would have preferred staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Warren, Michigan
Sep 14, 2009

Not so wonderful!

We were in town for a family wedding. The hotel was extremely noisy. Yelling in the hallways at 2am. The shower was either ice cold or scorching hot. I could hardly rinse off. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ddekeyser
Couples
Sarnia, ON
Aug 22, 2009

Stay Away

Biggest dive I have ever stayed at! The pictures are deceiving. Dirty, and old and poor condition. Dirty sheets, and dirty shower. Most disgusting place I have been in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Howard Johnson Hotel - Kitchener

The room was smelling, even though the hotel is a two stars hotel, I was not expecting a luxurious room but a clean room. There were holes in the blankets and bed cover, stains on the mattress box, bulb missing in the lamp, and the trash can in the room I could not even touch it. The issue as I see it is that the standard of hygien is very low and the owner/manager does not see that. There is no air circulation in the hallways so when you leave the room to go to the reception, you are crossing a bathroom!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mongolian in Waterloo.

Review of Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Someone Awesome
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Jul 6, 2009

Pretty good

When I got to the hotel, the check-in was quick and easy, but that was mainly because there weren't many people there at the time. I walked by the pool to get to my room, and it seemed nice, but I didn't use it while I was there. It was decent sized, and had a slide. There were also rooms with doors that open directly to the pool, which could be nice for people who bring kids. The hallway leading to my room was kind of dark, and the floors were a little loud when people walked down the hall. This was a little annoying in the mornings when people woke up earlier than I did, but that's not a big deal. The floors inside the room were uneven, with some dips like they had been repaired a few times or something. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The light that turned on via the switch by the door was humorously dim, but there were three more lamps in the room to provide light, plus a sliding door instead of a window to allow access to the small deck/walkway outside the rooms on that level. The bed wasn't anything amazing, and it sagged a little in the middle, but I was fine with it. The sheets were clean, and I slept pretty well. There was no "do not disturb" sign in my room, so I had to make my own. I wanted to sleep in both days I was there, and that's hard to do with people knocking on the door every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top