$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Hamilton

2 stars
1187 Upper James Street, Hamilton, ON L9C 3B2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
17 reviews
Visit to Howard Johnson Hamilton

Was visiting a friend and staff was professional and polite. Room was clean and spacious. Internet... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 8, 2011
Visit to Howard Johnson Hamilton

Was visiting a friend and staff was professional and polite. Room was clean and spacious. Internet... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 8, 2011
Find family fun at this Howard Johnson Hamilton conveniently located near Hamilton Airport with complimentary shuttle service. See military aircraft throughout history at the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum just six miles away. Meet the lions at African Lion Safari, and if you are feeling lucky visit Flamboro Downs Harness Racetrack and Slots. Enjoy lunch and dinner onsite at Pastacinos, and start your day refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast. Ample complimentary parking makes exploring the area easy. Check email from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, or upgrade to a hot tub suite for additional comfort. Smoke-free rooms are also available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hamilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.2147 -79.8877
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hamilton

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontaria
May 30, 2011

Disappointed

We recently we in town visiting friends before their wedding. The front desk was helpful and polite. The rooms were a huge disappointment. They were not clean. I found hair from the last guest in our sink. The hotel is rundown and needs to be redone. I wasn't expecting anything upscale but I was expecting something more decent considering the comedy club is attached.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pdxmfr
Business
oregon
Jul 25, 2011

bad, very bad

You will find two buildings on this hotel. The main one is decent enough to be rated as awful. The second one should be considered as disgusting and at a level of sanitary pretty close to a $10.00/night room. Air conditioning does not work. Beds sheets are barely washed. The famous free WIFI is simply nonexistent. This hotel is simply a fraud. A pure fraud and I am still amazed why Howard & Johnson company is still running a franchise to the present owner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pdxmfr
Business
oregon
Jul 25, 2011

bad, very bad

You will find two buildings on this hotel. The main one is decent enough to be rated as awful. The second one should be considered as disgusting and at a level of sanitary pretty close to a $10.00/night room. Air conditioning does not work. Beds sheets are barely washed. The famous free WIFI is simply nonexistent. This hotel is simply a fraud. A pure fraud and I am still amazed why Howard & Johnson company is still running a franchise to the present owner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Girl24
Toronto
Feb 10, 2014

Do not stay here.

We were in Hamilton for a concert and just looking for a cheap place to sleep at the end of the night. Although this hotel is cheap it was not even worth the $60 we spent and we ended up just driving back to Toronto at the end of the night, because we didnt want to stay in the hotel. I am not extremely picky about where I sleep, but this place was disgusting. The front entrance was a little dated and dingy, but the clerk at the front desk was kind and polite while checking us in. he told us to take the stairs to our room on the second floor. This is where the horrible experience began, the stairwells smelled horrible. To the point where my friend and I held our breath and ran up the stairs to our room. However, things did not get much better from there. Once in our room the smell was different, but still not pleasant. We opened the window (even though it was -10 outside just hoping we could get some frest air.) That was the first obstacle to get over. Secondly, we could hear straight through the walls to the people in the room beside us, they werent being too loud, but the walls were so thing we could hear everything. Finally the last straw were the VERY questionable stains all over the carpet that made us not want to touch anything in the room. After spending 5 minutes not wanting to take off our shoes or even sit on the bed we decided to pack up our things go to the concert and drive home right after. This place is not worth $60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMack
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Feb 16, 2012

Twas An Interesting Evening

The hotel itself is really nothing special. Not accessible (no elevator, etc) which was a hassle. We were greeted by a handful of people leaving and then the police arrived and there was a patron being unruly and whatnot who eventually was arrested and taken away. Not sure we'll go back to that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontaria
May 30, 2011

Disappointed

We recently we in town visiting friends before their wedding. The front desk was helpful and polite. The rooms were a huge disappointment. They were not clean. I found hair from the last guest in our sink. The hotel is rundown and needs to be redone. I wasn't expecting anything upscale but I was expecting something more decent considering the comedy club is attached.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unimpressed with Hojo
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 15, 2014

DONT STAY HERE

I got in late on my stay. The staff was nice enough. I checked in, went to my room and was greeted to a disgusting room and people downstairs beating on the top of the ceiling. 45 seconds after checking in, i didnt want to be there. The room was worse than a roach motel. This place needs serious serious renovation. Would not stay here again, ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scoudouc, NB
May 30, 2011

Central location great for my needs

The hotel though older was clean and the staff were fantastic. I will however be in touch by phone as they had a plumbing problem and have told me that i will be receiving a 25% discount for 2 of the nights due to this problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scoudouc, NB
May 30, 2011

Central location great for my needs

The hotel though older was clean and the staff were fantastic. I will however be in touch by phone as they had a plumbing problem and have told me that i will be receiving a 25% discount for 2 of the nights due to this problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hamilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 2, 2010

nice place

nice hotel staff helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top