$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

The Westin Nova Scotian

4 stars
1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, NS B3H 2P6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
26 reviews
Westin

It was lovely. Located in a central spot, close to all the activities on Water Street as well as... See full review

  • Foreigner16
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great Hotel, Great Staff but do your homework before leaving

We contacted hotel before our trip as we were not sure what to expect regarding travel from airport... See full review

  • Dayton 919 traveler
  • May 30, 2014
In the heart of downtown Halifax, The Westin Nova Scotians prime location offers a peaceful respite in this beautiful city. With easy access to nearby shopping and dining, you can experience all that downtown has to offer or simply enjoy a stroll by the boardwalk and wharves of Halifax Harbor. Refresh and Renew at The Westin Nova Scotian with our Zest Spa offering a variety of services. Our state-of-the-art fitness center boasts an indoor heated pool. Let our food and beverage specialists help you host the perfect event in one of our 23 versatile meeting spaces. Enjoy stunning views of either Halifax Harbor or Cornwallis Park from one of our 310 guest rooms and suites. Each room has contemporary amenities and an oversized bathroom. Relax in one of our cozy Heavenly Beds®.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Nova Scotian also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Nova Scotian Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Nova Scotian

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Globe Trotten Arony
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 11, 2014

Mediocre Place to Stay

The hotel was in a great location, right next to the board walk and the main farmers market downtown. The staff was not very knowledgeable about the sightseeing and I was especially disappointed in their level of knowledge regarding outdoor activities. The parking was very expensive and the lot was not easily accessible to the hotel. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike! There is so much to see and the town makes for a fun and adventurous ride. Car traffic can be bad. The entire downtown is accessible by bike and you can hop on the fairy (with your bike) to reach the town across the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foreigner16
Business
Toronto, ON
Aug 9, 2014

Westin

It was lovely. Located in a central spot, close to all the activities on Water Street as well as the Pier 21 and the farmer's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money, buy food from the Atlantic superstore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dayton 919 traveler
Business
Dayton, Oh
May 30, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Staff but do your homework before leaving

We contacted hotel before our trip as we were not sure what to expect regarding travel from airport and what amenities were included or not included. Good thing we did, as when we landed, we were told by ground transportation we would have had to wait quite a while to get to hotel as there were no taxis available (we arrived on a Sunday evening), had we not pre-arranged transport. Upon arrival were greeted by very friendly professional staff who already had the rest of my family's information ready for when they arrived (we were meeting family there#. Our room had a harbor view but not all that so don't be disappointed if you don't get one #cost extra anyway#. The rooms were very clean and had lots of useful toiletries and extras, and had a locked mini bar, but no microwave or any room in fridge to put anything else. The mini bar was warm, so we called front desk, and when it could not be fixed immediately, they provided us another fridge. Ours was a corner room and bigger than their standard rooms #which is what the rest of my family had).....the standard rooms are slightly smaller than regular hotel rooms. The bathrooms were very clean, and had a 2 head shower that was very relaxing and plenty of hot water. The mirror in there is huge and lit all the way around so easy to get ready in the morning. They had a single cup coffee maker, with one serving starbucks coffee, that was ok, but only 2 creams each day. They call their beds 'heavenly' for very good reason. I fell asleep immediately and stayed that way! The heating/air works great, but read instructions or you'll either freeze or sweat Only a few cable channels available and movies are about $15 to rent, so bring a laptop and movies from home!! Wifi signal was good.! The insulation between rooms is actually pretty good and you can't hear much between them We did this trip as My father was very ill and we were all getting together to go on one last vacation together with him... knowing this, the hotel provided us a wheel chair to use while he was here as he was having great pain walking. The westin hotel staff went out of their way to treat him and our whole family with kindness, consideration and respect, and we felt welcomed and were sad to leave. My only complaint is no one told us how expensive breakfast was and that it was not included in the very expensive nightly rate, or that you could get a discount with their 'starwood rewards card'. I researched this myself and signed up before going or we would have had to pay for high speed wifi too!! Their regular internet I believe is free. They charge for parking as well. I wish they would offer breakfast with the nightly rate, it's normally $17.25, wonderful buffet with eggs/sausage/bacon, fruit toast cereal and juice/coffee but really can't justify that cost for breakfast no matter how good. Plus you have to still eat lunch and dinner, so food costs can add up quick!!! There is a grocery store next door and a Tim hortons about a 5 minute walk away. The harbor is also close along with several attractions. They offer tourist information in the hotel too, although we never did find their gift shop! In closing truly wonderful staff, great amenities, but extra costs can add up...all in all a very memorable stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great local eateries and a grocery store within easy walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Halifax guy
Business
Halifax SN
Apr 6, 2014

Great location . Great service

Fast friendly checkin. Clean modern rooms. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sat-Sun : go to the Seaport Farmers' Market right behind the hotel followed by beer tasting at Garrison's microbrewery, also behind the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray Schaaf
Business
Kansas City, Mo
Sep 26, 2013

40th Anniversary Trip

Our room was comfortable and well kept by the maid service during our stay. Valet service was well done. Room service was very poor. Early breakfast orders by door placard were not fulfilled and beverage/snack center was not replenished. When inquiring the night before the end of our 5 night stay about available help with our baggage due to our early am checkout, I was assured that it would be no problem. It turned out the next morning that no such help was available, although they did manage to get our car out front All in all I didn't think the experience worth the expense and probably wouldn't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missed the View
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 16, 2011

GET A HIGHER FLOOR

Over all hotel is wonderful, HOWEVER!!!! My confirmation said "OFFERING UNIQUE CITY OR HARBOUR VIEWS" My room was on the 2nd floor (3rd floor is US). If I stood on the back of a chair on my tip toes and stretched I could see the harbour. Front desk said the hotel was booked. I was only there for one night etc. My suggestion: GET A ROOM ON A FLOOR ABOVE THE 4TH FLOOR OR YOU WILL HAVE A SCENIC VIEW OF THE BLACK ROOM.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
"Tronna"
Nov 12, 2011

3.5 stars

The staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived a half hour before official check-in time and just by asking "will I get a better room if I wait?" was checked in immediately and given a so-called "premium view" room. The view was of the water, much better than it would have been looking the other way. So that was good. The room itself was fine, the bed comfortable, furniture nice enough. No complaints. I could even open a small window. Fresh air! Nice. Bathroom was fine. Spotlessly clean. So far, everything you need, right? Well, not if you think in a modern hotel you should get free wi-fi! So, FAIL, there. On the plus side, though, two cups of brew it yourself starbucks coffee from a modern machine. Easy, fast, good-tasting in-room coffee. It's funny, re-reading this review, the lack of free wi-fi really coloured my impression. With that and one of those little sewing kits you used to get in your amenities basket (missing), along with the plastic shower caps my wife likes (also, not there) and the extra shampoo and conditioner bottles (they were in the tub's soap dish) ...my review would have been 4 across the board. Westin, if you're smart enough to be reading this, it's the little things (amenities, continental breakfasts included [nope], and the essential things (did I mention free wi-fi?) that make all the difference. And really, these things are all table stakes now, aren't they? Not at the Nova Scotian apparently. Oh well. This review app asks me for the bottom line - would I reco this hotel to a friend. I'll select YES, but really, it depends on what you're looking for in a Halifax hotel. What do you want to be close to? All I can say is do your research. It's not bad if you're visiting your kid/s at Dalhousie/Kings University, for example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

YukYuks for you stand up comedy fans is in the same building. Also, the hotel happens to be next door to a 24 hour supermarket and there's a liquor store and an excellent micro-brewery (Garrison) there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyAnne
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

College visiting made easy

My daughter is considering Dalhousie University. This was our first trip to Halifax - but won't be our last. The location of the hotel plus the amenities and ease of access helped to make this a trip worth repeating - regardless of her ultimate decision. My only complaint would be the size of the beds. All 3 of us are close to 6" tall. 2 double beds are not big enough for any of us to share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Find Crystal Crescent Beach - it is well worth the drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol, UK
Jul 28, 2011

Good value for money. Good location!

Enjoyable stay in a nice part of Halifax not far from the city center. Good bar food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Had a very good burger in bar and a great glass of Pinot Noir.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Nova Scotian

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 9, 2011

Old Hotel

This a very old but well maintained hotel on a par with Marriott. Marriott was sold out and I selected this. I'm not into old. I like new, polished and all of the latest... While everything has been updated it is still old with small rooms and a very small bathroom. While nice, I would not make this my first choice on a return visit. If you like old and updated. This is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

See comments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top