$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Prince George Hotel

4 stars
1725 Market St, N/A, Halifax, NS B3J 3N9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
9 reviews
Wonderful Hotel

My husband and I loved the Prince George. Everyone was so helpful. The Hotel was lovely. Very... See full review

  • Plad
  • May 11, 2014
A lovely stay

Although a brief stay the hotel was very comfortable & the rooms were large. Great service and the... See full review

  • I live to travel
  • Apr 30, 2014
A luxury full service property located in the center of downtown Halifax providing the ideal accommodation spot for business or relaxation. The hotel is directly connected by indoor walkway to the World Trade and Convention Center Halifax Metro Center Scotia Square Shopping Center and Casino Nova Scotia.The Prince George hotel has gained reputation for excellence in service and boasts an award winning culinary team.Each guestroom has mahogany furnishings and is equipped with the latest in room amenities and high speed internet. Enjoy the outdoor gardened patio decks indoor swimming pool sauna and fitness room. Experience the Terrace breakfast buffet or unique dining at Gio featuring an exciting and vibrant menu.Complimentary use of fitness center business center in room coffee and morning newspaper.

The Prince George Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Guestroom-With choice of two double beds or one King-size bed. Finely appointed furnishings. High-speed OR wireless internet included. Bar Fridge. Hairdryer. Complimentary in-room coffee and morning newspaper- free local calls. Comp-use of Busine
Deluxe
Executive Floor on top floor of the hotel, includes access to lounge and continental breakfast
Standard
N/A
Standard
Crown Service- Executive-class guestroom with two double beds or King bed. Finely appointed furnishings. Includes duvet and triple sheeting. Comp-continental breakfast service. Newspaper. Upgraded bath amenities. Wireless or high-speed internet access an
Suite
Deluxe King Suite - Deluxe Suite with separate living area and bedroom. 650 square feet. Large work space, private bedroom. Comp bottled water plus bathobes. Includes high speed internet and local calls. 2 telephones. Bar Fridge. Complimentary in-room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prince George Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.6473 -63.5763
Nearby airports
Halifax Intl Airport, (YHZ), 21.21, KM, S;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Gio
CUISINE TYPE-World Cuisine
The Terrace
CUISINE TYPE-Breakfast

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
01:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for The Prince George Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoony disaster
Burlington, VT
Aug 26, 2010

Don't Valet Park

We went here for one night on our honeymoon touring Novia Scotia in a convertible. We were greeted with complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The rooms were very nice and clean. Only problem with the hotel is that the valet service took our car out and did burn outs Ferris Beuller style. This left the treads on our back tires totally stripped in a car that was rear wheel drive. We were fortunate enough to have nice weather our whole trip, because on the last day with a little mist we skidded off the highway heading home at 65 mph. We were lucky to make it out alive, the car not so much. Had there been bad weather at all on the windy roads of Cape Bretton it could have been worse. After dealing with the mess of a car and getting home we called the hotel, not for compensation but to voice our concern for the safety of other travelers like ourselves. We had pictures of the car the day before and after the hotel and before it had treads and the day after it didn't. They denied their staff would do such a thing. We told them again that we were certain that they did as we had photos to prove it and that we nearly died because of it and it is not a complaint they should take lightly. They again denied it. It's unfortunate that such a nice hotel is staffed with people so irresponsible and unresponsive to customers complaints and willing to risk the lives of their customers for joy rides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoony disaster
Burlington, VT
Aug 26, 2010

Don't Valet Park

We went here for one night on our honeymoon touring Novia Scotia in a convertible. We were greeted with complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The rooms were very nice and clean. Only problem with the hotel is that the valet service took our car out and did burn outs Ferris Beuller style. This left the treads on our back tires totally stripped in a car that was rear wheel drive. We were fortunate enough to have nice weather our whole trip, because on the last day with a little mist we skidded off the highway heading home at 65 mph. We were lucky to make it out alive, the car not so much. Had there been bad weather at all on the windy roads of Cape Bretton it could have been worse. After dealing with the mess of a car and getting home we called the hotel, not for compensation but to voice our concern for the safety of other travelers like ourselves. We had pictures of the car the day before and after the hotel and before it had treads and the day after it didn't. They denied their staff would do such a thing. We told them again that we were certain that they did as we had photos to prove it and that we nearly died because of it and it is not a complaint they should take lightly. They again denied it. It's unfortunate that such a nice hotel is staffed with people so irresponsible and unresponsive to customers complaints and willing to risk the lives of their customers for joy rides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I live to travel
St John's, Newfoundland
Apr 30, 2014

A lovely stay

Although a brief stay the hotel was very comfortable & the rooms were large. Great service and the staff very polite. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend dinning at the Press Gang & Oyster Bar. We had a beautiful late night meal here, the food, champagne & extensive selection of fine whiskey's was to die for and to top it off they had a live 3 piece Jazz band playing by the bar for a more intimate evening.

Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plad
Middletown,N.Y
May 11, 2014

Wonderful Hotel

My husband and I loved the Prince George. Everyone was so helpful. The Hotel was lovely. Very clean, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iendutchie
halufax area nova scotia
Aug 20, 2013

excellent long weekend stay

relaxing after my daytrips or boardwalking. Easy cofee making, spacious room and comfortable bed. Only minus was I couldn't pay my check before midnight...becsuse ifcthe system. Every stafmember was very friendly. Early noises because if constructionwork next door wasn't announced. That I didn't think was very professiinal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savannah Travelers
Savannah, GA, USA
Jan 17, 2013

Great Location

Walked all over downtown. Many good restaurants and attractions nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ckimoff
Toronto, ON
Sep 25, 2012

Top Notch:

This is one of the best hotels in Halifax, located right in the heart of all the action. It's clean, luxurious and the service is above average. They gave us a free upgrade and patiently helped with our dinner reservation plans -- even when we changed our minds, more than once. The restaurant is definitely the finest in the city (my husband's a chef and I'm a spoiled foodie). Don't consider staying anywhere else, especially at these rates! I was a satisfied cutomer returning and we'll definitely visit again...kudos to the owners and staff on a job well done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Halifax's top nightlife venues on your doorstep, along with all the regular tourist attractions.

Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Round Hill, VA
Sep 4, 2008

Great hotel, great service!

It was our first time in Halifax and our first time staying at the Prince George Hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring the city, as it is convenient to the convention center, the Citadel, shopping and great restaurants. It is located near the highest point of Halifax, so the walk up from the waterfront area could be strenuous for some folks. However, we found it delightful. We stayed on the Club(?) floor, so enjoyed the wonderfully comfortable bedding and breakfast served in our room each day. We arrived earlier than the normal check in time, but were readily provided a room. The concierge service was truly outstanding. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful...and they appeared to truly enjoy their job. We had lunch in Gio, one of the restaurants in the hotel and it was very satisfying. I would certainly recommend this hotel to those visiting the city. A great boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Prince George Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Round Hill, VA
Sep 4, 2008

Great hotel, great service!

It was our first time in Halifax and our first time staying at the Prince George Hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring the city, as it is convenient to the convention center, the Citadel, shopping and great restaurants. It is located near the highest point of Halifax, so the walk up from the waterfront area could be strenuous for some folks. However, we found it delightful. We stayed on the Club(?) floor, so enjoyed the wonderfully comfortable bedding and breakfast served in our room each day. We arrived earlier than the normal check in time, but were readily provided a room. The concierge service was truly outstanding. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful...and they appeared to truly enjoy their job. We had lunch in Gio, one of the restaurants in the hotel and it was very satisfying. I would certainly recommend this hotel to those visiting the city. A great boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top