$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

3 stars
20 Saint Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, NS B3N 1J4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
44 reviews
Great hotel!

I really like this hotel - it's so clean and comfortable, there's a full hot breakfast, free... See full review

  • goldenguy
  • Nov 25, 2013
Best Kept Secret!

Well I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! However, the "best kept secret" in Halifax... See full review

  • Megmal
  • Sep 12, 2013
No other Chocolate Lake hotel can compare to the premium amenities and services provided to our pampered guests. We're a pet-friendly hotel, so Fido is welcome on this vacation. This Chocolate Lake hotel combines elegance with convenience. Proximity to downtown Halifax is coupled with a stunning lakeside setting. You can get away from it all and still being near the action. Shopping, dining and events are just a quick drive away. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel is committed to providing every guest, including your furry baby, with the best in service and quality. The daily free breakfast features a hot buffet where eggs, waffles, yogurt, cereal, pastries and fruits are all options. Complete your meal with chilled juices and 100% Arabica coffee. This Halifax hotel has everything required for a memorable vacation. The Halifax waterfront is the perfect place to ignite romance. The Halifax Shopping Centre has everything you need, from last-minute necessities to one-of-a-kind treasures. Bayer's Lake Industrial Park is a must see attraction. Don't forget about the nearby Halifax Metro Centre. Getting around town is a breeze, especially when your Chocolate Lake hotel is right around the corner. Cocoa, our chocolate lab, is the resident welcome ambassador and a new friend to your own pet traveler. This Chocolate Lake hotel welcomes business travelers from around the country. Common guests are employees of CGI Group, Manulife, retail employees from local businesses, and government public servants. Kitchenette units are available for longer stays, complete with everything necessary to make a cozy home away from home. The unique lakeside setting in a city is what makes this Chocolate Lake hotel stand apart. Who says you have to give up Mother Nature for city perks? Whether you're in town for a night or need multi-week accommodations, we have you covered. Book a spacious room at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel today!

Hotel Map

44.6404 -63.6245
Area served
Moncton,, Lunenburg, Sydney, Charlottetown,, Truro
Nearby airports
(YHZ), 39.00, KM, S;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LAKEVW,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PETFRD,LAKEVW,FRIDGE,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,EFFCNY,32FLTV,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,REFRIG,COFFMAKER,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN FLAT TV,REFRIG,COFFEEMKR,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,1BEDRM,KITCHNETT,TWO32FLATTVS,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRWV,REFRIGE,32INFLATTV,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HANDICAP,HI SPEED,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFBD,LAKEVW,MICRFG,SOAKERTB,FIREPL,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LAKEVW,FRIG,32FLATTV,EXTCOR,GRND,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NS,LKEVW,FIREPLC,REFRG,2 32IN FLATS,SIT,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Ken's Seafood and Pizza
1.90 kilometer(s) from Ken's Seafood and Pizza, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Venus Donair
0.90 kilometer(s) from Venus Donair, Bar/Lounge, Mediterranean, Open for: lunch,
Cosy Snack Bar
2.00 kilometer(s) from Cosy Snack Bar, Snack Bar, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch,
Look Ho Ho Restaurant
3.00 kilometer(s) from Look Ho Ho Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Chinese, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Subway
Adjacent to Subway, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonald's®
0.90 kilometer(s) from McDonald's®, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch,
China Classic Restaurant
2.00 kilometer(s) from China Classic Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner, -
Heartwood Bakery and Cafe
2.20 kilometer(s) from Heartwood Bakery and Cafe, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch,
Mexico Lindo
2.00 kilometer(s) from Mexico Lindo, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Armdale Pizza
Across the street from Armdale Pizza, Bar/Lounge, Greek, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tessas Grandma
Liverpool, NY
Jul 7, 2014

First night

We were exhausted when we arrived after having traveled all day. The staff was more than accommodating even as the restaurant was almost closing. we did not feel rushed. Rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was substantial. Being able to sit outside and look at the lake for breakfast was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent restaurant

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oakley56Nate
Midland, TX, USA
Jun 9, 2014

Had a wonderful time.

This is the second time I stayed here, and it continues to meet my expectations. I really appreciate the full breakfast buffet in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megmal
Wedgeport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Mar 24, 2014

Nice stay

This where we usually always stay when visiting Halifax and every visit has been wonderful, with great check-ins, lovely room, and the best kept secret in Halifax.....an excellent restaurant! Will be staying there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to have the beer battered fish, and steamed mussels....Oh, the desserts are delicious too!!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandymoe
Business
Nova Scotia
Dec 9, 2013

Gold hotel though long distance

Spent one night here at this hotel. I enjoyed the amenities and the room was first class, the staff was helpful. However, the distance from the airport was the only drawback and the absence of shuttle service. Cost me some money by taxi though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
goldenguy
Cape Breton
Nov 25, 2013

Great hotel!

I really like this hotel - it's so clean and comfortable, there's a full hot breakfast, free parking and the staff are always very pleasant and welcoming. It is not right downtown, but is just a short drive from either downtown or a major shopping area nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zenned Out Teacher
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Nov 11, 2013

Workshop Weekend

It was a convenient location because the workshop I was at was in the hotel itself. The room key continually did not work and I kept returning to the front desk for another. This was the only inconvenience. Nice and quiet and I could check in early and check out late with no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megmal
Wedgeport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Sep 12, 2013

Best Kept Secret!

Well I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! However, the "best kept secret" in Halifax is the restaurant!! We ate at the restaurant for supper and breaksfast, and both were wonderful. The supper menu was more then reasonably priced and the portions were huge. I highly recommend the "Beer Battered Fish", as it was delicious! Our room was cozy, and everyone is just so friendly. It is our go to place to stay when traveling to Halifax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine at the restaurant, and you will be more then pleased with the quality, the portions and the price!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megmal
Wedgeport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Aug 31, 2013

Excellent stay!

Our first choice in hotels when staying in Halifax. Close to the downtown, the hospitals, and to shopping in Bayers Lake. We had a drive-up room, which was perfect for my daughter who is blind. Easily accessible for her from car to room. The breakfast was delicious, with a great variery of choices. Always a pleasure to stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bayers Lake close by for shopping, dining and entertainment!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LFCREC
Kansas City, MO
Aug 22, 2013

A Real Value

The BWPCLH proved to be a real value! It was an easy and direct drive from downtown Halifax. There was ample parking and easy to get in and out. Our room was not spacious but comfortable and clean. It was a quiet and lovely setting beside the lake. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, and in nicer weather the outdoor dining deck would have been lovely. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new maritimer
charlottetown, pei
Aug 18, 2013

family getaway

it was very pleasant. clean rooms. good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

peggys cove

Back to menu Return to top

Change search