$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

2 stars
View map of 10 Portland at Main St, St John, NB E2K 4H8

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
11 reviews
Great hotel

Great hotel for the price. Close to the port where I had a tour. See full review

  • My did cats name is inkwe
  • Aug 12, 2014
good place to stay

cant get any better great location with great staff... See full review

  • midnitesoldier
  • Feb 23, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center conveniently located near Saint John Airport. Visit Old City Market for fresh food and handmade goods, or visit the historic Forts Howe and La Tour. Learn about dinosaurs at New Brunswick Museum, or see plays and concerts at Imperial Theatre both just minutes away. The Saint John Trade and Convention Center is nearby. Wake up refreshed to a complimentary made-to-order breakfast at the 24hour onsite restaurant or by room service. Host social or business events in the meeting rooms and reception hall. Jump start your day in the fitness centre, or unwind in the heated indoor pool. Relax as you watch the 32-inch flat-screen TV in your comfortable guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Microwaves and refrigerators are available in select rooms, and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mmlord1980
Business
Utopia NB
Nov 18, 2014

Night out with the kids

My family and I stayed for the evening to enjoy the parade and hotel amenities. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We felt the rooms are very out dated.Scratchy tub, no fans in the bathroom and old beds with the springs made it very uncomfortable. Restaurant was wonderful. We were unable to enjoy the complimentary breakfast as the wait time to get in the dining room was well over 30 minutes. We will probably not return to this location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cost efficient and great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NateP
Business
Maine
Sep 22, 2014

Horrible

from the moment i walked in the room till i reached the bed, the carpet was dirty with trash all over the place, you can tell housekeeping didn't even vacuum. the room also smelled nasty. i stay in a lot of hotels because i travel for work and this was the worst experience ever! i have stayed in little rinky dink motels in the saint john area that were better kept and much nicer than this hotel. i left the next day and checked into the best western

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My did cats name is inkwe
Business
Halifax
Aug 12, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel for the price. Close to the port where I had a tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A`25 minute walk to the port!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midnitesoldier
Business
toronto on
Feb 23, 2014

good place to stay

cant get any better great location with great staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich Musicman
Business
Central Connecticut
Feb 17, 2013

Great for family gatherings

The made-to-order breakfast, included with your room, was great; the free shuttle to/from the airport is a must for those arriving by air; and close to the Harbour Passage walkway to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great views of St. John. Can walk to the Old Market uptown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neicee
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 14, 2012

A little disappointing

I had to switch rooms on day 2 of 4. Therefore I can offer comments on both rooms. The rooms have not been updated since 1970. The bath room tile was old and cracked. There was not an exhaust fan in the bathrooms. However what it lacked in amenities it made up in a superior staff. Free breakfast and various free dinner nights was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car. Taxi service is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jyringis
Business
rochdale, ma, usa
Aug 11, 2011

Nice lobby and lower level.

The hotel lobby has been updated, as well as the dining room and lower level restrooms. Guest rooms, however, are in much need of a remake, some chairs with very worn upholstery. Stepping off the elevator, there is a very institutional feeling. Painting the guest room doors would do much to improve this area. Our bathroom showed much wear and tear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is close to waterfront and pier areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Oct 14, 2009

Good hotel at a decent price

We came here the first time upon finding that everything else in town was full. We were surprised to find that this older hotel had been pretty much refurbished and was actually pretty nice. It is convenient to downtown and to the ferry. The second time we stayed here we were able to book on [...] and saved a lot over the previous price. Our room was even nicer and had a great view of the harbor. Overall I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy Michigan
Aug 19, 2009

Just OK

The rooms are rather shabby and the bathroom had rust stains. It was clean, but just run-down. The restaurant was busy and we waited a long time to get our meal as there was a new cook. The one good thing about the hotel is the spectacular view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza And Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beckley, West Virginia
Jul 10, 2009

Nice Hotel, convient and reasonable

Clean, comfortable and very convient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

xxx

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top