$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

4 stars
222 Broadway Avenue, Winnipeg, MB R3C0R3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
24 reviews
Fantastic place to be there

Very good hotel , clean room , nice staff and good service See full review

  • SuperDuperNurse
  • Jun 6, 2014
Fantastic first Winnipeg experience

Beautiful classy old hotel that has been updated and I would highly recommend to anyone. Superior... See full review

  • Royal1949
  • Apr 26, 2014
The Fort Garry Hotel is a national historic site located downtown within minutes of most major attractions. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms featuring: wireless high-speed internet, plush Turkish cotton towels & bathrobes and exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets, and fine Italian linens. Two full service restaurants, including full hot breakfast (not included). Other amenities: fully equipped fitness centre with indoor pool and indoor jogging track, 24-hour complimentary coffee, tea, and cookie delivery to all guestrooms. Expereince TEN our world-class luxury SPA, with exclusive co-ed Turkish Hamam and YOGA PUBLIC - Canada's largest yoga playground with more than 110 classes a week. Please note: If you have no credit card available on check in then a deposit of $250 per stay is due in cash on arrival.

Hotel Map

49.8882 -97.137
Area served
Winnipeg
Nearby airports
James Richardson International Airport - 7km. Taxi fare approximately $16.
Area description
They are located in the heart of downtown Winnipeg. We are within 5 minutes of all major downtown attractions including: the MTS Centre, Forks Market, the Canadian Museum of Human Rights, the Centennial Concert Hall, the Manitoba Museum, shopping centers and the Winnipeg Convention Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen offers a large Queen bed with exquisite bed ensemble featuring feather mattress, down duvets/pillows, and fine Italian linens. Complimentary coffee/tea, cookies, apples, & newspaper delivered to your guestroom during your stay.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King offers a large King bed with exquisite bed ensemble featuring feather mattress, down duvet/pillows, and fine Italian linens. Complimentary coffee/tea, cookies, apples, & newspaper delivered to your guestroom during your stay.
Deluxe Double
Deluxe Double offers a large room with two double beds with suitable for two adults, or a family with two children. This room features exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvet/pillows, and fine Italian linens. Complimentary coffee/tea, cookies, apples, & newspaper delivered to your guestroom during your stay.
Executive Suites
Executive Suites feature one King bedroom and a sofa bed leading to a living/dining room. Suite features exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvet/pillows, and fine Italian linens. Complimentary coffee/tea, cookies, apples, & newspaper delivered to your guestroom during your stay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • MTS Centre: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fort Garry Hotel Spa & Conference Centre. We will attend your guests in luxurious elegance, from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600, with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, off-site catering and Winnipeg's only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry.

Dining

Palm Lounge
The Palm Lounge is open to hotel guests and the public, for lunch, dinner, and late night dining as well as for drinks, live local jazz performances nightly, and a variety of light culinary fare
The Gallery
If you are on the go while staying with us or have a craving for a special snack, The Gallery Deli and Gift Shop is perfect for confectionaries and grab-n-go snacks.
Broadway Room
The Fort Garry Hotel is known for its hearty breakfast served buffet style in elegant surroundings. It is the perfect spot for a power breakfast meeting, a leisurely morning meal during your vacation, or to get a hot breakfast before flying home. Food is served chef to guest through chef stations.
Room Service
Hotel guests are able to order room service 24-hour a day

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 24
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gerdes
Swan Lake
Dec 26, 2013

Old-school.

Great location for downtown. Very good value $10 breakfast. Older hotel but very well maintained. Staff great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
North Carolina
Aug 28, 2013

very short walk from VIA Rail station

Can't beat this hotel's convenience if you're arriving or departing Winnipeg on the Canadian. Staff were proactive about getting our bags up the entry stairs--especially good since one of us walks with a cane and can't manage suitcases on stairs. Fabulous breakfast (for substantial savings, pay for this when you check in, if it's not already included in your room rate). Very comfortable bed. Older property but in very good repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mpls Mother
Minneapolis, mn
May 20, 2013

Always impressed!

We always have a great experience at Fort Gary. The hotel has old world charm with modern amenities. Luxury bedding, attentive staff, very clean, chic spa and a giant Sunday brunch feast! Even if you don't eat the brunch it's fun to walk through and at least feast your eyes on it :) We stayed as a family with an infant and a toddler but, have just as great a time on a romantic stay for just my husband and I. Location is great, easy access to all of Winnipeg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Platzido
Boston, MA
Feb 21, 2010

Needs Updating...

Attracted by the gorgeous facade and prime location to the Forks area, I decided to spend an evening at the Fort Garry with my 3 year old daughter after a return trip from the US. The lobby area and restaurant/bar were very nice, but our mid-priced room was outdated and shabby for the price. Old-school floral wallpaper was peeling in many places and the mish-mash of office-building style "antique" furniture and fixtures was in poor shape with many dents and chipped exterior surfaces. The carpet was old and stained, and the bathroom had a few updated fixtures but felt very dated and uninviting. The positive exception was the extremely comfortable feather bed which was a pleasure to be in. Another reason we chose the hotel was the advertised pool and fitness center. Unfortunately the fitness center and pool are a separately-owned facility in an adjoining building that wasn't accessible from the hotel at the time. The pool facility is not conveniently accessed from the hotel and, like our room, was dated and needed an upgrade. During checkout, I had to wait for the receptionist to finish a personal call before we were attended to. On a previous trip to Winnipeg I stayed at the Fairmont downtown for a few days and found that to be superior accommodations in all respects to the Fort Garry. In the future, I'll always stay at the Fairmont over the Fort Garry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Fort Garry Hotel Spa and Conference Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Platzido
Boston, MA
Feb 21, 2010

Needs Updating...

Attracted by the gorgeous facade and prime location to the Forks area, I decided to spend an evening at the Fort Garry with my 3 year old daughter after a return trip from the US. The lobby area and restaurant/bar were very nice, but our mid-priced room was outdated and shabby for the price. Old-school floral wallpaper was peeling in many places and the mish-mash of office-building style "antique" furniture and fixtures was in poor shape with many dents and chipped exterior surfaces. The carpet was old and stained, and the bathroom had a few updated fixtures but felt very dated and uninviting. The positive exception was the extremely comfortable feather bed which was a pleasure to be in. Another reason we chose the hotel was the advertised pool and fitness center. Unfortunately the fitness center and pool are a separately-owned facility in an adjoining building that wasn't accessible from the hotel at the time. The pool facility is not conveniently accessed from the hotel and, like our room, was dated and needed an upgrade. During checkout, I had to wait for the receptionist to finish a personal call before we were attended to. On a previous trip to Winnipeg I stayed at the Fairmont downtown for a few days and found that to be superior accommodations in all respects to the Fort Garry. In the future, I'll always stay at the Fairmont over the Fort Garry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top