$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Blackcomb Lodge

3 stars
4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, BC VON 1B4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
20 reviews
Fantastic location

Great location, friendly staff and good amenities. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. I would... See full review

  • Aj78
  • Sep 27, 2014
Good location in the village

Check in at 4:00 p.m is later than I would have wanted and 10:00 a.m. was a bit early.... See full review

  • Debbie the travel planner
  • Nov 26, 2012
The newly renovated Blackcomb Lodge overlooks the main square of Whistler Village one block from the Whistler and Blackcomb Mountain ski lifts. Built in 1982, this classic 3 star hotel is still a favorite because of its central location and excellent service. Both studio and studio loft units provide a fully equipped kitchen. All guest rooms feature flat screen tvs/DVD players. Free wireless internet is available in the lobby and in all guest rooms. The property features an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The address of the hotel is 4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, BC V0N 1B4 Canada, Ph: 604-935-1177, Fax: 604-932-6826.

Hotel Map

50.1157 -122.9559
Area served
Whistler.
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport (YVR)120 KM.
Area description
Whistler Mountain - 200yds, Blackcomb Mountain - 200yds, Garibaldi Prov. Park - 20km, Alta Lake - 2km, Whistler Creekside - 2km, Lost Lake - 2km, Whistler Golf Course - 1km, Nicholas North Golf Course - 4km, Chateau Golf Course - 1km, Whistler Conference Center - 100yds.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blackcomb Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Blackcomb Lodge Rooms

Standard
This room has 1 king bed or 2 twin beds. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and the LCD TV offers cable channels. A coffee/tea maker, a microwave, and a refrigerator are supplied. The private bathroom has a shower/tub combination, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. A safe, a laptop-compatible safe, and an iron and ironing board (on request) are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Loft
This room has 1 king bed or 2 twin beds and 1 sofabed in open-air loft. Room includes sitting area, fully equipped kitchen, remote control cable TV (flatscreen), DVD player, free WiFi, in-room safe and hair dryer. Some rooms have balconies. This room is Non-Smoking.
Studio
This room has 1 queen bed and 1 sofabed, a sitting area, fully equipped kitchen, remote control cable TV (flatscreen), DVD player, free WiFi, in-room safe and hair dryer. Some rooms have balconies. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Araxis
Open Noon To Close. Dress Code Smart Casual. Continental/Pacific Northwestern Food.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Blackcomb Lodge

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 20
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eberhardt
Anchorage Ak
Jun 13, 2013

Staff was inept

Most uncomfortable bed in Whistler. They placed my daughter and i in a corner/oblong/slender room with no light. One king bed. When i called down and reminded them i needed two beds, they said they would send someone up to divide the bed. Apparently the Lodge got a deal on beds that can part from a king into two double beds. No outlets anywhere to be found and the lighting in bath along with plumbing was horrible. The only thing that kept this place afloat was the location in the village and the cool shopping right outside. Oh yea.Parking a car is $15+ a day in a dark basement and the pool was nasty..also in basement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jumping john
portland, or
Feb 20, 2013

average hotel, extremely loud

I'm sure many people come to Whistler year after year and know exactly where to stay for the things they want in a ski vacation. For those who are coming for the first time, be aware that Whistler Village is active! If you want to ski all day and party into the night, this is a great place for you, but if you are on a family trip with kids, beware. We arrived late, probably midnight, after a long drive. After some difficulty finding our reservation (made through this site), we finally got to our room (1st floor corner, facing the square) and got to sleep for about 1 hour when the music got loud enough to wake us; not faintly in the distance, but right under the window, thumping bass. This ended when the clubs closed, probably around 2am, when everyone in the club gathered right outside and continued to party for another hour, at the tops of their lungs. We asked to be moved, and to their credit, the staff accommodated us the next day. The 1-2am music continued to be audible, but somewhat less so, and we no longer had to hear the crowd in the square afterward. Perhaps the hotel should make guests aware of this in advance. Another factor adding to the noise problem at the Lodge was the fact that the walls are paper-thin. While not as big an issue as the music/crowd noise, this was a bit of an annoyance due to our neighbor's extremely audible love of hockey. Overall, the hotel was average in most ways, mostly staffed by very young seasonal employees who are cheerful and nice, but somewhat out of their depth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Mexican Corner restaurant - price is in line with most other restaurants in the village, but the quality is high!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie the travel planner
Hawaii
Nov 26, 2012

Good location in the village

Check in at 4:00 p.m is later than I would have wanted and 10:00 a.m. was a bit early. Accomodations and service were overall good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debbie the travel planner
Hawaii
Nov 26, 2012

Good location.

Check in at 4:00 p.m. would have been better at 3:00 p.m. and check out is a bit early at 10:00 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beingaware
Texas, usa
Dec 30, 2011

did not get value for money

The front desk staff were friendly and informative. However, the cleaning staff were sorely lacking in keeping up with the daily cleanup; trash was not emptied, toiletries were not replenished, bathrooms were not cleaned. In the US, every hotel we stayed at those chores were done on a daily basis. Overall, the rooms did not reflect the value we paid. The positive --location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bearfoot Bistro--beware of the prices. A 3 course meal will cost you minimum $98.00 excluding taxes and tips. if you have water they charge you a DONATION of $6.00/person. An entree alone is minimum $55.00 with a markup (supplement) of $10-$50.00 for most entree. The food and presentation was good but not that good !! In all, a dinner will cost you an average of $150.00/person. Having this information beforehand lends itself to a more enjoyable meal if you so choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
x15man
Seattle, Washington
Dec 6, 2011

Great for a short weekend

Staff was very helpful. Room clean and could not be more conveniently located. Travelled here for a short weekend with two kids. Walk to lifts is only a few short minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Dec 2, 2010

Whistler's backcomb lodge

Skiing & dining & used pool & hot tub. Great location as we stepped outside into the village square where the kids could play in a huge pile of snow. The only problem was a party one night that went late in a nearby room. Other than that it was a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Earls was a lively place with a wide variety of menu items although no kids menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Protezhe
Portland, Oregon
Nov 28, 2010

Okay option

No cribs provided, no Internet, half of the rooms facing very loud pub area with 2am noise making sleeping impossible Relatively comfortable suites with all the needed amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Sep 8, 2009

Just OK

Blackcomb Lodge was simple to find and the location was dead central in the main village. Walk out the door and you are there. As great as this aspect was, it also made for huge night tilme noise as we were of course over top of party central!! We were tired so it didn't really keep us up. The studio was laid out nicely and the room was basically clean enough, however there was some disgusting kind of dried (baby sick?) on the duvet cover so I asked for that to be changed while we were out for dinner. The next night when we got into bed, the undersheet was still disheveled under the duvet. I just felt that the housekeeping staff did the bare minimum. I don't think the hallway carpets ever gets cleaned. Apparently they recently renovated, but I think it is the same old carpet...huge stains and debris everywhere. The pool was a big dissapointment being located just inside the door of the underground parking...creepy!! Parking was normally OK, you pay $13./day but there isn't really any guarantee that there will be space for you to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top