$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
919 Douglas St, Victoria, BC V8W 2C2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
6 reviews
Strathcona Review

The Strath is a very entertaining place to stay. It is located within walking distance to the heart... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 4, 2011
I like this place.

The hotel is located at the center of victoria downtown so that my friend and I could walk around... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 23, 2011
The Strathcona Hotel is in an excellent location and provides wonderful accommodation Victorias most entertaining hotel features the Sticky Wicket pub and restaurant the Clubhouse Grillroom and Lounge Big Bad Johns Hillbilly bar and 9 one 9 Nightclub Good rooms at great rates in an excellent location make this a hard to beat value - Free continental breakfast - Wi-Fi -high-speed internet

Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Standard
2 twin beds full bath phone color cable tv
Standard
Standard 1 Queen - Standard Room with 1 Queen bed full bath phone color cable tv. All rooms non-smoking all rooms include Continental Breakfast.
Standard
Standard 2 Queens - 2 Queen Beds full bath cable tv mini-fridge wired high-speed internet. All rooms non-smoking all rooms include Continental Breakfast.
Standard
Standard 2 Twins - Standard Room-2 twin beds full bath phone color cable tv. All rooms non-smoking all rooms include Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.4234 -123.3657
Nearby airports
Victoria Intl Airport, (YYJ), 17.00, KM, N;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Rooftop Patio
May - Sept

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Seattle
May 4, 2011

Strathcona Review

The Strath is a very entertaining place to stay. It is located within walking distance to the heart of Victoria's waterfront attractions. There are several wonderful eating facilities to choose from in the hotel, and the prices are very reasonable. They even have two sand volleyball courts on the roof! The room we got, however, was very small, and the beds were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spot for nearby entertainment!

Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
The Other Guy
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 3, 2012

How do I book a room with two beds and get a closet with one bed?

Upon check-in I was told that since I was a single person and only needed one bed, it would be okay for me to stay in a room with one bed. I said only if I got an upgrade. I was given a single bed-room next to the elevator. I was up all night because of the noise and foot traffic. Plus the room was about 120 sq ft. total. This is not an upgrade. I also missed the ferry the night before so I wasn't able to check in until the morning. I had to wait until they found a clean room for me. I had reserved the room the night before why wasn't I given the room they had reserved for me the night before? why did it take an extra 10 minutes for me to get checked in? Other than that the location is great and if you don't mind cleanliness this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

1
TwinOtterpilot
Business
Nanaimo, BC
May 20, 2011

don't do it

Well...upon check in they told me they [...] didn't have my reservation. After some discussion I checked into a small room that smelt of cat urine. There was someone else's hair in the bed. The walls are paper thin and you can hear other people in the bathroom like they are right beside you. Other than that the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Seattle
May 4, 2011

Strathcona Review

The Strath is a very entertaining place to stay. It is located within walking distance to the heart of Victoria's waterfront attractions. There are several wonderful eating facilities to choose from in the hotel, and the prices are very reasonable. They even have two sand volleyball courts on the roof! The room we got, however, was very small, and the beds were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spot for nearby entertainment!

Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
NY
Apr 23, 2011

I like this place.

The hotel is located at the center of victoria downtown so that my friend and I could walk around the downtown anytime. And the breakfast is good and the staffs are also really nice. I really like this place. The room was a little bit old but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chilliwack, BC
Jun 7, 2010

Excellent.

Very friendly and helpful. Answered all our ?'s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mini golf course and the beach.

Review of Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
mazdagirl%9
puyallup wa
Jul 14, 2009

the good the bad the ugly

Overall i have had better stays at a 2 star.Apart from the location,cont breakfast and historical value ,this hotel is not a 3 star.Room 507 is awfull,the bathroom was so tiny and grottie,in disrepair,nasty bath that needs recaulking today if not sooner,generally the room was dismal.No tea/coffee makers in the rooms,no closet or hangers just 3 hooks for 2 adults.Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take coat hangers,kettle,iron

Back to menu Return to top