$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

2 stars
310 Gorge Rd, Victoria, BC V8T 2W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
14 reviews
Great hotel

Great hotel! Not far from the city. The hotel is new and very clean. The hotel staff esp Richard is... See full review

  • Marikit
  • Jun 14, 2014
Ho Jo Hotel Review

Hotel was great. I don't mind being "off the beaten track" as it's always less expensive and I like... See full review

  • Shelley On the Go
  • Jun 20, 2011
ALL OUR ROOMS ARE SMOKE FREE The Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria is located 1 mile from the heart of downtown Victoria, on the Gorge Waterway. The Hotel is well situated to all downtown attractions and easily accessible by car, water taxi or via the Galloping Goose cycling/walking trail. We are also only 2 blocks from Mayfair Shopping Mall. Guests at the Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria appreciate amenities such as a Full Service Restaurant and Pub, an Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna and Fitness Room, Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access, and Free Computer Access in lobby. Pet friendly - contact hotel for details.

Hotel Map

48.4429 -123.3794
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2.7
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zilch
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 18, 2011

old but well maintained and comfortable

a little our of the city but excellent parking one block from Tim Horton's 24 hr. coffee shop expensive breakfast buffet on weekend sparse but ok booked first two nights from Orbitz but had to pay 25% more for an additional night and move to a different room which meant pack up and go away from 11AM to 3 PM Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tim Horton's Coffee Shop in next block open 24/7 and a super treat beakfast sandwich plus freshest best donuts and croissants any place

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aaron Canada
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Jul 3, 2014

Uncomfortable

At check in, it started with the staff licking our hotel room card right before she handed it to us. But other than that, they were nice and helpful. It was clean but the hotel stunk overall. Our room was cleaned daily, but the bed was uncomfortable. Worst shower I have ever been in. Once the temperature was set to warm, it still switched from ice cold to burning hot, then back to warm and repeat. Honestly, I wished I had stayed somewhere else, the hotel made my entire trip less enjoyable because we would always dread going back to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marikit
Cali
Jun 14, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel! Not far from the city. The hotel is new and very clean. The hotel staff esp Richard is very friendly and accommodating. They have hot Buffet breakfast. Not one bad thjng to say about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marj and Son
Central NY
Jun 19, 2013

A little far out

The hotel was clean and pleasant, with a very good staff. It is not walkable, to downtown. However, there is a bus that will take you there. The hotel dining room is not open until 11 am, but there are restaurants within walking distance. Since we went to the gardens, we found it easier to rent a car. Rental companies will pick you up at the ferry terminal and take you to their shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is no breakfast available at the hotel. Two restaurants are within comfortable walking distance, though. Ask at the desk. If you don't have a car the #11 bus will get you dowtown.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
222 Who's Who
Hillsboro Oregon
May 19, 2012

Rude crude socially unacceptable staff!

We reserved a room pet friendly with a kingsize bed! Got: double bed! No shower curtain! Bed slept in before! 2 towels - 3 people! 4 day stay of chaosis! Lying staff! Offers to pay cash in exchange for upgrade i already paid for! Rude service! Alot of harrasement!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5th street bar and grill Excellant!

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zilch
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 18, 2011

old but well maintained and comfortable

a little our of the city but excellent parking one block from Tim Horton's 24 hr. coffee shop expensive breakfast buffet on weekend sparse but ok booked first two nights from Orbitz but had to pay 25% more for an additional night and move to a different room which meant pack up and go away from 11AM to 3 PM Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tim Horton's Coffee Shop in next block open 24/7 and a super treat beakfast sandwich plus freshest best donuts and croissants any place

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jun 29, 2011

Great for the budget traveler

Got it for a lot less than any other hotel in the area. I only use a hotel for sleeping so it was fine - quiet rooms - but ask for a top floor room or a room away from the parking lot - one side of the second floor actually lines up directly with the lot. It's just over a mile from downtown with a bus stop near by. There is a recreation trail just across from it for a nice walk next to the water or along a tree lined paved trail. The hotel staff was very friendly and the restaurant had "Texas Hold 'em", "Magic Bingo" and "Karaoke" nights. Hotel doesn't appear to have been remodeled since the 70's. Free internet in the lobby was a good bonus. If you can get this hotel for a deal, it is well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelley On the Go
Vancouver BC
Jun 20, 2011

Ho Jo Hotel Review

Hotel was great. I don't mind being "off the beaten track" as it's always less expensive and I like to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
west
Aug 20, 2010

Hotel with out own Resturant

Every thing is good but we didn't find food in house they says they have Restaurant but we find that Restaurant is not own by Hotel and the staff & owners of that restaurant there a not frinedly and helpful to us that one is useless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cheap Room Rates, Microwave & Fridge

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas Galveston
Jun 24, 2010

A bit out of the way

Saw all the sights. The Hotel was a bit to far from the downtown. The trip was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HermanusG
Germany
Sep 2, 2009

Nice Hotel, good value for money

Good vlaue for money, short driving distance to the center of town, only breakfast service and bar closed in the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

- Vistoria very nice location, atmosphere relaxed, BC Museum impressive

Back to menu Return to top

Change search