$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Chateau Victoria Hotel

4 stars
740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, BC V8W 1B2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
29 reviews
Festive Victoria

Made to feel very welcome by the staff. Has a real feel about it. Received a free room upgrade... See full review

  • Alfie
  • Dec 24, 2013
Great pre Christmas Visit

We had a great 4 nights at the hotel. Staff we're extremely helpful and accommodating. Received a... See full review

  • Alfie
  • Dec 20, 2013
Chateau Victoria is one of Victoria's finest hotels. We offer customers affordable four star elegance in the heart of downtown. We're just minutes away from the Victoria Conference Centre, the Inner Harbour, and all of Victoria's favorite downtown destinations. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, the Chateau Victoria will meet all your needs with the kind of service that only an independently owned and operated hotel can provide. We are a 100% non smoking hotel and offer complimentary wireless high speed internet access.

Please note that the rate for parking is $15 per night per vehicle.

Hotel Map

48.422 -123.3647
Area served
Victoria
Nearby airports
Victoria International Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Victoria Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Chateau Victoria Hotel Rooms

Traditional Room
Traditional guestroom with two double beds. Recently remodeled, these are air conditioned rooms located on the second to fourth floors. Includes complimentary wireless highspeed internet and local calls.
Junior Suite
Located on the fifth floor of the hotel are our Junior Suites featuring one queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out couch in the living area. Each of these tastefully decorated suites include full bathroom, two televisions, a/c unit, and a balcony. Also included is complimentary wireless highspeed internet and local calls.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suites with two queen beds or one king bed and a sofa bed. Located on the sixth through fifteenth floors, these spacious suites have balconies offering city or water views. Each tastefully decorated suite features a mini fridge, a/c unit, and two televisions. Includes complimentary wireless highspeed internet and local calls.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Clive's Classic Lounge
Clive's Classic Lounge, named after hotel owner Clive Piercy, defines modern elegance while embracing the unique and distinctive qualities of the hotel and its owner. Staying true to our roots, the dcor is rich, warm and welcoming and 'Clive's' is sure to become a second living room for its neighbours, an oasis for hotel guests and a new bright spot for the Victoria culinary scene.
Vista 18
Vista 18, Victoria's only rooftop restaurant, offers a memorable dining experience from the 18th floor! Vista 18 features spectacular views of Victoria's busy Inner Harbour, the snow-capped Olympic Mountain range, impressive Mount Baker, the Pacific's Strait of Georgia and beautiful downtown Victoria. The modern, comfortable dcor allows you to enjoy a menu focusing on free range, organic and local products. Letting the food speak for itself with clean natural flavours and down to earth prices. The sleek lounge offers a tempting martini list, or try one of the locally-brewed beers we have on tap. Dine to the sublime sounds of live entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings. Move on up and visit Vista 18 for breakfast, lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Victoria Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 29
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RKrupp
Granite Bay, California
Dec 13, 2013

Perfect hotel

We visit Victoria several times every year. Sometimes we stay at the Chateau Victoria. They have remodeled the lobby and some of the rooms. Everything looks great. The staff and services are always perfect. We will being staying here again soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of our favorite breakfast places in Victoria include, Johns Place, Floyd's Diner, Cuppa Joes, Kady Marmalade, Blue Fox, and QV Bakery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geeman cee
North Vancouver, BC
Jan 28, 2013

Four stars?

I like the location and the food served thru room service was above average. The lobby was under construction (a temporary hinderance) and the room was surprisingly small, especially the bathroom. This room didn't feel four star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJonthego
Los Angeles
Dec 31, 2012

Great hotel with equally as great location and staff!

My wife and I were very happy with our stay at this hotel. We took the bus in and it was an easy walk from the bus stop, as well as to the visitor's centre, the inner harbor and Government street and all of the shops and restaurants that abound around there. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver was great and was ready to take us nearly anywhere we wanted to go in the nearby neighborhoods. We enjoyed some latin jazz in the rooftop restauranr Vista 18. The prices are reasonable, as all rooftop restaurants tend to be much more expensive in my experience. We had a huge deck outside and the junior suite felt like home (my wife's words and she is much pickier about hotels than I am). I would definitely recommend this hotel. We used a promo code, but even without the discount, it was very worth the price and my wife and I were both very happy with it. They had a nice workout room and pool/jacuzzi, which we did not take advantage of. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are not bringing a car, definitely plan some of the things you want to do in advance. There is a lot to do in Victoria city, however the Gardens and some other attractions are 30 minute drive or hour bus ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sandydc
miami
Sep 18, 2011

worst hotel stay.

horrible second floor room. for the price even with a discount i wish i had stayed somewhere else. the lobby was nice but the floor i was on should never had guests on it. carpet in hallways was disgusting and laundry room and employee offices on this floor. people shutting doors at 3 am loudly. pay more and stay either on higher floor or somewhere else. good central location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

butchart gardens and butterly gardens are nice. appx 20 min drive. park close to ferries was beautiful. dining at restaurant in hotel was unexpectedly good with good service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noblepair
East Bay Area, California
Aug 24, 2011

dark room, comfy beds

We wanted to sleep in so having a dark, quiet room was important and this room (3rd floor toward the rear) was perfect. The beds and linens were great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful bar staff and terrific 360 views of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kathnlar
Redmond, WA
Feb 10, 2011

We'll likely return to this hotel

Great location, within walking distance to everything we wanted to see during this stay. Very clean, convenient parking. Will likely stay there again in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Suggest visitors try lesser advertised restaurants as food quality is at least as good, lower priced, better atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nanaimo B.C.
Dec 26, 2010

Good location for the price.

The only thing that would have made my visit more enjoyable was not having the baby crying above us both nights. Our previous trip we had a beautiful view of Victoria this time we looked out our window to another building and our bed was not made for us the first night. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous view of Victoria from the restaurant and the service was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Sep 10, 2010

Nice Except for the Noise

Overall very nice except for the endless street noise throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Aug 17, 2010

One nighter in Victoria...

Aug, 2010... Two couples traveling with 3 motorcycles, a car and a small dog. We booked two rooms. For one reason or another one room got upgraded to a suite up on the 15th floor which was very nice. However that left the other couple on the 2nd floor in a "back corner" adjacent to the building's air conditioning unit. That was was loud and disturbing whenever it began running. Luckily we were only staying one night, on our way to the BC mainland. The hotel was busy that night and the parking was nearly full. The hotel made room for our motorbikes in the area near the bicycle rack and told us to use the owner's reserved spot for the car. The location of the hotel was very good relative to the harbor and the government center. Very convenient to walk around and see some of the attractions. However, going to Victoria in August and on BC Day weekend means you are visiting at the height of the tourist season. Lots of people and and some less than reasonable prices for meals in the area. Not knowing any better we had a very good, but expensive, meal in a local establishment that clearly caters to the tourism industry. The following morning we had a much more reasonably priced breakfast. Only staying the one night it's hard to give a comprehensive review. Other than the inequity in the rooms for our band of travelers. The hotel was very accommodating and pleasant. Yes I would send friends to the Chateau Victoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many eateries in the area, but can become expensive very quickly. Be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas/Fort Worth..North Texas area
Jul 16, 2010

Great location

Hotel van was available to pick us up at the Victoria Clipper when we arrived and was able to return us to the Clipper for departure. (can't reserve van...first come, first serve system) Beautiful view from the hotel restaurant and great food. Recommend the 2 day hop on/ hop off bus pass. Take the full 90 minute loop at first and get a layout of the city and all the stops. Then start your on/off excursions. Drivers were very helpful with suggestions. You can really walk to most areas from the hotel. We were the only ones on the bus a couple of times and they dropped us right at the hotel. Very friendly hotel staff..clean rooms and updated bath areas...received a free upgrade upon check in (they allowed an early check in to accommodate our early arrival...so much nicer than storing luggage and having to come back). Victoria was having a heat wave (from Texans- it wasn't hot at all) our room's air conditioner handled the slightly warmer temperatures without a problem. You can use your US dollars, but your change comes as Canadian money. Credit cards are a great way to go...not many take Discover. Don't miss Buchart Gardens. The free tour of the Parliament building was well done and took about 30 minutes.(Be certain to see it lighted at night.) The Visitor Info Center has lots of helpful info...on the wharf and not far from the hotel. We had breakfast a couple of times at Sam's Deli. (across from the Visitor Center) If you like eggs bendict and want to eat outside by the water, check out The Flying Otter (hidden away by the planes on the dock). As Texans, we were able to get our Tex-Mex food fix at Cafe Mexico. In Texas,at Mexican restaurants, the chips and salsa arrive as soon as you are seated and they are not a separate charge..just come with your meal. Here, you order them as a separate item. However, we were so happy to find a Mexican meal this far from home, we didn't care and we'll appreciate our local home restaurants all the more. Wharfside restaurant..great view and helpful wait staff..a wonderful meal. Terrific vacation...friendly, friendly city... lovely hotel with terrific location. Will recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Visitor's Info Center...lots to do and they have answers and suggestions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search