$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Chateau Victoria Hotel

4 stars
View map of 740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, BC V8W 1B2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Victoria Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Victoria BC stay
Family
Victoria, CA
Feb 27, 2011

Victoria BC

Great service! Nothing too great at the hotel, like no affordable restaurant and no gift shop. It was near the water and great shops, so that was really great. The room was lovely, but I'll probably pick a hotel with a balcony next time. This was a great stay and I had a really nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shops, China Town and the water/vistor centre are really close! That made it so nice to not have to bus or cab anywhere. Starbucks and great cafes were everywhere!

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kathnlar
Couples
Redmond, WA
Feb 10, 2011

We'll likely return to this hotel

Great location, within walking distance to everything we wanted to see during this stay. Very clean, convenient parking. Will likely stay there again in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Suggest visitors try lesser advertised restaurants as food quality is at least as good, lower priced, better atmosphere.

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Nanaimo B.C.
Dec 26, 2010

Good location for the price.

The only thing that would have made my visit more enjoyable was not having the baby crying above us both nights. Our previous trip we had a beautiful view of Victoria this time we looked out our window to another building and our bed was not made for us the first night. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous view of Victoria from the restaurant and the service was good.

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Running Mel
Family
Vancouver, BC
Oct 10, 2010

Great Location

Was in town for the Victoria Half/Full Marathon so it was a busy weekend. Check in was quick and the central location made it easy to get around the city (and to and from the start line). Rooms were comfortable and clean and the hot tub was perfect post race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
The Big Island
Oct 10, 2010

Great location & spacious rooms!

Great location just off downtown. Walls thin and hallway noise easily heard. Interior somewhat tired. Beds nice and good pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington
Sep 10, 2010

Nice Except for the Noise

Overall very nice except for the endless street noise throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charly'nTracy
Family
Burlington, WA
Aug 28, 2010

Wonderful hotel

From the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated to a wonderful visit. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It was a short walk to most all Victoria's harbor-side and downtown attractions. There were many restaurants in the area. We parked our car and walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Portland, OR
Aug 17, 2010

One nighter in Victoria...

Aug, 2010... Two couples traveling with 3 motorcycles, a car and a small dog. We booked two rooms. For one reason or another one room got upgraded to a suite up on the 15th floor which was very nice. However that left the other couple on the 2nd floor in a "back corner" adjacent to the building's air conditioning unit. That was was loud and disturbing whenever it began running. Luckily we were only staying one night, on our way to the BC mainland. The hotel was busy that night and the parking was nearly full. The hotel made room for our motorbikes in the area near the bicycle rack and told us to use the owner's reserved spot for the car. The location of the hotel was very good relative to the harbor and the government center. Very convenient to walk around and see some of the attractions. However, going to Victoria in August and on BC Day weekend means you are visiting at the height of the tourist season. Lots of people and and some less than reasonable prices for meals in the area. Not knowing any better we had a very good, but expensive, meal in a local establishment that clearly caters to the tourism industry. The following morning we had a much more reasonably priced breakfast. Only staying the one night it's hard to give a comprehensive review. Other than the inequity in the rooms for our band of travelers. The hotel was very accommodating and pleasant. Yes I would send friends to the Chateau Victoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many eateries in the area, but can become expensive very quickly. Be prepared.

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recent empty nesters
Family
Seattle. Wa
Aug 9, 2010

Great experience!

Great hotel with a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Parking - What a value!

Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nightontheroad
Friends
Portland, OR
Aug 7, 2010

Welcoming and adequate

Very friendly staff - particularly the shuttle driver who really seems to enjoy his job and the desk staff, who have a tough job at times dealing with so many types of people. Hotel location was great - easy walking distance to all downtown sites and to city bus. Amenities and decor were tasteful. Beds were comfortable.Felt it was overpriced however. Room small and laid out a bit strangely - the toilet paper holder was nearly beyond reach for example which I've never run into before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus to Buchart Gardens instead of a tour bus - cost $2.50 each way. Takes about 45 minutes but you see parts of the city you wouldn't otherwise see and save $. Bus stops right in front of the hotel. #75. Also, do eat at Red Fish Blue Fish - a fabulous fish take out stand that deserves its popularity.

Back to menu Return to top