$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Chateau Victoria Hotel

4 stars
740 Burdett Ave, Victoria, BC V8W 1B2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
33 reviews
Very nice Hotel

The staff gave us the room on 14th floor. Good city view from the balcony plus very nice suite. See full review

  • FrequentTraveler2012
  • Nov 28, 2014
Festive Victoria

Made to feel very welcome by the staff. Has a real feel about it. Received a free room upgrade... See full review

  • Alfie
  • Dec 24, 2013
Chateau Victoria is one of Victoria's finest hotels. We offer customers affordable four star elegance in the heart of downtown. We're just minutes away from the Victoria Conference Centre, the Inner Harbour, and all of Victoria's favorite downtown destinations. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, the Chateau Victoria will meet all your needs with the kind of service that only an independently owned and operated hotel can provide. We are a 100% non smoking hotel and offer complimentary wireless high speed internet access. Please note that the rate for parking is $15 per night per vehicle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Victoria Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Chateau Victoria Hotel Rooms

Traditional Room
Traditional guestroom with two double beds. Recently remodeled, these are air conditioned rooms located on the second to fourth floors. Includes complimentary wireless highspeed internet and local calls.
Junior Suite
Located on the fifth floor of the hotel are our Junior Suites featuring one queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out couch in the living area. Each of these tastefully decorated suites include full bathroom, two televisions, a/c unit, and a balcony. Also included is complimentary wireless highspeed internet and local calls.
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite
Deluxe one bedroom suites with two queen beds or one king bed and a sofa bed. Located on the sixth through fifteenth floors, these spacious suites have balconies offering city or water views. Each tastefully decorated suite features a mini fridge, a/c unit, and two televisions. Includes complimentary wireless highspeed internet and local calls.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Clive's Classic Lounge
Clive's Classic Lounge, named after hotel owner Clive Piercy, defines modern elegance while embracing the unique and distinctive qualities of the hotel and its owner. Staying true to our roots, the dcor is rich, warm and welcoming and 'Clive's' is sure to become a second living room for its neighbours, an oasis for hotel guests and a new bright spot for the Victoria culinary scene.
Vista 18
Vista 18, Victoria's only rooftop restaurant, offers a memorable dining experience from the 18th floor! Vista 18 features spectacular views of Victoria's busy Inner Harbour, the snow-capped Olympic Mountain range, impressive Mount Baker, the Pacific's Strait of Georgia and beautiful downtown Victoria. The modern, comfortable dcor allows you to enjoy a menu focusing on free range, organic and local products. Letting the food speak for itself with clean natural flavours and down to earth prices. The sleek lounge offers a tempting martini list, or try one of the locally-brewed beers we have on tap. Dine to the sublime sounds of live entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings. Move on up and visit Vista 18 for breakfast, lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Victoria Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Running Mel
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 10, 2010

Great Location

Was in town for the Victoria Half/Full Marathon so it was a busy weekend. Check in was quick and the central location made it easy to get around the city (and to and from the start line). Rooms were comfortable and clean and the hot tub was perfect post race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Big Island
Oct 10, 2010

Great location & spacious rooms!

Great location just off downtown. Walls thin and hallway noise easily heard. Interior somewhat tired. Beds nice and good pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Sep 10, 2010

Nice Except for the Noise

Overall very nice except for the endless street noise throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charly'nTracy
Business
Burlington, WA
Aug 28, 2010

Wonderful hotel

From the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated to a wonderful visit. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It was a short walk to most all Victoria's harbor-side and downtown attractions. There were many restaurants in the area. We parked our car and walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 17, 2010

One nighter in Victoria...

Aug, 2010... Two couples traveling with 3 motorcycles, a car and a small dog. We booked two rooms. For one reason or another one room got upgraded to a suite up on the 15th floor which was very nice. However that left the other couple on the 2nd floor in a "back corner" adjacent to the building's air conditioning unit. That was was loud and disturbing whenever it began running. Luckily we were only staying one night, on our way to the BC mainland. The hotel was busy that night and the parking was nearly full. The hotel made room for our motorbikes in the area near the bicycle rack and told us to use the owner's reserved spot for the car. The location of the hotel was very good relative to the harbor and the government center. Very convenient to walk around and see some of the attractions. However, going to Victoria in August and on BC Day weekend means you are visiting at the height of the tourist season. Lots of people and and some less than reasonable prices for meals in the area. Not knowing any better we had a very good, but expensive, meal in a local establishment that clearly caters to the tourism industry. The following morning we had a much more reasonably priced breakfast. Only staying the one night it's hard to give a comprehensive review. Other than the inequity in the rooms for our band of travelers. The hotel was very accommodating and pleasant. Yes I would send friends to the Chateau Victoria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many eateries in the area, but can become expensive very quickly. Be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recent empty nesters
Business
Seattle. Wa
Aug 9, 2010

Great experience!

Great hotel with a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Parking - What a value!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nightontheroad
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 7, 2010

Welcoming and adequate

Very friendly staff - particularly the shuttle driver who really seems to enjoy his job and the desk staff, who have a tough job at times dealing with so many types of people. Hotel location was great - easy walking distance to all downtown sites and to city bus. Amenities and decor were tasteful. Beds were comfortable.Felt it was overpriced however. Room small and laid out a bit strangely - the toilet paper holder was nearly beyond reach for example which I've never run into before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus to Buchart Gardens instead of a tour bus - cost $2.50 each way. Takes about 45 minutes but you see parts of the city you wouldn't otherwise see and save $. Bus stops right in front of the hotel. #75. Also, do eat at Red Fish Blue Fish - a fabulous fish take out stand that deserves its popularity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas/Fort Worth..North Texas area
Jul 16, 2010

Great location

Hotel van was available to pick us up at the Victoria Clipper when we arrived and was able to return us to the Clipper for departure. (can't reserve van...first come, first serve system) Beautiful view from the hotel restaurant and great food. Recommend the 2 day hop on/ hop off bus pass. Take the full 90 minute loop at first and get a layout of the city and all the stops. Then start your on/off excursions. Drivers were very helpful with suggestions. You can really walk to most areas from the hotel. We were the only ones on the bus a couple of times and they dropped us right at the hotel. Very friendly hotel staff..clean rooms and updated bath areas...received a free upgrade upon check in (they allowed an early check in to accommodate our early arrival...so much nicer than storing luggage and having to come back). Victoria was having a heat wave (from Texans- it wasn't hot at all) our room's air conditioner handled the slightly warmer temperatures without a problem. You can use your US dollars, but your change comes as Canadian money. Credit cards are a great way to go...not many take Discover. Don't miss Buchart Gardens. The free tour of the Parliament building was well done and took about 30 minutes.(Be certain to see it lighted at night.) The Visitor Info Center has lots of helpful info...on the wharf and not far from the hotel. We had breakfast a couple of times at Sam's Deli. (across from the Visitor Center) If you like eggs bendict and want to eat outside by the water, check out The Flying Otter (hidden away by the planes on the dock). As Texans, we were able to get our Tex-Mex food fix at Cafe Mexico. In Texas,at Mexican restaurants, the chips and salsa arrive as soon as you are seated and they are not a separate charge..just come with your meal. Here, you order them as a separate item. However, we were so happy to find a Mexican meal this far from home, we didn't care and we'll appreciate our local home restaurants all the more. Wharfside restaurant..great view and helpful wait staff..a wonderful meal. Terrific vacation...friendly, friendly city... lovely hotel with terrific location. Will recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Visitor's Info Center...lots to do and they have answers and suggestions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 28, 2010

great place

great place, great location. Nice spacious rooms -- we stayed for 5 days, and had two rooms with microwave and fridge. Walking distance to the seaside and chinatown. The fitness room is a bit small, with only one jogging machine, but it was empty most of th etime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to the seaside, with lots of whale watching trips and the like

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sequim, WA
May 10, 2010

Chateau Victoria is a downtown haven

We have visited Victoria many times, but never before stayed at the Chateau Victoria. We certainly will in the future. The staff is kind and calming, very helpful and courteous. The facility looks much newer than it is and there is such a charm about the place! We arrived on the ferry from Port Angeles and easily walked (with our luggage) to the hotel. Downtown is steps away, the cafe was perfect for breakfast. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Sunday Open-Air Market. What fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top