$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

3 stars
642 Johnson Street, Victoria, BC V8W 1M6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Great Stay

Beautiful place to stay. Beds were the best we have seen in any hotel. Staff friendly and... See full review

  • Milt777
  • Jul 10, 2014
Fantastic Staff

This is an old hotel that has had some renovation, so although it was fairly clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Debra F
  • Aug 29, 2013
Discover the best of Victoria at this elegant hotel- close to attractions, restaurants, shopping districts, Victoria's Inner Harbour and Save-on Foods Memorial Centre, 100% non-smoking! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel is proud to offer the finest in accommodations and friendly customer service at an affordable rate! The convenient downtown location of this Victoria hotel is ideal for guests visiting the Royal British Columbia Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Victoria's IMAX® Theater and is a short drive to the Butchart Gardens. Guests looking for things to do in Victoria will enjoy being close to local attractions, theaters, golf courses, and whale watching expeditions. Favorite attractions also include Antique Row and the Maritime Museum of British Columbia. This Victoria British Columbia hotel features spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, 37-inch flat screen televisions and cable television. The on-site restaurant, Stone's Throw is a great place to enjoy a delicious meal before sightseeing. Additional amenities at this British Columbia Inn include a fitness centre, guest laundry, business centre and meeting facilities. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Victoria, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel!

Hotel Map

48.4273 -123.3658
Nearby airports
(YYJ), 25.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD NET,3RD BED SOFA,FULL KITCHEN
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,HANDICAP RM,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,KITCHNT,MICRFG,2NDSOFA
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCH,2ND BD SOFA
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DXMNSTE,3RDSOF,400SQFT,FULKT,37FLTV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Stone's Throw Restaurant
Stone's Throw Restaurant, on premises, full service, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, It's all the food you know & love, some with a twist. Home of the "Triangle Burger", Stone's Throw is the place for a great breakfast, casual lunch, or

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike The Traveler1
Portland, OR
Aug 21, 2012

Best experience ever!!!

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria. Everything is within walking distance, such as the bars, nightclubs, shops, waterfront, and the U.S. ferry. Also, the staff is very friendly as well. We arrived a few hours earlier than check-in and they were able to accommodate us with a room at no extra cost. I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 4, 2008

My personal experience AT ...

My personal experience AT THIS HOTEL was just fine. It was the check-in process that frustrated me. The hotel did everything they could to accommodate us. They are clean and very nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Destin, Florida
Aug 16, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

Hotel best described as average. After having stayed at Five star Pan pacific in vancouver anything bound to be a disappointment. Hotel staff friendly but time to get in to foom- almost 4 Pm and time to get room cleaned- again 4 PM was way too long. Would choose another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you enjoy fine wine then you must try BC wines. Church and State certainly among the best. Try local liquor store all close to hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alvaro J
Maple Ridge, BC
Mar 11, 2013

Good location but...

When I book the hotel I follow the review seen on this site. I was discontent when I arrive there and I found out little things that make me feel uneasy. As an example. The hotel does not offer freakfast. You have to buy from a restaureant beside of it. The bedrroom were clean but no much space. The smell in the corredor was no a welcome because there is an old odour that I can not descripbe. Location wise is great because is in a walking distance of shops, parliament and restaurance. However in my next stay I will look for something else. I promise to listen more my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is the swan restaurant which food id good but pricey. The spagethi factory is few block from the hotel whihc offers a good italian food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Destin, Florida
Aug 16, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

Hotel best described as average. After having stayed at Five star Pan pacific in vancouver anything bound to be a disappointment. Hotel staff friendly but time to get in to foom- almost 4 Pm and time to get room cleaned- again 4 PM was way too long. Would choose another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you enjoy fine wine then you must try BC wines. Church and State certainly among the best. Try local liquor store all close to hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinelady
Sonoma, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Great Find

The hotel occupies two older buildings just north of one of the main shopping areas in Victoria, and is also within walking distance of the Inner Harbour. Although the hallways were narrow and the elevators small (not a surprise in an older building), the hotel has clearly been updated. Our room was great -- of nice size, having a comfortable bed with wonderful linens, and a very clean, modern bath with a good tub/shower. We used the guest laundry, too, which was quite a convenience after more than two weeks on the road. We took advantage of the valet parking; most everything was within walking distance. Victoria is a wonderful walking city. We went everywhere on foot, from Bastion Square to the new developments in Victoria West (over the blue bridge), to James Bay, Beacon Hill Park, Cook Street Village and the Royal BC Museum. We did take our car on the "Scenic Marine Drive" around the shore, stopping at Government House and Oak Bay Village, and after checking out of the hotel went west to Esquimalt and the Gorge Waterway before heading to Sidney to catch the ferry to Friday Harbor. Everyone seems to visit The Butchart Gardens, and it is well worth the trip. We decided to take the # 75 public bus, which is inexpensive and travels through interesting areas of Victoria and its suburbs. The gardens are far beyond what we expected, and I recommend devoting at least half a day to their exploration. We also took our car on drives to Cowichan Bay and on to Sooke, and explored back roads on the Saanich peninsula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sooke Harbour House has long been known for its excellent restaurant. The hotel and restaurant are truly beautiful, located right on the water at Sooke Harbour. However, on the night we visited, we found the food dull and overpriced, the service spotty, and the wine list extensive but without any reasonably priced alternatives. We hope our visit was an anomaly.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 27, 2011

Very positive lodging experience

Hotel staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Delightful walk from Inner Harbour and other attractions. Air conditioned in a region where AC is scarce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nurseakm
Denver, CO
Aug 9, 2009

Good place to stay

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and the harbor. The staff was extremely professional and very helpful and courteous. We really enjoyed the customer service provided by the staff. The best part of staying here, though, was complimentary bike rentals! What a great way to see the city!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
albany oregon
Aug 9, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

the hotel was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. we used their hotel wheelchair all week, and the valet parking came in very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants we went to were excellent. The Tapas restaurant was the best.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsharphead
Surrey, BC
Feb 17, 2013

Good Location

The room was comfortable and very clean and the cleaning staff were very nice. The front desk was not so inviting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
albany oregon
Aug 9, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

the hotel was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. we used their hotel wheelchair all week, and the valet parking came in very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants we went to were excellent. The Tapas restaurant was the best.

Back to menu Return to top