BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

3 stars
642 Johnson Street, Victoria, BC V8W 1M6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Stay

Beautiful place to stay. Beds were the best we have seen in any hotel. Staff friendly and... See full review

  • Milt777
  • Jul 10, 2014
Fantastic Staff

This is an old hotel that has had some renovation, so although it was fairly clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Debra F
  • Aug 29, 2013
Discover the best of Victoria at this elegant hotel- close to attractions, restaurants, shopping districts, Victoria's Inner Harbour and Save-on Foods Memorial Centre, 100% non-smoking! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel is proud to offer the finest in accommodations and friendly customer service at an affordable rate! The convenient downtown location of this Victoria hotel is ideal for guests visiting the Royal British Columbia Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Victoria's IMAX® Theater and is a short drive to the Butchart Gardens. Guests looking for things to do in Victoria will enjoy being close to local attractions, theaters, golf courses, and whale watching expeditions. Favorite attractions also include Antique Row and the Maritime Museum of British Columbia. This Victoria British Columbia hotel features spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, 37-inch flat screen televisions and cable television. The on-site restaurant, Stone's Throw is a great place to enjoy a delicious meal before sightseeing. Additional amenities at this British Columbia Inn include a fitness centre, guest laundry, business centre and meeting facilities. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Victoria, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD NET,3RD BED SOFA,FULL KITCHEN
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,HANDICAP RM,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,KITCHNT,MICRFG,2NDSOFA
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCH,2ND BD SOFA
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DXMNSTE,3RDSOF,400SQFT,FULKT,37FLTV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Hotel Map

48.4273 -123.3658
Nearby airports
(YYJ), 25.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Dining

Stone's Throw Restaurant
Stone's Throw Restaurant, on premises, full service, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, It's all the food you know & love, some with a twist. Home of the "Triangle Burger", Stone's Throw is the place for a great breakfast, casual lunch, or

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 4, 2008

My personal experience AT ...

My personal experience AT THIS HOTEL was just fine. It was the check-in process that frustrated me. The hotel did everything they could to accommodate us. They are clean and very nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alvaro J
Business
Maple Ridge, BC
Mar 11, 2013

Good location but...

When I book the hotel I follow the review seen on this site. I was discontent when I arrive there and I found out little things that make me feel uneasy. As an example. The hotel does not offer freakfast. You have to buy from a restaureant beside of it. The bedrroom were clean but no much space. The smell in the corredor was no a welcome because there is an old odour that I can not descripbe. Location wise is great because is in a walking distance of shops, parliament and restaurance. However in my next stay I will look for something else. I promise to listen more my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is the swan restaurant which food id good but pricey. The spagethi factory is few block from the hotel whihc offers a good italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Destin, Florida
Aug 16, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

Hotel best described as average. After having stayed at Five star Pan pacific in vancouver anything bound to be a disappointment. Hotel staff friendly but time to get in to foom- almost 4 Pm and time to get room cleaned- again 4 PM was way too long. Would choose another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you enjoy fine wine then you must try BC wines. Church and State certainly among the best. Try local liquor store all close to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Tourist
Business
Green Bay
Jul 29, 2012

Good hotel

hotel was at a great location, easy walk to all down town attractions. clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Museum is a great educational experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsharphead
Business
Surrey, BC
Feb 17, 2013

Good Location

The room was comfortable and very clean and the cleaning staff were very nice. The front desk was not so inviting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TanuBiswas
Business
Washington DC
May 29, 2013

Excellent location!

Very good hotel with easy accessibility to the waterfront. Walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra F
Business
Lemon Grove, CA
Aug 29, 2013

Fantastic Staff

This is an old hotel that has had some renovation, so although it was fairly clean and comfortable it was not really modern. The location is good, just a few blocks from Chinatown, and there are lots of shops and places to eat. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, they couldn't have been more helpful, answering questions, showing us where places were on maps, offering to print out stuff for us, letting us leave our luggage and car after we checked out so we could spend more time exploring Victoria. I cannot say enough good things about the staff at the Carlton Plaza, they were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Leave your car at the hotel and take public transportation to explore the city. Parking and traffic can be a nightmare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany oregon
Aug 9, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

the hotel was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. we used their hotel wheelchair all week, and the valet parking came in very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants we went to were excellent. The Tapas restaurant was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akimi
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Very pet friendly

The Best Western Carlton Plaza- Victoria was very pet friendly. We took a dog with us and the daily fee for the dog was fair and the staff was great about it. The room was basic, found a little rubbish (wrappers etc.) that wasn't picked up or vacuumed from the previous stay. The location was convenient to places around Town. Most places within walking distance. There wasn't a garage to park our car, so they had to valet everytime we came and went. They said they had a secure place to park cars, but I saw the hotel valets getting cars parked on all the side streets in the neighborhood.(?) There is a night club around the corner and the 1st night there, we could hear the base of dance music until 2am when the club closed. Late at night wew could hear a lot of the drunk club partiers outside. Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I have my pet with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping mall a block away. Lots of other sights and shops all along the main drive. A couple of blocks down the street will take you to the waterfront. Very nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nurseakm
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 9, 2009

Good place to stay

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and the harbor. The staff was extremely professional and very helpful and courteous. We really enjoyed the customer service provided by the staff. The best part of staying here, though, was complimentary bike rentals! What a great way to see the city!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top