$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

3 stars
642 Johnson Street, Victoria, BC V8W 1M6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
26 reviews
Fantastic Staff

This is an old hotel that has had some renovation, so although it was fairly clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Debra F
  • Aug 29, 2013
Excellent location!

Very good hotel with easy accessibility to the waterfront. Walking distance to everything. See full review

  • TanuBiswas
  • May 29, 2013
Discover the best of Victoria at this elegant hotel- close to attractions, restaurants, shopping districts, Victoria's Inner Harbour and Save-on Foods Memorial Centre, 100% non-smoking! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel is proud to offer the finest in accommodations and friendly customer service at an affordable rate! The convenient downtown location of this Victoria hotel is ideal for guests visiting the Royal British Columbia Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Victoria's IMAX® Theater and is a short drive to the Butchart Gardens. Guests looking for things to do in Victoria will enjoy being close to local attractions, theaters, golf courses, and whale watching expeditions. Favorite attractions also include Antique Row and the Maritime Museum of British Columbia. This Victoria British Columbia hotel features spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, 37-inch flat screen televisions and cable television. The on-site restaurant, Stone's Throw is a great place to enjoy a delicious meal before sightseeing. Additional amenities at this British Columbia Inn include a fitness centre, guest laundry, business centre and meeting facilities. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Victoria, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD NET,3RD BED SOFA,FULL KITCHEN
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HISPD,HANDICAP RM,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,KITCHNT,MICRFG,2NDSOFA
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,FULL KITCH,2ND BD SOFA
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,DXMNSTE,3RDSOF,400SQFT,FULKT,37FLTV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.4273 -123.3658
Nearby airports
(YYJ), 25.00, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Dining

Stone's Throw Restaurant
Stone's Throw Restaurant, on premises, full service, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, It's all the food you know & love, some with a twist. Home of the "Triangle Burger", Stone's Throw is the place for a great breakfast, casual lunch, or

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
May 4, 2008

My personal experience AT ...

My personal experience AT THIS HOTEL was just fine. It was the check-in process that frustrated me. The hotel did everything they could to accommodate us. They are clean and very nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Alvaro J
Maple Ridge, BC
Mar 11, 2013

Good location but...

When I book the hotel I follow the review seen on this site. I was discontent when I arrive there and I found out little things that make me feel uneasy. As an example. The hotel does not offer freakfast. You have to buy from a restaureant beside of it. The bedrroom were clean but no much space. The smell in the corredor was no a welcome because there is an old odour that I can not descripbe. Location wise is great because is in a walking distance of shops, parliament and restaurance. However in my next stay I will look for something else. I promise to listen more my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is the swan restaurant which food id good but pricey. The spagethi factory is few block from the hotel whihc offers a good italian food.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Destin, Florida
Aug 16, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

Hotel best described as average. After having stayed at Five star Pan pacific in vancouver anything bound to be a disappointment. Hotel staff friendly but time to get in to foom- almost 4 Pm and time to get room cleaned- again 4 PM was way too long. Would choose another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you enjoy fine wine then you must try BC wines. Church and State certainly among the best. Try local liquor store all close to hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 27, 2011

Very positive lodging experience

Hotel staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Delightful walk from Inner Harbour and other attractions. Air conditioned in a region where AC is scarce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
The Intrepid Two
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 15, 2011

My wife and I Out and About

This hotel was in, what appeared to be, an older building in the downtown area. On the outside it was not so impresive, the lobby was not so impressive, however, the staff and location were very impressive. If I were to critque this hotel it would only be that from our room one of the two elevators was a bit noisy but they shut it off at 11:00 so it was not a huge problem. The other issue was a funny smell near the bed. We're guessing some one had a pet that piddled in there. Would we recomend this hotel to a friend? We would say that it was a fine hotel, and we did not regret staying there. Again the staff and location were great. If you're very picky you might want to stay somewhere else, otherwise, we were satisfied with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have not been to Victoria, BC then we recomend you take one of the guided tours of the city on your first day to get familiar with the surroundings and allow you to discover attractions that you would be intrested in looking at in more detail, later, in your stay.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
nurseakm
Denver, CO
Aug 9, 2009

Good place to stay

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and the harbor. The staff was extremely professional and very helpful and courteous. We really enjoyed the customer service provided by the staff. The best part of staying here, though, was complimentary bike rentals! What a great way to see the city!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
jsharphead
Surrey, BC
Feb 17, 2013

Good Location

The room was comfortable and very clean and the cleaning staff were very nice. The front desk was not so inviting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
albany oregon
Aug 9, 2009

Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel

the hotel was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. we used their hotel wheelchair all week, and the valet parking came in very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants we went to were excellent. The Tapas restaurant was the best.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2008

location

We were very surprised at how clean & effient it was.Courteous check in too. No pool(bad).Workout room o.k. treadmill out of order.Restaurant very nice,but did not serve dinner.Outside our window was a nightclub that kept the noise level high until 1 a.m.then into the street another hour! I thought checkout time at 11a.m.was early(for us).Oh yea,no movie channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

long walk to ferry

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Ole Miss Rebel
Texas
Jul 15, 2010

Carlton

Excellent location and staff. Even though we were not expecting to pay for valet parking, it was very prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top