$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Tropicana Suites on Robson

2 stars
1361 Robson, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
13 reviews
Exceptional...for the price

If you're looking for a cost-effective trip, this is the place to stay.The suites are big, with a... See full review

  • chug42
  • Apr 17, 2012
Best view for the price!

Great deal for price. Location and view were the best. Could walk almost anywhere in the city.... See full review

  • Likes to travel.
  • Jun 13, 2010
THE TROPICANA SUITES IS LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LIVELY ROBSON ST ENTERTAINMENT DISTRICT WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF DOWNTOWN SHOPPING, THEATERS, ENGLISH BAY, STANLEY PARK AND MANY EXCELLENT RESTAURANTS. ALL GUEST SUITES ARE 1 BEDROOM UNITS FEATURING A LIVING ROOM WITH A SOFA SLEEPER AND KITCHENETTE. HOTEL FACILITIES INCLUDE AN INDOOR HEATED POOL, SAUNA, LAUNDRY FACILITIES AND FREE GUEST PARKING. All suites hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropicana Suites on Robson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Tropicana Suites on Robson Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite 2 Twins
This one bedroom room suite offers comfortable accommodations for either the business or leisure traveler. All rooms offer a balcony affording a view of the city or mountains. The bedroom is furnished with two twin beds. The living area has a double sle
1 Bedroom Suite Queen
This one bedroom room suite offers comfortable accommodations for either the business or leisure traveler. All rooms offer a balcony affording a view of the city or mountains. The bedroom is furnished with a queen bed. The living area has a double sleep

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Skiing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

White Tower
* Location - Connected to hotel * Cuisine - Greek * Hours - 11AM-2AM Lunch/Dinner * Dress Code - Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Suites on Robson

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Likes to travel.
Galveston, Texas
Jun 13, 2010

Best view for the price!

Great deal for price. Location and view were the best. Could walk almost anywhere in the city. Near Stanley Park, museums and shopping. Very clean but a 50's style decor. Roomy with living room and kitchen. Noisy when window were open, but too warm to leave them closed with no fan or A/C. I would stay again when weather is cool. Friendly, informative staff. Free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to do the bike rentals near Stanley Park. Great way to see the city. Great dining anywhere you turned. We just found an interesting restaurant or two and were never disappointed. Very diverse city, lots of languanges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melissarn
Business
seattle,wa
Aug 17, 2009

not what i expected

This hotel was rated as a 3 star hotel. I have traveled a lot and found this hotel to be horrible. This is the first time I have used orbitz to book and if they rate it as a 3 star I would hate to see what a 1 star wuld look like. Do not waste your money on this dump. As stated no air conditioner, ice machine and no washclothes. Towels were so threadbare you could see through them. Very noisy since you had to leave the windows open to keep cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 15, 2009

Bad hotel, good location.

Bad: The staff was very rude, I understand that we were a group of 3 teenagers, no ones favorite, but that does not mean we deserve to treated like we were. The room smelled like cigarette smoke in a non-smoking room, there were stains all over the floor. We were only given 2 towels and when we requested more, they said they were out and would drop them off when they were done being washed, they never came. When we left for dinner we heard another couple complain and the staff replied: Those arent blood stains, they're dark red ink." Checking out the next morning there was another group of people complaining about their allergies to the mold in their room, and the front desk basically said too bad and that they were full. Good: Located right on robson st for amazing shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Oct 29, 2009

I'd rather sleep in my car

Tropicana suites is dilapidated and has the kind of 'dirty' that only 'new everything' can fix. I don't even know where to begin. How about safety? The door is locked via the door handle. There is no security bolt or any other sort of lock on the door. This was an issue because the hotel didn't feel like a safe place. We felt like we were in a Quentin Terantino film and no one had the courage to lift the mattresses. The dusty rose vintage 80's carpet was filthy in every room, and was secured to the entry threshold by several strips of silver duct tape. No one wanted to remove their shoes. We asked for a non-smoking room and the rooms didn't smell, but there were cigarette burns in one bedspread and burns on the carpet as well. The beds sagged in the middle, bedspreads were faded and outdated, blankets were dingy and worn. The counters in the kitchenette were stained and had a least a dozen holes of varying coin sizes. Every dresser and bedside table was chipped, marked and worn. Everything about this 2 bedroom penthouse suite said that it had seen many decades of use and the abuse of countless guests without updates. We checked in late at night after a concert, shuddered at the room, left our bags and went next door to grab a bite to eat. Upon returning, we inspected the rooms more carefully only to discover that the sliding glass door leading out to the flooded and moldy front deck that we shared with the other penthouse suite was not only unlocked, but slightly open. It took three tries to latch the old door using a sliding lock that seemed to barely catch, and there was no broomstick or other way to secure it. A sliding door on one of the rear bedrooms was also unlocked. In other words, our neighbors in the other penthouse suite could have easily entered our rooms while we ate dinner and taken our bags with laptop, camera etc. To sum it up, the rooms felt dirty and creepy and my two freaked-out teenagers opted to sleep with me in one queen size bed rather than have their own room. Thankfully the sheets, although thin, were white and looked clean, as were the towels. The bathroom seemed to have seen some updates and was probably the cleanest room in the whole place. Scary huh? This should have been a bargain-rate hotel. I paid WAY too much for this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Starbucks on the corner and lots of other restaurants and shops within an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stoney Burke II
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jul 9, 2012

Pleasant stay away on a budget.

We stayed a Thursday, Friday and Saturday at the Tropicana..Check out time they say is 11am and not 12pm. The room, which is dated but clean and quiet had a nice view, comfortable beds and a nice breeze through the open windows. No A/C was available. Daily temps were around 75'F. We found this to be a nice two star suite. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

With free parking you save twenty to thirty dollars per day over other hotels. Short or long walks will get you to Davie Village, lots of shops and even west to Stanley park. The buses are great and plentiful. All day parking in the park would cost you ten bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 24, 2007

Hotel needs upkeep.

The Tropicana left a lot to be desired. Although the rooms were large, there was no air conditioning and the room was in ill repair. Upon waking up in the morning I had to wait almost an hour to have enough hot water to take a very quick shower before checking out. The location of the hotel is on Robson street. It was close to a lot of clubs and dining. The hotel itself had no restaurant to speak of. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. It wasn't worth it for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several clubs and restaurants within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suncity1
Business
el paso, tx
Jul 10, 2012

good value/location

nothing fancy but all clean & we liked the small kitchenette w/fridge, stove and micro. The location's the best part if you want the energy of downtown Vancouver. It's right in the midst of popular Robson Street area, with lots of shops and especially, dozens of restaurants within a matter of blocks, various prices and every ethnicity you can imagine. One of my favorites--Hon's Noodle House--is right next door. No matter where you stay in Vancouver, don't miss the Museum of Anthropology at UBC (not downtown but a pretty drive). It's amazing, one of my favorite museums in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you really love Chinese seafood and/or dim sum, be sure to try Sun Sui Wah on Main Street. A little upscale but not expensive, unless you go for their fantastic Alaskan King Crab. If you're not up for seafood try dim sum and a roasted squab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Up2nothing
Business
Kirkland, WA
Sep 21, 2009

Great locations and friendly staff

The room had a great view, great location and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was also larger than I expected with a small kitchen and living room. The room was clean although slightly dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baters
Business
Vancouver
Aug 31, 2009

Tropicana

This is a basic hotel, however it is very cheap and very clean. The rooms are large with kitchenettes and TV area. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Denman Street in the West End, for a variety of restaurants and bars. Also, just across from Robson Street is the Landmark Hotel - go to the top floor for a drink and the best view of Vancouver you'll ever see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2007

Great location

The location is almost perfect, between the shopping area (about one block away), English bay and the stanley park (beach, pool, cycling, rollerblading ...). The one bedroom apartment is simple but clean and large enought for two or three people. There is no air-conditioning system. The staff is kind, the desk is open 24/7. So, good quality, great location and average cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two markets nearby : Capers and Safeway. The shops are just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,ny
Aug 24, 2009

good location

Clean big room, nice location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top