$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Tropicana Suites on Robson

2 stars
1361 Robson, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
22 reviews
Exceptional...for the price

If you're looking for a cost-effective trip, this is the place to stay.The suites are big, with a... See full review

  • chug42
  • Apr 17, 2012
Best view for the price!

Great deal for price. Location and view were the best. Could walk almost anywhere in the city.... See full review

  • Likes to travel.
  • Jun 13, 2010
THE TROPICANA SUITES IS LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LIVELY ROBSON ST ENTERTAINMENT DISTRICT WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF DOWNTOWN SHOPPING, THEATERS, ENGLISH BAY, STANLEY PARK AND MANY EXCELLENT RESTAURANTS. ALL GUEST SUITES ARE 1 BEDROOM UNITS FEATURING A LIVING ROOM WITH A SOFA SLEEPER AND KITCHENETTE. HOTEL FACILITIES INCLUDE AN INDOOR HEATED POOL, SAUNA, LAUNDRY FACILITIES AND FREE GUEST PARKING. All suites hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver.

Tropicana Suites on Robson Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite 2 Twins
This one bedroom room suite offers comfortable accommodations for either the business or leisure traveler. All rooms offer a balcony affording a view of the city or mountains. The bedroom is furnished with two twin beds. The living area has a double sle
1 Bedroom Suite Queen
This one bedroom room suite offers comfortable accommodations for either the business or leisure traveler. All rooms offer a balcony affording a view of the city or mountains. The bedroom is furnished with a queen bed. The living area has a double sleep

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Skiing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropicana Suites on Robson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2876 -123.1294
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

White Tower
* Location - Connected to hotel * Cuisine - Greek * Hours - 11AM-2AM Lunch/Dinner * Dress Code - Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Suites on Robson

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 22
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.5
Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suncity1
el paso, tx
Jul 10, 2012

good value/location

nothing fancy but all clean & we liked the small kitchenette w/fridge, stove and micro. The location's the best part if you want the energy of downtown Vancouver. It's right in the midst of popular Robson Street area, with lots of shops and especially, dozens of restaurants within a matter of blocks, various prices and every ethnicity you can imagine. One of my favorites--Hon's Noodle House--is right next door. No matter where you stay in Vancouver, don't miss the Museum of Anthropology at UBC (not downtown but a pretty drive). It's amazing, one of my favorite museums in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you really love Chinese seafood and/or dim sum, be sure to try Sun Sui Wah on Main Street. A little upscale but not expensive, unless you go for their fantastic Alaskan King Crab. If you're not up for seafood try dim sum and a roasted squab.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
WA
Oct 29, 2009

I'd rather sleep in my car

Tropicana suites is dilapidated and has the kind of 'dirty' that only 'new everything' can fix. I don't even know where to begin. How about safety? The door is locked via the door handle. There is no security bolt or any other sort of lock on the door. This was an issue because the hotel didn't feel like a safe place. We felt like we were in a Quentin Terantino film and no one had the courage to lift the mattresses. The dusty rose vintage 80's carpet was filthy in every room, and was secured to the entry threshold by several strips of silver duct tape. No one wanted to remove their shoes. We asked for a non-smoking room and the rooms didn't smell, but there were cigarette burns in one bedspread and burns on the carpet as well. The beds sagged in the middle, bedspreads were faded and outdated, blankets were dingy and worn. The counters in the kitchenette were stained and had a least a dozen holes of varying coin sizes. Every dresser and bedside table was chipped, marked and worn. Everything about this 2 bedroom penthouse suite said that it had seen many decades of use and the abuse of countless guests without updates. We checked in late at night after a concert, shuddered at the room, left our bags and went next door to grab a bite to eat. Upon returning, we inspected the rooms more carefully only to discover that the sliding glass door leading out to the flooded and moldy front deck that we shared with the other penthouse suite was not only unlocked, but slightly open. It took three tries to latch the old door using a sliding lock that seemed to barely catch, and there was no broomstick or other way to secure it. A sliding door on one of the rear bedrooms was also unlocked. In other words, our neighbors in the other penthouse suite could have easily entered our rooms while we ate dinner and taken our bags with laptop, camera etc. To sum it up, the rooms felt dirty and creepy and my two freaked-out teenagers opted to sleep with me in one queen size bed rather than have their own room. Thankfully the sheets, although thin, were white and looked clean, as were the towels. The bathroom seemed to have seen some updates and was probably the cleanest room in the whole place. Scary huh? This should have been a bargain-rate hotel. I paid WAY too much for this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Starbucks on the corner and lots of other restaurants and shops within an easy walk.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
WA
Oct 29, 2009

I'd rather sleep in my car

Tropicana suites is dilapidated and has the kind of 'dirty' that only 'new everything' can fix. I don't even know where to begin. How about safety? The door is locked via the door handle. There is no security bolt or any other sort of lock on the door. This was an issue because the hotel didn't feel like a safe place. We felt like we were in a Quentin Terantino film and no one had the courage to lift the mattresses. The dusty rose vintage 80's carpet was filthy in every room, and was secured to the entry threshold by several strips of silver duct tape. No one wanted to remove their shoes. We asked for a non-smoking room and the rooms didn't smell, but there were cigarette burns in one bedspread and burns on the carpet as well. The beds sagged in the middle, bedspreads were faded and outdated, blankets were dingy and worn. The counters in the kitchenette were stained and had a least a dozen holes of varying coin sizes. Every dresser and bedside table was chipped, marked and worn. Everything about this 2 bedroom penthouse suite said that it had seen many decades of use and the abuse of countless guests without updates. We checked in late at night after a concert, shuddered at the room, left our bags and went next door to grab a bite to eat. Upon returning, we inspected the rooms more carefully only to discover that the sliding glass door leading out to the flooded and moldy front deck that we shared with the other penthouse suite was not only unlocked, but slightly open. It took three tries to latch the old door using a sliding lock that seemed to barely catch, and there was no broomstick or other way to secure it. A sliding door on one of the rear bedrooms was also unlocked. In other words, our neighbors in the other penthouse suite could have easily entered our rooms while we ate dinner and taken our bags with laptop, camera etc. To sum it up, the rooms felt dirty and creepy and my two freaked-out teenagers opted to sleep with me in one queen size bed rather than have their own room. Thankfully the sheets, although thin, were white and looked clean, as were the towels. The bathroom seemed to have seen some updates and was probably the cleanest room in the whole place. Scary huh? This should have been a bargain-rate hotel. I paid WAY too much for this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Starbucks on the corner and lots of other restaurants and shops within an easy walk.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 9, 2007

Great location

The location is almost perfect, between the shopping area (about one block away), English bay and the stanley park (beach, pool, cycling, rollerblading ...). The one bedroom apartment is simple but clean and large enought for two or three people. There is no air-conditioning system. The staff is kind, the desk is open 24/7. So, good quality, great location and average cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two markets nearby : Capers and Safeway. The shops are just a block away.

Back to menu Return to top