$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Tropicana Suites on Robson

2 stars
1361 Robson, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
22 reviews
Exceptional...for the price

If you're looking for a cost-effective trip, this is the place to stay.The suites are big, with a... See full review

  • chug42
  • Apr 17, 2012
Best view for the price!

Great deal for price. Location and view were the best. Could walk almost anywhere in the city.... See full review

  • Likes to travel.
  • Jun 13, 2010
THE TROPICANA SUITES IS LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LIVELY ROBSON ST ENTERTAINMENT DISTRICT WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF DOWNTOWN SHOPPING, THEATERS, ENGLISH BAY, STANLEY PARK AND MANY EXCELLENT RESTAURANTS. ALL GUEST SUITES ARE 1 BEDROOM UNITS FEATURING A LIVING ROOM WITH A SOFA SLEEPER AND KITCHENETTE. HOTEL FACILITIES INCLUDE AN INDOOR HEATED POOL, SAUNA, LAUNDRY FACILITIES AND FREE GUEST PARKING. All suites hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver.

Tropicana Suites on Robson Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite 2 Twins
This one bedroom room suite offers comfortable accommodations for either the business or leisure traveler. All rooms offer a balcony affording a view of the city or mountains. The bedroom is furnished with two twin beds. The living area has a double sle
1 Bedroom Suite Queen
This one bedroom room suite offers comfortable accommodations for either the business or leisure traveler. All rooms offer a balcony affording a view of the city or mountains. The bedroom is furnished with a queen bed. The living area has a double sleep

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Skiing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropicana Suites on Robson also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2876 -123.1294
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

White Tower
* Location - Connected to hotel * Cuisine - Greek * Hours - 11AM-2AM Lunch/Dinner * Dress Code - Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Suites on Robson

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Likes to travel.
Galveston, Texas
Jun 13, 2010

Best view for the price!

Great deal for price. Location and view were the best. Could walk almost anywhere in the city. Near Stanley Park, museums and shopping. Very clean but a 50's style decor. Roomy with living room and kitchen. Noisy when window were open, but too warm to leave them closed with no fan or A/C. I would stay again when weather is cool. Friendly, informative staff. Free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to do the bike rentals near Stanley Park. Great way to see the city. Great dining anywhere you turned. We just found an interesting restaurant or two and were never disappointed. Very diverse city, lots of languanges.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Sep 15, 2009

Bad hotel, good location.

Bad: The staff was very rude, I understand that we were a group of 3 teenagers, no ones favorite, but that does not mean we deserve to treated like we were. The room smelled like cigarette smoke in a non-smoking room, there were stains all over the floor. We were only given 2 towels and when we requested more, they said they were out and would drop them off when they were done being washed, they never came. When we left for dinner we heard another couple complain and the staff replied: Those arent blood stains, they're dark red ink." Checking out the next morning there was another group of people complaining about their allergies to the mold in their room, and the front desk basically said too bad and that they were full. Good: Located right on robson st for amazing shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrooklineNative
Seattle
Sep 7, 2009

Extremely clean, all basic amenities

All the rooms in this hotel are one-bedroom suites that have a living room and kitchen complete with pots/pans, cutlery and a coffee maker. The bed was queen-size, and the sofa unfolded into a double bed, so for two people it was ideal. Room was extremely well-clean, which makes up for what travelers who are used to nicer-looking accommodations would call "shabbiness." I read other reviews before staying here, so I expected this. For the price and the location (Robson St., pretty safe I would say) this was a steal. Also front-desk staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There's a restaurant on Pender St in Chinatown, I forget the name, but it has both "bakery" and "smorgasbord" on the sign...it's a restaurant/bakery and they have a huge selection of Chinese breakfast and dinner foods at low prices. There were racks of steamed buns being carried around...always a welcome sight in my book.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrooklineNative
Seattle
Sep 7, 2009

Extremely clean, all basic amenities

All the rooms in this hotel are one-bedroom suites that have a living room and kitchen complete with pots/pans, cutlery and a coffee maker. The bed was queen-size, and the sofa unfolded into a double bed, so for two people it was ideal. Room was extremely well-clean, which makes up for what travelers who are used to nicer-looking accommodations would call "shabbiness." I read other reviews before staying here, so I expected this. For the price and the location (Robson St., pretty safe I would say) this was a steal. Also front-desk staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There's a restaurant on Pender St in Chinatown, I forget the name, but it has both "bakery" and "smorgasbord" on the sign...it's a restaurant/bakery and they have a huge selection of Chinese breakfast and dinner foods at low prices. There were racks of steamed buns being carried around...always a welcome sight in my book.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baters
Vancouver
Aug 31, 2009

Tropicana

This is a basic hotel, however it is very cheap and very clean. The rooms are large with kitchenettes and TV area. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Denman Street in the West End, for a variety of restaurants and bars. Also, just across from Robson Street is the Landmark Hotel - go to the top floor for a drink and the best view of Vancouver you'll ever see.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baters
Vancouver
Aug 31, 2009

Tropicana

This is a basic hotel, however it is very cheap and very clean. The rooms are large with kitchenettes and TV area. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Denman Street in the West End, for a variety of restaurants and bars. Also, just across from Robson Street is the Landmark Hotel - go to the top floor for a drink and the best view of Vancouver you'll ever see.

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,ny
Aug 24, 2009

good location

Clean big room, nice location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,ny
Aug 24, 2009

good location

Clean big room, nice location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melissarn
seattle,wa
Aug 17, 2009

not what i expected

This hotel was rated as a 3 star hotel. I have traveled a lot and found this hotel to be horrible. This is the first time I have used orbitz to book and if they rate it as a 3 star I would hate to see what a 1 star wuld look like. Do not waste your money on this dump. As stated no air conditioner, ice machine and no washclothes. Towels were so threadbare you could see through them. Very noisy since you had to leave the windows open to keep cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melissarn
seattle,wa
Aug 17, 2009

not what i expected

This hotel was rated as a 3 star hotel. I have traveled a lot and found this hotel to be horrible. This is the first time I have used orbitz to book and if they rate it as a 3 star I would hate to see what a 1 star wuld look like. Do not waste your money on this dump. As stated no air conditioner, ice machine and no washclothes. Towels were so threadbare you could see through them. Very noisy since you had to leave the windows open to keep cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Tropicana Suites on Robson

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 9, 2007

Great location

The location is almost perfect, between the shopping area (about one block away), English bay and the stanley park (beach, pool, cycling, rollerblading ...). The one bedroom apartment is simple but clean and large enought for two or three people. There is no air-conditioning system. The staff is kind, the desk is open 24/7. So, good quality, great location and average cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two markets nearby : Capers and Safeway. The shops are just a block away.

Back to menu Return to top