$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

5 stars
View map of 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyTraveler14
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

The Sutton is perfectly Placed.

Perfectly located for a stay in Vancouver, and the spa alone is worth the travel - an absolute must for those up for Ayurvedic treatments. The style is old-world, which is a little counter to Vancouver's new steel and glass facade, but for those looking for super service and comfort Downtown, it doesn't get much better. (Get a Grizzly Bear in the hotel bar - sure to warm you up if you go in the rain, like us.) Our room and bathroom were a little small-ish for the cost, (but we're Americans - for Europeans it would be downright spacious) and we were there on a special, off-peak, so it's a pretty penny no matter how you slice it. But, all in all, it was a very happy home away from home for us, and would be for any of you who prefer Vivaldi to Electronica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Topher2
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Beware the conjoining rooms!

This hotel was perfect, minus two major flaws. If you are in a conjoining room, be prepared to hear everything your neighbor says and does with perfect clarity. Bring your sleeping pills and earplugs. Then, if you like to be on the internet in your room, be prepared to pay a ridiculous rate, it is not free. You will be gouged as well if you snack from the honor bar or order room service. I could have had gone out twice to a really nice restaurant for what I paid in one room service charge, thus the "average" rating on the value scale. Other than that it is a very beautiful and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kappie
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Great Stay!

Enjoyed stay here. Staff was nice and amenities were great. Internet was a little pricey per day but I guess that's how they get you. Worth it to stay here for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
basilhogan
Business
Richmond, CA
Jun 25, 2012

Classy Digs, Eh?

Lovely, moderately elegant hotel in a convenient downtown location. Had some TV repair issues during our first stay, but not in our return stay room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gourmet food carts! Lots to choose from.

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJeff
Business
Denver
Jul 25, 2012

Elegent hotel great neighborhood

Great older hotel in an area with both food and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveller 47
Business
Edmonton, AB
Jul 30, 2012

Essentially what you would expect

I stayed at the Sutton Place for business for two nights. I travel a great deal and I would say that this hotel delivered on par with other 4 star hotels, with the exception of the mechanical fitness of some of the items in the room and the hotel in general. The room was comfortable and spacious. The bed was outstanding as were the pillows. The climate control for the room worked perfectly and I could not hear any noise from any other rooms or the hallway. On the downside, the mini refrigerator did not work, but was quickly repaired upon request. The remote for the television did not work, and I didn't bother to get that fixed. As well, in the fitness centre the hot tub jets were controlled by a push button timer and some of those buttons did not work either. None of these were a great disappointment. These things happen so I was not in any way upset. The staff was exactly as courteous and helpful as I would expect The location was excllent and close to everything that I needed in downtown Vancouver. In comparison with other hotels in this class I would say the main difference was that I did not walk away thinking "wow, that was incredible!" It was just perfectly fine. I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to others for a safe, predictable, and comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reedster
Business
Hollywood
Aug 11, 2012

Nice stay

Very clean and staff courteous. Great location. Good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sala Thai has excellent Thai food directly across the street

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim Wall
Business
Maidstone, UK
Aug 29, 2012

Good central location

Perfectly situated for shopping, the waterfront, and Granville Island. Internet access was expensive, more so if you have multiple devices. Unimpressed with getting no Prestige loyalty points for our 12 night booking. The staff were excellent, courteous, friendly, and efficient. Overall a very good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Use Opentable to pre-book restaurants on-line as soon as you can because a number of the most popular ones may not be able to accept walk-ins at busy times.

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilberd
Business
Mountain View, CA
Aug 27, 2012

A day after cruising

Great bed and spacious room. Definitely a nice treat after 7 days at sea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fiftysomething weekender
Business
Elmhurst, IL
Aug 23, 2012

great location

Sutton Place was beautiful, clean and in a great location right off Robson street. The concierge staff was excellent and recommended 2 great restaurants for us and helped us with excursions in a cost effective way. We got a great rate considering it's a 4 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public transit to the airport, so easy and very nice and clean. Saves $$ than taking a cab and you avoid the traffic!

Back to menu Return to top