$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

5 stars
View map of 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farah
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Comfortable, clean

Conveniently located. Clean and comfortable. Easy access to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MS 650
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Didn't love it

I'm probably being too picky for this review, but Sutton Place was rated as a 5 Star, which it definitely is not. The rooms, bathrooms, and common areas need an update, and it feels dowdy. The service was fine, but certainly did not make up for the physical plant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GQNYC
Business
New York
May 7, 2012

Just Ordinary

Older but not luxurious. Blew the bathroom fuse by using their hair dryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robeson Street is right around the corner

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck and Kathy
Business
Texas
Jul 2, 2012

Elegant Hotel and great helpful staff.

Very nice and elegant hotel. Staff was great and very helpful with day trip planning and scheduling. Room service was not good at all. Food was sent back and still returned not fit to eat (ie. cold nachoes, turkey FAT sandwich). Also surprised when checking out with a $40/day parking charge which for 8 days amounted to $320 we were not expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Whistler is a must to go see. Beautiful 2 hour drive. Burchard Gardens in Victoria also worth a day long trip and ride on the ferry.

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Merlin 5
Business
Victoria, BC
Aug 8, 2012

Nickel and dimed

The room was comfortable but there were several things that proved less than welcoming. Reception was bureacratic rather than helpful when we had trouble finding the reservation confirmation. The hotel charges for wi if service. Unbelievable in this day and age and for this room rate. The surfaces of tables and counters in the room were covered with stuff for sale. The cost of parking was exorbitant. We will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quiet tea or lunch break go to the cafe in the Art Gallery. Garden surroundings in the middle of the city.

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mia18
Business
Fremont,CA
Aug 19, 2012

5 star hotel???...not impressed

If this is what they classify as a 5 star hotel then I dread to find out what a 3 or 4 star is. Here are the cons: -staff forgot room request: I requested for a rollaway bed but it wasn't there when we got to our room so I had to call for one. My sister requested for our rooms to be next to each other but they put us in different floors -questionable cleanliness: We found our ice bucket dirty with a piece of curly hair in it. Gross! -blah pool: the pool needs to be updated. It kinda looks like a regular gym pool. Not what you would expect for a 5 star hotel. The pros: -Location is great. It is right next to great restaurants & great shops which is why we picked to stay here -Very friendly staff -Lovely lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Guu Restaurant--Best Japanese Tapas restaurant

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mchutch
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 11, 2012

Good only if you get the right price.

The hotel was clean, the executive suite was spacious ( good when traveling with kids) and the staff were very courteous and helpful. The decor is a little dated and "colonial" for my tastes but we got a good price for the 3 nights we stayed. The pool is in another building connected via the lobby, so it was a little awkward going through the lobby bathing suits and cover ups on. The charge of $14 a day for internet is ridiculous though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GamerDad
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 22, 2012

Less than Impressed

Hotel was nice, but they only had a twin single room rather than the king we had requested. It bothers me that the premium hotels nickel and dime you for internet, etc., and the parking was expensive. The location is good, but I probably won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling city limits
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Could use some improvement

Wonderful location, close to shops and restaurants. Hotel staff recommendations for dining in Vancouver left much to be desired. Surfaces in our room were covered in dust our entire stay despite our effort to have housekeeping remedy the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doc Austin
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 30, 2010

Good, but lacking attention to detail

The hotel is beautiful when you enter, and the location is fantastic. Unfortunately, I was given a room that shared a wall with the elevator shaft (don't ever get a room there ending in "08") and so I did not sleep well - it was a little late to pack everything up and switch rooms. Also, when I checked out I was not asked how my stay was, so I'm taking the opportunity to do that here. The room was dusty, and there was still a letter from the manager from the week prior about television repairs on the table. There are really bad hard water stains (calcification) on the shower tiles and mold around the soap dish. The internet connection double charged me and I had to have to removed from the bill. On the positive side the view from the room was spectacular, everyone was very polite and it was a great value. Just a little more attention to detail and I'd give the hotel 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a huge number of really good places to eat within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top