$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

5 stars
View map of 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian in Pa
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Aug 2, 2010

Weekend at Sutton Place

Upon arrival staff was friendly and accomodating. We got there off our cruise ship at 10am and the room was ready which was pretty remarkable given the busy nature of that particular weekend. I would reccomend The Sutton Place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, ca
Jul 19, 2010

Relaxing Stay

Extremely helpful staff. We will be back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything downtown is just a short walk way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Just okay.

My expectations were not met for a 4-star hotel. The only advantage to staying at Sutton Place was the location but everything else was at 3-star level. The hotel needs some major updating. It was obvious our room was old by just looking at the shabby bathroom, the worn furniture, outdated decor, the tube tv, and especially the hard bed. Not only that, but WiFi was not complementary. The service from the staff is nothing to rave about. When they couldn't find our reservation at check-in, the person at the front-desk seemed to question us repeatedly as if it was our mistake. It was sorted out eventually but we received a pretty insincere apology when he realized it was their error. When we asked concierge about using the computer in the Business Center to check-in for our flight, one employee said there was a charge but he could do it for us for free. When we asked another employee later, he was kind enough to let us use the computer in the Business Center for free. When we walked in there, guess what else we found? A check-in kiosk for various airlines! Umm, so why didn't the staff just tell us about this machine in the first place? I would be okay with all these flaws if I came in thinking that it was a 3-star hotel. Otherwise, there's plenty of other hotels nearby I'd rather stay in that's worth the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2010

Old World Elegance

the staff were so lovely - as an example, the car was late in picking me up so the doorman stayed outside talking with me to keep me calm. It reminds me of hotels I've stayed at overseas - old world elegance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Windwalker
Business
Burbank, CA
Jul 9, 2010

First Rate!

Hands down this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. We had read a travel review where someone had mentioned they had a 14th floor room at the end of a quiet corridor that they loved. Prior to our trip, I emailed the hotel front desk and asked if we could possibly have the same room ( thinking it was an outside possibility). When we arrived we were booked into that very room and it had a fantastic view of the city and was very quiet. This hotel, sports fans, is simply elegant and has a rich air to it. Beyond that, the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The Concierge staff is top notch all the way. All inquiries, including pre trip emails were answered immediately. The hotel is in a great location for walking to many desired trip locations and sites. Again, I cannot conceive of a better hotel for the Vancouver stay. If there is one, I would like to see it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vancouver Fan
Business
Illinois
Jul 8, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Location

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend and had a great time. A room wasn't available right away (we were early), but the staff made sure to collect our luggage so we wouldn't have to carry it around. Once the room was ready at the actual check-in time, our luggage was placed in the room for us. We had a corner room, with a nice sized bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds we've slept on. The concierge staff was always helpful, even checking us in online for our plane. The one downside was the price of the wireless internet (approx $15 for a 24-hr period). The location was great - easy access by walking, bus, or the Canada Line to many of the tourist locations in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adonahi
Business
Downey, CA
Jun 26, 2010

Great service and location

My aunt and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall, it is a great hotel to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try the Cactus Club Cafe. Delicious food in a casual setting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Gentleman
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Jun 20, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

Only there one night. Location is perfect... center of the Robson District and only 8 blocks from cruise ship. Accessable to any location in downtown Vancouver by foot or short bus ride. Very good service and room was perfect. Would stay there again and highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus and train system is excellent. Take a few minutes to learn the schedule and save yourself a lot of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 18, 2010

Great location, hospitality

This was an excellent place for 4-day anniversary weekend. Great location in the heart of downtown Vancouver...easy to get to others parts of town from here, like a brief walk and water taxi to Granville Island; walk to Coal Harbor & Stanley Park; plenty of shopping just around the corner. Excellent housekeeping & concierge service. The mattress could have been better, but it wasn't too bad. That and the traditional "Chippendale" decor were my only complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast restaurant had excellent seafood -- we enjoyed very fresh oysters, octopus salad and Dungeness crab gnocchi! It's a very busy, slightly noisy, happening place that's also great for people watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore MD
May 5, 2010

nice

Lovely hotel in a great location in Vancouver. Walk to convention center, Stanley Park, train. Rooms are pretty and well set up. Most of the staff were polite and helpful. Small annoyance was that the "internet available" on the website meant "available for a ridiculous fee" in real life. That sort of advertising seems misleading at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top