$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

5 stars
845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 2K6
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
118 reviews
Great location. Love this boutique hotel.

We stay here every time we come to Vancouver. Free wifi would be nice but otherwise great hotel and... See full review

  • Andypandypuddinpie
  • Nov 19, 2014
Holiday

Fabulous room, fabulous service and staff. Did not want to leave See full review

  • currans
  • Jul 21, 2014
Luxury, European elegance in downtown's arts and entertainment district

Exceptional elegance reminiscent of Europe graces every aspect of this perennial Conde Nast Traveler Gold List favorite. Set against a majestic mountain backdrop, The Sutton Place Hotel offers guests comfort and luxury only steps from the chic boutiques and fine dining of Robson Street. Recently renovated, lavishly decorated guest rooms are perfectly paired with uncompromising service. Rejuvenate at the on-site Vida Spa, enjoy innovative Pacific Northwest cuisine at Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar, or take advantage of the exclusive Sutton Shopper Program.

Highlights
  • Exceptional luxury and unmatched service
  • On-site pampering and dining via Vida Spa and Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar
  • Steps from shopper's paradise on Robson Street
Rooms

Suites and guest rooms are elegantly decorated and offer all the modern amenities. Grand suites are spacious, with separate living rooms, breathtaking views and two televisions. All guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, CD/DVD players, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). For longer stays, look into La Grand Residence, intended for travelers wanting high-class accommodations for seven days or more.

Features

Chic boutiques and fine restaurants are within steps of the lobby, and trendy Yaletown and gorgeous English Bay are only minutes away. The onsite Vida Spa can alleviate any lingering jetlag or rejuvenate the tired traveler. Exquisite Northwest cuisine is the standard at Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar, and cozy Gerard Lounge is the perfect place for upscale pub fare. In addition to a complete assortment of equipment, the fitness center has an indoor pool and an extensive poolside menu with healthy spa selections.

 

Listed as one of Travel and Leisure's Top 500, The Sutton Place Hotel is located in the arts and entertainment district and just blocks from Robson Street, one of Canada's most popular shopping areas. Only a block from Robson Square Conference Center, this is also an ideal location for discerning business travelers.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard station (3 blocks)
  • Translink city bus (1 block)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Complimentary weekday limousine service (on-site)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (1 block)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • English Bay (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Business Center
  • Sixteen meeting rooms
  • High-Speed Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
Parking is available for $39.50 per vehicle per night, inclusive of taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver Rooms

Grande Suite
You are surrounded in sheer elegance in our Grand Suites. Grand Suites offer the best for the most discerning traveler, with spacious accommodation of over 400 square feet including a living room separated by double French doors from your bedroom. Each luxuriously appointed and newly renovated Grand Suite offers two televisions, one of which is a flat screen 27", CD/DVD players, in-room electronic safes, fully stocked mini bar, hi-speed internet access, cordless telephones, plush terry robes and much more. At The Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver you just don't stay with us...you escape with us. Escape to luxury and award-winning service.
Deluxe Room
Take in the cityscape views with your deluxe guestroom. Enjoy your king or twin-bedded deluxe guestroom view offering you all the comforts of home and a better view of our beautiful city. Each luxuriously appointed and newly renovated Deluxe Guestroom offers a flat screen 27" television, CD/DVD player, in-room electronic safe, fully stocked mini bar, hi-speed internet access, cordless telephones, plush terry robes and much more. At The Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver you just don't stay with us...you escape with us. Escape to luxury and award-winning service.
Executive Room
Ideal for the traveler who wants a bit more space for their stay. Luxuriate in an Executive Suites offering you a separate seating area from your bedroom. Each luxuriously appointed and newly renovated Executive Suite offers two televisions, one of which is a flat screen 27", CD/DVD players, in-room electronic safes, fully stocked mini bar, hi-speed internet access, cordless telephones, plush terry robes and much more. At The Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver you just don't stay with us...you escape with us. Escape to luxury and award-winning service.
Premium Room
Luxurious Accommodations, One King Bed - Floors 19 to 21 Signature Sutton Serenity Sleeper Bed & Rain Showerhead Upgraded Premium "London Collection" Spa Amenities 27" Flatscreen TV, CD/DVD, Surround Sound, Electronic Safe & Mini Bar High Speed Internet Access & WIFI-Internet Service(fees apply)
Sutton Room
Sutton Style and elegance abounds from each newly renovated king or twin-bedded Sutton guestroom. Each luxuriously appointed and Sutton Guestroom offers a flat screen 27" television, CD/DVD player, in-room electronic safe, fully stocked mini bar, hi-speed internet access, cordless telephones, plush terry robes and much more. At The Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver you just don't stay with us...you escape with us. Escape to luxury and award-winning service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.7 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.1 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.8 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48 mi

Dining

Gerard Lounge
Gerard Lounge at The Sutton Place Hotel is a perfect spot for informal meetings with business associates and casual get-togethers with friends. Decorated unlike any other lounge in Vancouver, Gerard's interior is reminiscent of an English country club with a charming and comfortable atmosphere. It features deep-toned panelled wood-walls, an Old World tapestry, original oil paintings, leather and wingback chairs, subdued lighting and a cozy fireplace. A bevelled-glass mirror and polished brass bottle shelves showcase Gerard's curved marble-topped bar. Gerard is also a favourite with the Celebrity set while filming in Vancouver.
La Boulangerie Bakery & Caf
The sweetest spot on Burrard Street awaits youLa Boulangerie offers guests gourmet coffees, sandwiches, cakes for any occasion and the most sinful creations made fresh daily by our very own Master Chocolatier and Pastry Chef, Wolfgang Dauke.
Boulevard Kitchen + Oyster Bar
Boulevard Kitchen + Oyster Bar decor is reminiscent of a grand European manor, with damask wall coverings and original artwork. The overall atmosphere is elegant, romantic and refined. A passion for food and wine is truly exemplified in Fleuri's innovative classical menu, Fresh Sheet items of the day and weekly five-course tasting menus. Exquisitely prepared and perfectly proportioned courses feature the very best of continental cuisine, inspired by the bounty of Pacific Northwest produce, game, seafood and wines.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our elegant, sunlit meeting & banquet rooms provide the ambience for festive social occasions or productive business affairs. Dedicated professional staff provides the best Accommodations in Vancouver with impeccable service and attention to detail. Sixteen individually designed meeting rooms offer exquisite surroundings and the latest in technological equipment. The on-staff catering professionals are pleased to assist with menu planning, floral arrangements and audiovisual needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doc Austin
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 30, 2010

Good, but lacking attention to detail

The hotel is beautiful when you enter, and the location is fantastic. Unfortunately, I was given a room that shared a wall with the elevator shaft (don't ever get a room there ending in "08") and so I did not sleep well - it was a little late to pack everything up and switch rooms. Also, when I checked out I was not asked how my stay was, so I'm taking the opportunity to do that here. The room was dusty, and there was still a letter from the manager from the week prior about television repairs on the table. There are really bad hard water stains (calcification) on the shower tiles and mold around the soap dish. The internet connection double charged me and I had to have to removed from the bill. On the positive side the view from the room was spectacular, everyone was very polite and it was a great value. Just a little more attention to detail and I'd give the hotel 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a huge number of really good places to eat within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Sep 14, 2010

The Fabulous Sutton Place

We arrived from a cruise to Alaska at 10 am. Our room was ready and it was beautiful We stopped at the concierge desk to find out how to see as much of Vancouver as possible and happened to Mention we were celebrating our anniversary. The next afternoon when we arrived back from exploring Vancouver we were greeted with lovely chocolate pastries on a plate that had "Happy 25th anniversary" written in chocolate. And again at dinner we were served a delicious dessert compliments of the management with the same chocolate message. Every thin was as nice as we could have hoped for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson street is laee than a block away. The sightseeing trolly ride stops right across the street and there are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WingRider67
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 7, 2010

Wonderful, Wonderful

Beautiful rooms, extraordinary staff, and central to everything in downtown Vancouver. A simply wonderful experience. Be sure to take advantage of the concierge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the fried chicken at 'Refuel' - highly recommended by Sunset Magazine and they were spot on!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Aug 19, 2010

Just Excellent

A reasonably priced and high-end hotel that prioritizes customer service and attention to detail. Location is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Aug 9, 2010

Centrally located comfort

Sutton Place is in the middle of everything I like about Vancouver. It's an easy walk to Gastown, Canada Place, Granville Island, the Sky Train, Robson Street shopping, an IGA, a Subway, and everything else you would want close at hand. While it's still a classy hotel, they will be needing to update their furniture soon. But the service is still the best and the staff more than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs
Aug 3, 2010

Great hotel in a great location

We spent two nights at the hotel. On our first day, we walked around town and on the second day we took a 5 hour tour of the city. We ate all our meals at the hotel because the food was fabulous. Many hotels have a gorgeous dining room and low quality of food. The Sutton has it all: beauty, bounty and tasty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Outstanding restaurant with fabulous food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian in Pa
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Aug 2, 2010

Weekend at Sutton Place

Upon arrival staff was friendly and accomodating. We got there off our cruise ship at 10am and the room was ready which was pretty remarkable given the busy nature of that particular weekend. I would reccomend The Sutton Place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, ca
Jul 19, 2010

Relaxing Stay

Extremely helpful staff. We will be back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything downtown is just a short walk way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Just okay.

My expectations were not met for a 4-star hotel. The only advantage to staying at Sutton Place was the location but everything else was at 3-star level. The hotel needs some major updating. It was obvious our room was old by just looking at the shabby bathroom, the worn furniture, outdated decor, the tube tv, and especially the hard bed. Not only that, but WiFi was not complementary. The service from the staff is nothing to rave about. When they couldn't find our reservation at check-in, the person at the front-desk seemed to question us repeatedly as if it was our mistake. It was sorted out eventually but we received a pretty insincere apology when he realized it was their error. When we asked concierge about using the computer in the Business Center to check-in for our flight, one employee said there was a charge but he could do it for us for free. When we asked another employee later, he was kind enough to let us use the computer in the Business Center for free. When we walked in there, guess what else we found? A check-in kiosk for various airlines! Umm, so why didn't the staff just tell us about this machine in the first place? I would be okay with all these flaws if I came in thinking that it was a 3-star hotel. Otherwise, there's plenty of other hotels nearby I'd rather stay in that's worth the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2010

Old World Elegance

the staff were so lovely - as an example, the car was late in picking me up so the doorman stayed outside talking with me to keep me calm. It reminds me of hotels I've stayed at overseas - old world elegance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top