$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Listel Hotel

4 stars
1300 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
153 reviews
Perfect Spot for Visiting Vancouver

This hotel was in a prime location. It was right near all the shops and within walking distance to... See full review

  • Courtney Leigh
  • Nov 12, 2014
Truly was perfect!

This was our first time to Vancouver and I believe we had the best hotel there. The location could... See full review

  • KathyKay
  • Sep 9, 2014
Downtown luxury and artful elegance where every guest room is a gallery

An art lover's delight, this small, distinctive hotel keeps guests in style and comfort right in the heart of Vancouver's significant art scene. Contemporary Northwest coast art graces rooms on the Museum Floors, and the Gallery Floors feature works by esteemed international artists, courtesy of the impressive Buschlen Mowatt Art Gallery. Drop by O'Douls, the popular hotel restaurant and bar, for live jazz and an award-winning wine list. Or visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, shop on Robson Street, and see historic Gastown, all just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Artful decor brings the galleries to the guest rooms
  • Ideal location to experience Vancouver's art scene, shopping, dining and nightlife
  • Commitment to the environment means an eco-friendly stay for all guests
Rooms

Tasteful, classic decor pairs beautifully with the contemporary and traditional art on loan from local galleries and museums in these comfortable rooms. Works by internationally known Canadian artists such Yehouda Chaki, Bernard Cathelin and Z.Z. Wei may be found in rooms on the Gallery Floors. On the Museum Floors, guests will find First Nation artists well represented with incredible pieces from the world-renowned Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia. After admiring the art, get cozy under goose-down comforters, relax with locally produced aromatherapy products or get wired with complimentary French-pressed coffee and in-room Wi-Fi access.

Features

Stay in the heart of the art scene, with work by internationally recognized Canadian artists in many of the rooms. Some of British Columbia's most important art galleries, including Vancouver Art Gallery and Buschlen Mowatt Gallery, are only blocks from the hotel. Enjoy shopping, dining, and nightlife in abundance on Robson Street. And don't miss the great West Coast menu, award-winning wine list and live Jazz nightly at the hotel's popular restaurant and bar, O'Douls. Use the hotel's fitness room, whirlpool and sauna or take advantage of the complimentary pass to a 24-hour fitness center only three blocks away. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and restaurant.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/ 13.9 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard station (3 blocks)
  • Translink city bus (1 block)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (on location)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Stanley Park (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Yaletown (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
Business
  • Business Kiosk, open 24 hours
  • Several meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

49.287 -123.1289
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport -YVR- located 9 miles north of hotel.
Area description
Robson Street (shopping and dining) Eoutside the door, Vancouver Art Gallery E4 blocks, Pacific Centre Mall E5 blocks, Stanley Park E7 blocks, Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre E8 blocks, Cruise ship terminal E8 blocks, Vancouver Aquarium E0.8 km (0.5 miles), Chinatown E1.6 km (1 mile), Gastown E2.4 km (1.5 miles), Granville Island (shopping and dining) E3.2 km (2 miles), HR MacMillan Space Centre E3.2 km (2 miles), Grouse Mountain SkyRide E11.2 km (7 miles).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Listel Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Listel Hotel Rooms

Gallery Room
Curated by the Buschlen Mowatt Gallery, the Gallery Floors are a new concept in hospitality featuring original and limited edition works by such artists as Yehouda Chaki, Bernard Cathelin and Z.Z. Wei. Each room is decorated in a classical style with dark cherry wood furnishings and richly textured fabrics, chaise lounges tucked in bay windows, locally produced aromatherapy products by Deserving Thyme, in-room Torrefazione coffee and complimentary French pressed coffee service each morning. All rooms feature fluffy goose down duvet comforters, pay per view movies, dual-line data ports, wireless hi-speed Internet access, a mini bar, hairdryer, iron & boards, twice daily maid service and complimentary newspaper.
Museum Room
Curated by the world renowned Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia, the Museum Floors are a tribute to all things original and distinctly British Columbian. First Nations artwork & ceramics on loan from the Museum complete the Northwest Coast ambiance in these rooms featured in a retro-modern style with furnishings crafted from hemlock & cedar and set against colors of the forest floor. All Museum Floor rooms feature aromatherapy products locally produced by Deserving Thyme, fluffy goose down duvet comforters, pay per view movies, dual-line data ports, wireless hi-speed Internet access, a mini bar, hairdryer, iron & boards, twice daily maid service and complimentary newspaper.
Standard Room
Located on the second floor of the hotel, these rooms feature a retro design; comfortable furnishings with either one king or one queen or two queen beds complete with goosedown comforters. The second floor standard rooms reflect a sophisticated mix of masculine and feminine forms, fabrics and textures. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • English Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • English Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Dining
Our restaurant - O'Doul's Restaurant & Bar - closed its doors at midnight on June 2nd after 40 Plus years of serving our community. Chef Chris Whittaker and his team will soon open a new, ultra-sustainable restaurant that we hope our guests will come to know and love as much as O'Doul's. Watch for more exciting news regarding our late summer 2012 opening!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
MEETINGS & EVENTS: Whether you are planning a private gathering, a quarterly sales meeting or a strategy session, the meeting space at The Listel Hotel has been designed to provide you with the most productive environment possible. All rooms feature: - Large sound-proof windows with black-out drapes - Independently controlled heating/air conditioning - Variable overhead lighting - A delicious and wide range of food and beverage choices - Wireless high speed Internet access - Full range of audio-visual equipment

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for The Listel Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 153
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pittsburgher Abroad
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2014

Nice little hotel

I came to the Listel Hotel for two days after staying at a different hotel for business for a few days prior in Vancouver. First, the location is quite good: right on Robosn St for excellent shopping all over the place, and a short walk to good restaurants and the seawall. All the staff were very friendly here, had no issues or complaints about service or any cleanliness problems. I basically used this hotel as a central hub as I walked around the city and did some exploring. The room I had was nice, but a little on the small side. They have a nice décor here, very pleasant and unique, and also have a variety of cool artwork set up around the hotel. Nice atmosphere. As you may have seen online elsewhere, prices can get a bit expensive here. Breakfast is the only room service option available, and it's not particularly cheap. The charge for valet parking here is quite high, as it's upwards of 30 dollars/night with additional fees that take it up to about 40/night...really not worth it. Overall I'd say this hotel is a pretty nice place to stay, but I'm not sure how I feel about the pricing for some things. If you aren't planning on having a car (you really don't need it in the city), I'd say it's worth a shot, especially if you can get a good deal on the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many alternatives to the valet parking here. If you look up Easy Park in Vancouver, you can go online and search for a parking lot that suits you. Many of them offer overnight rates that are much lower than the 40 bucks/night you are paying for valet here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Travelled Sailor
Business
Victoria BC
May 21, 2014

Average hotel, great staff

The hotel has nothing to stand out from the many other 4-star hotels in Vancouver but the staff is what makes it a great place to stay. Extremely helpful bunch!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop for a parkade before you check-in. There are many around that area and most are cheaper than the hotel's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madisontraveler
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Apr 29, 2013

Great location, Great value!

Excellent location on Robson Street, in convenient walking distance to attractions in downtown and the waterfront. I got an almost unbelievably good deal on a "Museum" room, which turned out to be a lovely (and huge!) modern room with some beautiful First Nations artwork--even though the room faced the Robson St. side of the building it was remarkably quiet too. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. I've noticed a few other reviewers making kind of silly complaints about parking costs... well, you drove into the city with North America's most expensive parking rates, and that's mostly because of taxes that are out of the hotel's control. If you're driving, you're going to have to deal with it no matter where you stay. The hotel is on one of main downtown bus loops and a short stroll from several SkyTrain and Canada Line stations, so apart from all the stuff that's in walking distance, you shouldn't need a car to get around, so ditch the car and save yourself some money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't drive. Parking in downtown Van is insanely pricey. If you need to go further than the many attractions in walking distance, walk the short distance to one of the SkyTrain or Canada Line stations and buy a TransLink day pass. For just under $10 you get unlimited mass transit rides across all of metro Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mai Le
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2013

Listel for LOCATION

The great part about this hotel is the locaton. Everything else seemed mediocre, typical hotel. You're within walking distance of Coal Harbor, English Bay, and Stanley Park. I've been to many hotels and this is the 1st hotel that I had to ever insert my room key card to get the elevator moving??? With regards to the classic king size bedroom, there was leftovers in the mini fridge from the previous occupants that the maintenance staff forgot to clean. However staff was nice and quick to resolve that issue. The bathroom had shampoo conditioner and body wash dispensers on the walls, not the typical little bottles. Restaurant hotel was your average restaurant hotel. Overall it was not bad but definitely not 4 star in my book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bicycle rentals are everywhere. Hop on Hop off Bus stop is on the next block from the hotel. You can take a leisurely stroll from Coal Harbor to English Bay in like less than 30 minutes??? and Whole Foods about 3 blocks down from the hotel as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donaji
Business
Phoenix AZ
Sep 25, 2012

Good for a quick trip to BC

The room was cleaned but there was a lot of long hair in the sink! The bed was hard , the hall ways were dark. You have to use a key to unlock the elevator to get to your floor. The location is great and the staff very helpful. Nearby shopping, historic and scenic sites. No restaurant in the hotel but many small restaurants in the area. A bit over priced for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes and watch out for dog excrement on the sidewalks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nonsmoker1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Friendly staff, Great location

Daily wine receptions and friendly staff make this a good hotel, the location makes it excellent. Very walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CruzerBruce
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Listel

I've stayed at the Listel before. Cheap Tickets provided a simple booking option that provided a great discount to boot. Thank you Cheap Tickets. I will use you again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cardero's on the water front is a great dinning venue within a 10-15 walk. Cheers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123anon
Business
CA
Nov 6, 2011

Would stay again

I was supposed to get either a 1 king beg or 2 queens on the 2nd floor as part of my package. But I was given what felt like a full sized bed; it definitely wasn't a king. I didn't pursue the issue since it was traveled alone. I was given a corner room which was great; there was only 1 room next to mine. My stay was quiet and as a light sleeper, I slept well my enitre stay. Room was clean but I did find some hairs under my pillow. It bothered me but not enough to warrant a complaint. Other than that, the room was clean overall. Location was convenient; walking distance to Stanley Park, beach, and public transit. There a lot of good ethnic restaurants nearby. Hotel not as close to the skytrain as I would've liked, but still within walking distance. I liked hotel's emphasis on the environment. But disliked the resort fee since I rarely use amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

On weekends a single fare on skytrain covers all 3 zones. The info desk at YVR has a lot of good maps. I utilized the maps a lot. The hotel uses a specific cab co (yellow); I don't recommend them. The driver was rude. I also didn't notice a meter. My fare was within reason, though. Make sure you know the approximate cab fare in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2011 travel vacation full year
Business
Victoria, BC
Apr 26, 2011

Great location, reasonable price

If you want to be right at the heart of Vancouver without the noise - this is a good place, great staff experience, relatively inexpensive, carpet could use changing,Restaurant downstairs good. - No fancy paper and pen in the room to get in the way, Two pillows only, lumpy, no view, bathroom very low light, smelly shower curtain. Overall not really bad. Don't look for fancy, just a good solid three star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

parking is valet only:$33/day. Parking across the street is at $14 full day + $7/night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Great place for business trip!

Great location and amenities. Includes telephone calls to the US, internet, faxes and copies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian dining down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top