The Listel Hotel

4 stars
1300 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
222 reviews
Wonderful, Eco-friendly hotel

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and accommodating. Even though we didn't spend much time... See full review

  • DKarli
  • May 11, 2014
Excellent experience for the price

The concierge service was great--friendly and very helpful. She provided us maps and recommended... See full review

  • Pink Starburst
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown luxury and artful elegance where every guest room is a gallery

An art lover's delight, this small, distinctive hotel keeps guests in style and comfort right in the heart of Vancouver's significant art scene. Contemporary Northwest coast art graces rooms on the Museum Floors, and the Gallery Floors feature works by esteemed international artists, courtesy of the impressive Buschlen Mowatt Art Gallery. Drop by O'Douls, the popular hotel restaurant and bar, for live jazz and an award-winning wine list. Or visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, shop on Robson Street, and see historic Gastown, all just blocks away.

Highlights
  • Artful decor brings the galleries to the guest rooms
  • Ideal location to experience Vancouver's art scene, shopping, dining and nightlife
  • Commitment to the environment means an eco-friendly stay for all guests
Rooms

Tasteful, classic decor pairs beautifully with the contemporary and traditional art on loan from local galleries and museums in these comfortable rooms. Works by internationally known Canadian artists such Yehouda Chaki, Bernard Cathelin and Z.Z. Wei may be found in rooms on the Gallery Floors. On the Museum Floors, guests will find First Nation artists well represented with incredible pieces from the world-renowned Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia. After admiring the art, get cozy under goose-down comforters, relax with locally produced aromatherapy products or get wired with complimentary French-pressed coffee and in-room Wi-Fi access.

Features

Stay in the heart of the art scene, with work by internationally recognized Canadian artists in many of the rooms. Some of British Columbia's most important art galleries, including Vancouver Art Gallery and Buschlen Mowatt Gallery, are only blocks from the hotel. Enjoy shopping, dining, and nightlife in abundance on Robson Street. And don't miss the great West Coast menu, award-winning wine list and live Jazz nightly at the hotel's popular restaurant and bar, O'Douls. Use the hotel's fitness room, whirlpool and sauna or take advantage of the complimentary pass to a 24-hour fitness center only three blocks away. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and restaurant.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/ 13.9 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard station (3 blocks)
  • Translink city bus (1 block)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (on location)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Stanley Park (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Yaletown (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
Business
  • Business Kiosk, open 24 hours
  • Several meeting rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access

The Listel Hotel Rooms

Gallery Room
Curated by the Buschlen Mowatt Gallery, the Gallery Floors are a new concept in hospitality featuring original and limited edition works by such artists as Yehouda Chaki, Bernard Cathelin and Z.Z. Wei. Each room is decorated in a classical style with dark cherry wood furnishings and richly textured fabrics, chaise lounges tucked in bay windows, locally produced aromatherapy products by Deserving Thyme, in-room Torrefazione coffee and complimentary French pressed coffee service each morning. All rooms feature fluffy goose down duvet comforters, pay per view movies, dual-line data ports, wireless hi-speed Internet access, a mini bar, hairdryer, iron & boards, twice daily maid service and complimentary newspaper.
Museum Room
Curated by the world renowned Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia, the Museum Floors are a tribute to all things original and distinctly British Columbian. First Nations artwork & ceramics on loan from the Museum complete the Northwest Coast ambiance in these rooms featured in a retro-modern style with furnishings crafted from hemlock & cedar and set against colors of the forest floor. All Museum Floor rooms feature aromatherapy products locally produced by Deserving Thyme, fluffy goose down duvet comforters, pay per view movies, dual-line data ports, wireless hi-speed Internet access, a mini bar, hairdryer, iron & boards, twice daily maid service and complimentary newspaper.
Standard Room
Located on the second floor of the hotel, these rooms feature a retro design; comfortable furnishings with either one king or one queen or two queen beds complete with goosedown comforters. The second floor standard rooms reflect a sophisticated mix of masculine and feminine forms, fabrics and textures. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

49.287 -123.1289
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport -YVR- located 9 miles north of hotel.
Area description
Robson Street (shopping and dining) Eoutside the door, Vancouver Art Gallery E4 blocks, Pacific Centre Mall E5 blocks, Stanley Park E7 blocks, Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre E8 blocks, Cruise ship terminal E8 blocks, Vancouver Aquarium E0.8 km (0.5 miles), Chinatown E1.6 km (1 mile), Gastown E2.4 km (1.5 miles), Granville Island (shopping and dining) E3.2 km (2 miles), HR MacMillan Space Centre E3.2 km (2 miles), Grouse Mountain SkyRide E11.2 km (7 miles).

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • English Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
MEETINGS & EVENTS: Whether you are planning a private gathering, a quarterly sales meeting or a strategy session, the meeting space at The Listel Hotel has been designed to provide you with the most productive environment possible. All rooms feature: - Large sound-proof windows with black-out drapes - Independently controlled heating/air conditioning - Variable overhead lighting - A delicious and wide range of food and beverage choices - Wireless high speed Internet access - Full range of audio-visual equipment

Dining

Dining
Our restaurant - O'Doul's Restaurant & Bar - closed its doors at midnight on June 2nd after 40 Plus years of serving our community. Chef Chris Whittaker and his team will soon open a new, ultra-sustainable restaurant that we hope our guests will come to know and love as much as O'Doul's. Watch for more exciting news regarding our late summer 2012 opening!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for The Listel Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aubiegirl
Bellevue, WA, USA
Sep 3, 2013

Great location, average hotel

The interior of the hotel was classy and interesting with the different types of artwork. But, I don't see it as a 4-star hotel other than the price. When making the reservation, we chose a king-size bed, but upon arrival was given a queen-size bed in a room overlooking a back alley next to the dumpsters. Unfortunately, the dumpsters are emptied fairly early in the morning. The hotel only has six floors, so don't expect any stunning views. We did have a nice view of a man changing his clothes in the apartment next door as we walked down the hall to our room. The room is average-sized, the bed is fairly comfortable (even though it was smaller than we requested). Valet parking is pretty expensive, and it takes 15-20 minutes to have your car delivered. The staff is friendly and were willing to hold our bags for a couple of hours after we checked out so we could do some last minute shopping. The location is near several great stores and restaurants as well as about 1 block away from a Big Bus stop. However, next time I'll probably choose another hotel so I can have better views of Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Big Bus stop about 1 block away is a great way to get an intro to the city. You can hop on or off at any of the attractions you may be interested in.

Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grannie T
Horsham, UK
Aug 31, 2013

Good central base

Disappointing first impression but we were only in a standard room. Grew to like the Listel as it was easy to get around from here. Room facilities were fine -spacious, large comfy bed, good shower, but no communal lounge/public areas made it a place just to come back and sleep. The associated restaurant Forage is excellent and a real dining experience without being pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
idance75
Evansville, IN
Aug 15, 2013

Awesome!

We loved our stay at The Listel. The staff were so helpful and kind. We arrived late at night and the staff helped us check in and get settled quickly. They provided us with a map of Vancouver, explained how to get around town, suggested great restaurants, and made dinner reservations for us. We highly recommend visiting Vancouver and staying at the Listel is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by great restaurants and shopping.

Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA traveler
Seattle, WA
Jun 26, 2013

perfect location, professional staff, fine room

The Listel is a great choice for the urban traveler who wants good access to restaurants, shops, and a sophisticated urban feel. This hotel also happens to be only a few blocks from Stanley Park, a great summertime attraction for locals and tourists. My wife and I love to explore cites on foot, and this is the perfect jump-off location for seeing the West End and beyond. The staff was excellent. We arrived a few hours before our scheduled 3 PM check-in, and while they couldn't provide us an early check-in, they did happily hold our bags, our car (for a pricey but worthwhile $36 fee, more below), and made us feel that we were welcome. All of our subsequent interactions with staff members at the actual 3 PM check in and at check out can be classified as "a very good experience". The staff was first-rate and made us feel like our business was wanted. Price-wise, it's neither a bargain or over-priced, so overall, well worth it. The room is as expected- very clean, eco-friendly, modern and comfortable in all ways. The fitness room is surprisingly good (not great) for a smaller hotel. Regarding parking, the valet parking ($36 including tax) was kind of expensive but since parking is metered in this neighborhood, and car vandals are common, it was worth it. If you ask, they will let you leave your car after your noon check-out so that you can walk the area a little more before you depart. As a bonus, when the valet retrieved my car, he left two delicious chocolate chip cookies in the front seat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like artisanal coffee, check out West End (WE) coffee on Robson, a few blocks north of the hotel. It's a great little shop, also with excellent service from people who know coffee. Save the chain coffee shops for another time.

Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KB Traveller
San Jose, CA
Jun 9, 2013

Great location

Easy walk to historic area, Gastown, cruise terminals and west section. No breakfast but Starbucks is just across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Markster from OC
Orange County, CA
May 30, 2013

Just what was needed!

Coming off a cruise for a one-day lay-over before heading home, the Listel Hotel provided just what we needed upon our return. Clean, quiet, and within walking distance to a ton of varied restaurants and /shopping needs, free landline calls into the US, free internet access including a computer for access as we traveled without one. Would stay there again next time in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mychuby
Stevenson ranch ca
May 29, 2013

location is perfect

we loved staying at listel hotel, Location is nice, a lot of restaurants and shopping.. I don't need anything more.. everything was there.. ate a lot of different cuisine, afghan food, Malaysian, Thai, Japanese everything was there.. food is great.. The staff was nice, our flight is not until 6 pm so we asked the front desk for a late checkout and it was fine with them.. everything is accessible.. this location is better then canada place or Granville.. it is really close to everything.. we will stay here again or recommend this to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

less than 5 minute walk to the center of the shopping district

Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madisontraveler
Madison, WI, USA
Apr 29, 2013

Great location, Great value!

Excellent location on Robson Street, in convenient walking distance to attractions in downtown and the waterfront. I got an almost unbelievably good deal on a "Museum" room, which turned out to be a lovely (and huge!) modern room with some beautiful First Nations artwork--even though the room faced the Robson St. side of the building it was remarkably quiet too. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. I've noticed a few other reviewers making kind of silly complaints about parking costs... well, you drove into the city with North America's most expensive parking rates, and that's mostly because of taxes that are out of the hotel's control. If you're driving, you're going to have to deal with it no matter where you stay. The hotel is on one of main downtown bus loops and a short stroll from several SkyTrain and Canada Line stations, so apart from all the stuff that's in walking distance, you shouldn't need a car to get around, so ditch the car and save yourself some money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't drive. Parking in downtown Van is insanely pricey. If you need to go further than the many attractions in walking distance, walk the short distance to one of the SkyTrain or Canada Line stations and buy a TransLink day pass. For just under $10 you get unlimited mass transit rides across all of metro Vancouver.

Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
handybilly
sunnyvale ca
Apr 14, 2013

Listel Hotel

A standard hotel room with the usual services. The corridors were lined with art work. the lpounge had only Canadian products which means no scotch. The breakfast was very good quality and reasonable priced. parking was very expensive so it is not a hotel to use if you are driving but it is within walking distance of most things down town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Listel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mai Le
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2013

Listel for LOCATION

The great part about this hotel is the locaton. Everything else seemed mediocre, typical hotel. You're within walking distance of Coal Harbor, English Bay, and Stanley Park. I've been to many hotels and this is the 1st hotel that I had to ever insert my room key card to get the elevator moving??? With regards to the classic king size bedroom, there was leftovers in the mini fridge from the previous occupants that the maintenance staff forgot to clean. However staff was nice and quick to resolve that issue. The bathroom had shampoo conditioner and body wash dispensers on the walls, not the typical little bottles. Restaurant hotel was your average restaurant hotel. Overall it was not bad but definitely not 4 star in my book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bicycle rentals are everywhere. Hop on Hop off Bus stop is on the next block from the hotel. You can take a leisurely stroll from Coal Harbor to English Bay in like less than 30 minutes??? and Whole Foods about 3 blocks down from the hotel as well.

Back to menu Return to top