Super 8 Vancouver

2 stars
725 South East Marine Dr., Vancouver, BC V5X 2T9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
39 reviews
good location and amenities

I think for the price it was excellent value, including the breakfast, lounge, and bar service. I t... See full review

  • ikebod
  • Nov 10, 2013
excellent

hav fun, fun n fun Ty so much to make everything easier See full review

  • funalltheway
  • Oct 29, 2011
Affordable comfort convenient to the airport and downtown Vancouver

This friendly hotel is only 10 minutes from the Vancouver International Airport and 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver. Getting to and from the airport is easy with the hotel's free airport shuttle service. Getting around downtown is just as simple with Vancouver's excellent public transit system, Canada Line, going to nearly every corner of the city. Hit the lanes at the Airport Inn's on-site bowling center. Find chic treasures on Robson Street, explore historic Gastown, or go for the snow, and hit the slopes on Grouse Mountain.

Highlights
  • On-site bowling alley
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free airport-shuttle service
Location

Vancouver is one of North America's most beautiful cities, surrounded by gorgeous natural areas and brimming with incredible events and attractions. Guests at the Airport Inn enjoy exceptional ease of travel to and from the airport with the free shuttle service as well as close proximity to all the excitement of downtown. Catch a game at BC Place, or a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Visit Stanley Park, a 1,000-acre urban forest, for a touch of adventure in the city. The more daring head out to Grouse Mountain or the Capilano Suspension Bridge, just beyond the city limits.

Rooms

The rooms here have all the standard amenities, with a few bonuses, such as free high-speed Internet access and complimentary daily newspapers. Local calls are also free, and tour-bus parking is available. Children under 18 stay free with adult guardians. All guests are welcome to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast.

Features

The on-site hotel restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, and Hippo's Sports Bar and Grill opens at 11:30. Families enjoy Town and Country Bowling Centre for on-site fun, particularly during "showtime" when the lights go down for glow-in-the-dark bowling.

Transportation
  • City bus stop (across the street)
  • Vancouver International Airport (4.8 mi/ 7.7 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (5.5 mi/ 8.9 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (5.6 mi/ 9 km)
  • Historic Gastown (5.6 mi/ 9 km)
  • Robson Street (7.6 mi/ 12.3 km)
  • Stanley Park (9 mi/ 14.5 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (9.1 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Grouse Mountain (11.1 mi/ 17.9 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 175
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Map

49.2111 -123.0903
Area description
Financial district

Nearby points of interest

  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • False Creek: 4.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 4.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • General Motors Place: 4.7 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 4.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 4.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 5.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 5.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 5.4 mi
  • Marine Building: 5.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • False Creek: 4.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 4.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • General Motors Place: 4.7 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 4.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 4.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 5.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 5.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 5.4 mi
  • Marine Building: 5.5 mi
  • Canada Place: 5.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 5.5 mi
  • Stanley Park: 6.1 mi
  • English Bay: 6.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 6.7 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 8.1 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 8.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 8.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 8.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 9.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 52.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Vancouver

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
socaqueen
Business
miami
May 27, 2012

very clean and spacious room

Clean, quiet; bus stop and airport nearby. Free convenient suttle service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeanne B.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 23, 2012

good deal for a few bucks

Front desk staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Room was not very large but had all the accommodations we expected. Busy traffic from street below was intrusive, but heavy blackout curtain did drown out most of the noise. Taxi fare from ship was $27, but the motel's private shuttle bus to the airport certainly made up for that. Bus right outside front door takes you to the sky train which is the best way to see the sights of this beautiful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spke
Business
Washington, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Rundown ramshackle

I was not expecting a great deal of comfort for the price but I had hoped for much more than I received. The parking is very strange you have to rely on there being someone at the front desk who can hear you honk your horn to get in and out of the basement parking. After this you wind your way through the abandoned areas of the hotel used for storage and dust collection. Arriving at the elevator you are greeted by multiple trash cans that are in place to catch the water coming from the ceiling. Once you have reached your floor on the rickety elevator and get into your room with the small CRT TV you can then fully appreciate the age of the building and how very little of it has been renovated. The sheets and towels were clean though small. I don't really have a lot of anything good to say other than the staff was nice and the room seemed as clean as the age of the building would allow. The area should be mentioned though as the hotel has a very seedy liquor store that is part of the same building so I would try and avoid parking outside of the basement parking so you do not have to deal with making any police reports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LCE206
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2012

Good value for location and room

The room was clean and staff was friendly. However, the rooms were not fully booked and they decided to put people in the room next to us. The walls are fairly thin and I could hear their TV, and they could hear us talking. The noise from the other room was an issue. Other than that, the continental breakfast was pretty good and I would come back if I needed to stay in that area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA boi
Business
Downey, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Canada trip

I'll get it straight. The front desk is NOT accommodating and has poor Customer Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
funalltheway
Business
canada, philippines, Bali
Oct 29, 2011

excellent

hav fun, fun n fun Ty so much to make everything easier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
moon
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 18, 2011

Horrible Experience

The room was horrible, because the door was broken, totally out from the bathroom, just put it next by the closet, and one of six drawers was missing , I couldn't believe this is the motel, after I seen the room, I didn't want to stay anymore, but the room was prepaid, so, I had no choice, I took the pictures and showed it to him, he didn't say sorry and looked like nothing to him, then he switched another room for me on the same floor, I still didn't like it. because the staff was very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
South Dakota
Jul 17, 2011

Vancouver Super 8-Not that great

I only stayed one night at the Vancouver Super 8, right before I flew out of the airport. The front desk clerk was not very helpful, the parking garage was dimly lit, dirty and a little scary. The room itself was clean, but the light switch was broken, and I was located just above a bar/night club that was fairly loud. When I checked out in the morning, the front desk clerk checked me out of the wrong room. Not impressed at all. There was something that felt off about this place. Thank goodness I only stayed there one night. The one good thing about this hotel was that it was about 12 minutes from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Frugal Couple
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 7, 2011

Affordable Place

Hotel is clean and close to public transportation, such as bus and skytrain connection. I enjoyed the continental breakfast and the free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really want to save money and sacrifice a little walk to the bus station, this is the way to do it. You don't want to pay a fortune to stay in a hotel, just to sleep for a few hours and you're out all day anyway, so what do you need a 5 star hotel for?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 17, 2011

ONE Star Worthy

This hotel was pretty dumpy! Right on a busy street with no view although we were thrilled it had parking! The a/c unit rattled and hummed, the windows were shoddy, beds & carpet questionable. Watch out for the bathroom door, there are obstructions. I immediately wanted to get out of this place! The breakfast was awful. You help yourself to cooking your toast, grab a boiled egg or a pancake and that is it! A liquer store is attached to it and you'll need it to sleep soundly & comfortably in this rat hole! Spoke to another couple there who vacation frequently in Vancouver and always stay at this place. We asked why? They said "the price"! We asked about all the stains on the floors, they said they have been there over 10 yrs! This place is where the 1-star rating came from!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Only thing worth noting is the price, you get what you pay for here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top