$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Super 8 Vancouver

2 stars
View map of 725 South East Marine Dr., Vancouver, BC V5X 2T9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Vancouver

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
socaqueen
Business
miami
May 27, 2012

very clean and spacious room

Clean, quiet; bus stop and airport nearby. Free convenient suttle service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeanne B.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 23, 2012

good deal for a few bucks

Front desk staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Room was not very large but had all the accommodations we expected. Busy traffic from street below was intrusive, but heavy blackout curtain did drown out most of the noise. Taxi fare from ship was $27, but the motel's private shuttle bus to the airport certainly made up for that. Bus right outside front door takes you to the sky train which is the best way to see the sights of this beautiful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spke
Business
Washington, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Rundown ramshackle

I was not expecting a great deal of comfort for the price but I had hoped for much more than I received. The parking is very strange you have to rely on there being someone at the front desk who can hear you honk your horn to get in and out of the basement parking. After this you wind your way through the abandoned areas of the hotel used for storage and dust collection. Arriving at the elevator you are greeted by multiple trash cans that are in place to catch the water coming from the ceiling. Once you have reached your floor on the rickety elevator and get into your room with the small CRT TV you can then fully appreciate the age of the building and how very little of it has been renovated. The sheets and towels were clean though small. I don't really have a lot of anything good to say other than the staff was nice and the room seemed as clean as the age of the building would allow. The area should be mentioned though as the hotel has a very seedy liquor store that is part of the same building so I would try and avoid parking outside of the basement parking so you do not have to deal with making any police reports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LCE206
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 18, 2012

Good value for location and room

The room was clean and staff was friendly. However, the rooms were not fully booked and they decided to put people in the room next to us. The walls are fairly thin and I could hear their TV, and they could hear us talking. The noise from the other room was an issue. Other than that, the continental breakfast was pretty good and I would come back if I needed to stay in that area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA boi
Business
Downey, CA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Canada trip

I'll get it straight. The front desk is NOT accommodating and has poor Customer Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
funalltheway
Business
canada, philippines, Bali
Oct 29, 2011

excellent

hav fun, fun n fun Ty so much to make everything easier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
moon
Business
San Francisco, California
Sep 18, 2011

Horrible Experience

The room was horrible, because the door was broken, totally out from the bathroom, just put it next by the closet, and one of six drawers was missing , I couldn't believe this is the motel, after I seen the room, I didn't want to stay anymore, but the room was prepaid, so, I had no choice, I took the pictures and showed it to him, he didn't say sorry and looked like nothing to him, then he switched another room for me on the same floor, I still didn't like it. because the staff was very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
South Dakota
Jul 17, 2011

Vancouver Super 8-Not that great

I only stayed one night at the Vancouver Super 8, right before I flew out of the airport. The front desk clerk was not very helpful, the parking garage was dimly lit, dirty and a little scary. The room itself was clean, but the light switch was broken, and I was located just above a bar/night club that was fairly loud. When I checked out in the morning, the front desk clerk checked me out of the wrong room. Not impressed at all. There was something that felt off about this place. Thank goodness I only stayed there one night. The one good thing about this hotel was that it was about 12 minutes from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Frugal Couple
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 7, 2011

Affordable Place

Hotel is clean and close to public transportation, such as bus and skytrain connection. I enjoyed the continental breakfast and the free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really want to save money and sacrifice a little walk to the bus station, this is the way to do it. You don't want to pay a fortune to stay in a hotel, just to sleep for a few hours and you're out all day anyway, so what do you need a 5 star hotel for?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 17, 2011

ONE Star Worthy

This hotel was pretty dumpy! Right on a busy street with no view although we were thrilled it had parking! The a/c unit rattled and hummed, the windows were shoddy, beds & carpet questionable. Watch out for the bathroom door, there are obstructions. I immediately wanted to get out of this place! The breakfast was awful. You help yourself to cooking your toast, grab a boiled egg or a pancake and that is it! A liquer store is attached to it and you'll need it to sleep soundly & comfortably in this rat hole! Spoke to another couple there who vacation frequently in Vancouver and always stay at this place. We asked why? They said "the price"! We asked about all the stains on the floors, they said they have been there over 10 yrs! This place is where the 1-star rating came from!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Only thing worth noting is the price, you get what you pay for here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top