Sunset Inn and Suites

3 stars
1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
32 reviews
AJR3

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had good restaurant suggestions, arranged a taxi, and... See full review

  • AJR3
  • Jun 13, 2014
Wonderful Hotel Experience from Start to Finish

The front desk staff at this hotel are extremely accommodating and friendly. They allowed us to... See full review

  • PantherChick85
  • May 31, 2014
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver��s scenic West End, the Sunset Inn and Suites is an all-suite hotel with some of the largest rooms in the city. A modern high-rise, the hotel has a fabulous location on a quiet residential street. The Sunset Inn & Suites is within easy walking distance to all of downtown Vancouver��s many attractions. It is just a few short blocks from the city��s beaches, English Bay, Stanley Park, Robson Street, the sea wall promenade, the Granville Island Market ferry, sports centers, theatres, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The hotel��s neighborhood offers a wide spectrum of dining experiences to satisfy every appetite. Offering views of Vancouver��s skyline and mountains, the Sunset Inn��s spacious, well-appointed studios and one bedroom suites all have fully-equipped kitchens (with microwaves and coffee makers), dining areas and private balconies. Also available are complimentary gated parking (a rare downtown amenity!), air-conditioning, non-smoking rooms, maid and concierge services, an exercise room and laundry facilities. The Sunset Inn & Suites, AAA/CAA approved, has an exceptional record of customer satisfaction and repeat guests, whose loyalty is won by an attentive and friendly staff. With its great location and spacious accommodations, the hotel meets the needs of business travelers, families and vacationers searching for good value and a home away from home. The Sunset Inn & Suites is perfect for a few days��or weeks��of business, recreation or relaxation in one of the world��s most beautiful cities. Vancouver City Center -YVR- 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1P4, Canada

Sunset Inn and Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Larger than most hotel rooms our Studio Suites -500 sq. feet- feature a king bed, separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a private balcony, individual direct dial telephone numbers for each room and the amenities fou
One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen
Our large One Bedroom Suites -650 sq. feet- feature a separate bedroom -king or queen bed-, a living room with a double-size sofa bed, comfortable chair and small desk, a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a priv
One Bedroom Suite 2 Twins
These large One Bedroom Suites -650 sq. feet- feature a separate bedroom with two twin beds, a living room with a double-size sofa bed, comfortable chair and small desk, a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a pr
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Our Superior One Bedroom Suites -700 sq. feet- feature a separate bedroom with a queen bed, a living room with two double-size sofa beds, comfortable chair and small desk, a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a l
Room amenities
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Hotel Map

49.2798 -123.1325
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.6 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.8 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.5 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.7 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.6 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.3 mi

Dining

Dining
No restaurant on-site. A large selection of restaurants are available in the hotel's immediate vicinity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Inn and Suites

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caroloma
Broomfield, Co
Aug 28, 2014

add on visit to cruise

Parking for hotel very difficult to get to. Absolutely no parking in front of hotel; only street parking that was full for blocks and hotel parking only available after checking in & then very difficult to find a spot. Front desk not knowledgeable about area & restaurants we were in. Wish we would not have added Vancouver to out itinery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S BIED
Portland Oregon
Jan 3, 2011

Recommend wholeheartedly

I really liked the location of the Sunset Inn. Not in the heart heart heart of the big-city feeling neighborhoods and also not in the party town "I couldn't sleep cause of all the rowdiness" either. But only about eight (somewhat long) blocks from the heart heart heart of the big-city neighborhood, only four blocks from the False Creek waterfront and ferry to Granville Island, in a quiet residential neighborhood, but only one block away from a shopping street that felt like a University District sort of street (though none is nearby): felafel, gyros, sushi, chinese, head shops, non-sleazy adult shops, etc. That street was great for when I didn't feel like heading out to a fancy dinner. The suite was huge. The maid service followed my specialized request. They do wash your pots and pans and dishes if you put them in the sink. Some days the maid service came quite late, after 5 pm. I assume if you need earlier you can request it. The folks at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful. Parking is included in the price, which is great. If you have a big car or are not used to manuevering in big-city cramped parking structures, you might just find it easier to settle for the non-secured, "pull right in" spots in the back, instead of one of the two small, stacked above each other, secured lots. If you get back to the hotel late you may be forced into the non-secured spots anyway. When I was, and asked the desk if I should be worried, they said no, not unless I have valuables out in the open, which I assume no one here would be foolish enough to do. The wireless in-room internet connection was somewhat unreliable. I didn't mention it to them till I checked out, and they said "You should've told us right away; I think we could've fixed it", so this may or may not be germane. The kitchen was adequately stocked with dishes, silverware, pots and pans, etc. I went to a supermarket on that street one block over and stocked up for breakfast and for midnight snack items. The hotel has a very light continental buffet. English muffins, ordinary bread, croissants, dry cereal, coffee, tea, juice, some fruit. They don't have a communal eating area. You come downstairs, get your stuff, and bring it back to the room. Which is what I would have done anyway. I got coffee and croissants, went upstairs, cooked breakfast meats and eggs from the market, and ate in my room. I was perfectly happy with that, and, indeed, could have a really filling breakfast and then save money by either doing a very light lunch or by doing a very late lunch and a very light dinner. I would stay with these folks again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vancouver was great
Seattle
Aug 13, 2012

Great suite in a great location

I stayed here for one night for a quick weekend on Vancouver. I ended up picking Sunset Suites mainly based on checking the 1-star reviews for various hotels around the city. Almost all hotels, even expensive ones, had past reports of bed bugs, but I didn't see any for Sunset Suites, so I went with them. The staff are very casual, friendly, and helpful. It's more of a bed and breakfast vibe than a hotel, so if you like to pretend like your celebrity when traveling, you won't like here, but I really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. The suite was huge, clean, and felt like a very comfortable apartment. The bathroom was nice too with good water pressure, good light, and nice mirrors. I was on the third floor overlooking the tree-lined street. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to the beach from the hotel at sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruskin
Eugene, OR
Dec 7, 2013

Great Location

The Sunset Inn is 2 blocks from Davie Street and dozens of small restaurants that feature Greek, Thai, Japanese, Afgani, Italian, French and Malaysian food. It is also a few blocks from the water taxi to Granville Island and a few blocks from major bus lines to go anywhere in the Vancouver area, including UBC for the anthropology museum. It's also a short stroll to Stanley Park. It's a comfortable super convenient place to see Vancouver from on foot and by public transport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takis Taverna has lamb to die for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ragland T. Tiger
San Diego, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Funky parking situation

Finding the place is trickier than you would guess by looking at a map, and then you have to do some funky driving to get into their small parking lot. You may have to double park and leave your keys with the desk. There might be great views if you are on an upper floor on the west side, but our room (202) rested above a parking lot next to an alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maidens, VA
Jul 12, 2008

Affordable place for a group

Great neighborhood and a nice hotel if staying with more than two people. Apartment feel...clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visit BC
Burlington, WA
Feb 18, 2014

great value and comfortable stay

staff so friendly and helpful, room was spotless, easy walking distance to great restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beechsport
Seattle
Sep 21, 2011

Location, location, location

Just off Davie street the Sunset Inn and Suites is perfect for your 'family' vacation. Hard to ask for much more at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within short walking distance... even if you're an American.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betsey horse
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2014

Good location and spacious suite

This was a very good bargain and a great location. The hotel is a bit tired but the room was very spacious and very comfortable sleeping. We also enjoyed the terrace which looked out on a quiet street. Parking was also very convent. We were able to easily walk down to the beach and water taxi to Granville Island. My only suggestion is that they do a better job of explaining the breakfast routine...which is the need to bring down your own tray and plates to take food back to your room. Very confusing and congested! But would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The street behind the hotel...was loaded with every type of food you could want!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwestern music teacher
Indianpolis, IN
Jul 23, 2013

Beautiful sights just minutes away!

The front staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. The walk to the oceanside and marinas is short like 2-3 blocks which makes it easy to get to and enjoy. Having the fully stocked kitchen allows eating in your room to be easy and save you money. Looking out over the city to the mountains and clouds is a beautiful view. My family had a very nice time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stanley Park is beautiful to walk but give yourself at least half a day to enjoy it. The totem poles and light house areas and lady in wet suit should be included in your walk. Simply beautiful looking out at the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top