Sunset Inn and Suites

3 stars
1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
36 reviews
Fantastic Value

Hotel location was close to everything. Staff was fantastic See full review

  • Happy Georgian
  • Oct 12, 2014
Great vacation

Our suite was spacious and very clean and comfortable!! The staff was very helpful. I would... See full review

  • Sussaann
  • Sep 23, 2014
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver��s scenic West End, the Sunset Inn and Suites is an all-suite hotel with some of the largest rooms in the city. A modern high-rise, the hotel has a fabulous location on a quiet residential street. The Sunset Inn & Suites is within easy walking distance to all of downtown Vancouver��s many attractions. It is just a few short blocks from the city��s beaches, English Bay, Stanley Park, Robson Street, the sea wall promenade, the Granville Island Market ferry, sports centers, theatres, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The hotel��s neighborhood offers a wide spectrum of dining experiences to satisfy every appetite. Offering views of Vancouver��s skyline and mountains, the Sunset Inn��s spacious, well-appointed studios and one bedroom suites all have fully-equipped kitchens (with microwaves and coffee makers), dining areas and private balconies. Also available are complimentary gated parking (a rare downtown amenity!), air-conditioning, non-smoking rooms, maid and concierge services, an exercise room and laundry facilities. The Sunset Inn & Suites, AAA/CAA approved, has an exceptional record of customer satisfaction and repeat guests, whose loyalty is won by an attentive and friendly staff. With its great location and spacious accommodations, the hotel meets the needs of business travelers, families and vacationers searching for good value and a home away from home. The Sunset Inn & Suites is perfect for a few days��or weeks��of business, recreation or relaxation in one of the world��s most beautiful cities. Vancouver City Center -YVR- 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1P4, Canada

Sunset Inn and Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Larger than most hotel rooms our Studio Suites -500 sq. feet- feature a king bed, separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a private balcony, individual direct dial telephone numbers for each room and the amenities fou
One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen
Our large One Bedroom Suites -650 sq. feet- feature a separate bedroom -king or queen bed-, a living room with a double-size sofa bed, comfortable chair and small desk, a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a priv
One Bedroom Suite 2 Twins
These large One Bedroom Suites -650 sq. feet- feature a separate bedroom with two twin beds, a living room with a double-size sofa bed, comfortable chair and small desk, a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a pr
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Our Superior One Bedroom Suites -700 sq. feet- feature a separate bedroom with a queen bed, a living room with two double-size sofa beds, comfortable chair and small desk, a separate dining area, fully equipped kitchen with microwave and coffee maker, a l
Room amenities
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Hotel Map

49.2798 -123.1325
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.6 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.8 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.5 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.7 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.6 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.3 mi

Dining

Dining
No restaurant on-site. A large selection of restaurants are available in the hotel's immediate vicinity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Inn and Suites

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2011

Great value for price!

Initially had room on 3rd floor but was upgraded to 11th because our room was not ready when we arrived. Very nice of the manager! Breakfast is limited but we got our morning fuel before heading out to explore the city - there are tons of eating options so you can always grab a bite at a cafe etc within 2 block radius. Great view of the city from the 11th floor - so if you like that, ask while booking. Room is adequately furnished, we were there to sleep in at night so good enough. Also liked free parking availability.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weather permitting, there are many options around the hotel. You can take the bus 1 block from the hotel to other neighborhoods (Gastown, Yaletown, Downtown-Robson) etc. Shopping is along Robson St is best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
United States
Nov 2, 2009

Great Vancouver hotel (with kitchen!)

I was in town with a dozen colleagues for a week-long conference. We all found this hotel to be great. The staff was super friendly, and [...] was especially helpful. The rooms were spacious and the full kitchens in each room allowed us the rare treat of cooking instead of eating every meal out. Name the last time you were able to throw a dinner party for 16 people in your room--we pulled it off! The hotel is located in the West End and has a very residential feel (beautiful tree-lined street). While it's not right next to any tourist destination, it is easy walking distance to everything.The fitness center is small with rather old equipment, but with Stanley Park close by, you can easily get all the exercise you need outdoors so that wasn't a huge detriment. The continental breakfast is minimal but functional. There are several markets within a couple blocks so it's easy to buy more substantial food. Lots of great restaurants right around the corner too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to take the ferry to Granville Island. There's a bridge, but walking over it causes you to severely overshoot the destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Oct 16, 2009

Comfortable and helpful staff

We could walk to food and to the water. Stanley Park was close by and we had good access to highways. The staff was helpful when asked questions and showed interest in what we were trying to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maidens, VA
Jul 12, 2008

Affordable place for a group

Great neighborhood and a nice hotel if staying with more than two people. Apartment feel...clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc G8R
Business
Beaverton,Oregon
Dec 21, 2010

Intimate old school charm!

I had to make last minute arrangements . I had stayed at various hotels in previous trips to Vancouver but I wanted something different! I perused the Internet and found listings of the best hotels-The Sunset caught my eye because of outstanding service/small intimate atmosphere/central location and FREE PARKING! Well,it lived up to my high expectations! The staff were most helpful and charming-The suite had a glorious view of the water and surrounding condos decked out in all their holiday finery; was spacious with a magnificent king sized bed and tastifully appointed The free internet access was an added bonus and was very easy to hook up -The parking was indeed free and had easy access-I didn't have an opportunity to get the free breakfast but did manage to sample the free egg nog /cookies and oranges-All delicious-And a free newspaper delivered daily was another nice touch-All in all,this hotel was a great find and a wonderful value-I'd certainly consider staying there again and would highly recommend it to family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the opportunity to walk along Sunset beach-It's a wonderful hike down to the beach and the scenery is spectacular with many fun things to do. Bring your camera

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beechsport
Business
Seattle
Sep 21, 2011

Location, location, location

Just off Davie street the Sunset Inn and Suites is perfect for your 'family' vacation. Hard to ask for much more at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within short walking distance... even if you're an American.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJWL
Business
South Carolina
Jun 22, 2014

Great Staff

Sunset Inn was in a great location and the staff was the most pleasant and helpful I have ever encountered. Plenty of space in the suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Stanley Park and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betsey horse
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2014

Good location and spacious suite

This was a very good bargain and a great location. The hotel is a bit tired but the room was very spacious and very comfortable sleeping. We also enjoyed the terrace which looked out on a quiet street. Parking was also very convent. We were able to easily walk down to the beach and water taxi to Granville Island. My only suggestion is that they do a better job of explaining the breakfast routine...which is the need to bring down your own tray and plates to take food back to your room. Very confusing and congested! But would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The street behind the hotel...was loaded with every type of food you could want!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dubaa
Business
oregon
Sep 30, 2014

The pearl in Vancouver BC

Spacious suite ,very helpful staff , quaint neigborhood with lots of dining choices.within walking distance, easy access to pick and drop tour bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Musician
Business
Inland NW
Oct 11, 2014

Really good chice for me

This is a gem of a hotel in Vancouver. Greeted at check-in by a very kind attendant named Brad, all of the others were great as well. I had a standard suite which had a balcony that looked out south, nice. The suite was perfect for me, having a work space separate from the bedroom is something I wish I could always afford, only here is that possible! The main draws for me was the suite-style and the free, secure parking (I didn't think it was so tight as others say- I was expecting something really difficult to maneuver around but I had no problem at all), and the free breakfast. The breakfast isn't much to write about, but does the job. The only minor gripes I have are that the bathroom sink drained way too slowly (I should have brought it to their attention but simply never remembered to, a little drain-o would do the trick) and that I was kept awake by thumping music from a loud dance-club which plays until 3AM, even on Sunday. I was tempted to not write this review in an attempt to keep it a secret, but they have such a good establishment that I believe they deserve all the business they can get. I will stay there on my next trip to Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top