$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
81 reviews
Really enjoyed our stay!!

We really enjoyed our stay. The bedroom and the living room with the kitchen area are really nice.... See full review

  • Chomp's Dad
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great stay

I have only stayed at this hotel every time I come to Vancouver. The best central location to stay,... See full review

  • Island paddler
  • Jun 24, 2014
Just like home, but with a much better view

With the exciting West End at the doorstep, beautiful English Bay in view and spacious suites with full kitchens, Sandman Suites offers a great location for an extended stay. Keep fit with a long walk or jog along nearby English Bay or utilize the fully-equipped, on-site fitness center. Guests relax at the seasonal outdoor pool or rejuvenate at pHresh Spa +Wellness Club, where massage, skincare and yoga are all available. Dining in is easy with full kitchens in every suite, but eating out is just as fun with Moxie's Classic Grill right downstairs.

Highlights
  • Spacious suites with full kitchens and in-room washer and dryers
  • On-site Moxies Classic Grill serves great food to please nearly every palette
  • Seasonal outdoor pool available to all guests

 

Rooms

Furnishing and decor in these spacious Sandman suites are classic and uncomplicated. Views from nearly every suite are stunning, particularly from a personal balcony. In-suite kitchens include full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. All suites also have a washer and dryer, TV and high-speed Internet access.

 

Features

Guests find everything they need for a comfortable extended stay at the Sandman on Davie. Suites are large with full kitchens and in-room laundry facilities. The hotel is pet-friendly so ask about special accommodations for furry or feathered friends. Most of the year guests can enjoy Vancouver's gorgeous weather with a stroll along the beach at English Bay or in trendy Davie Village. Chic boutiques, art galleries and innovative, world-class restaurants are only blocks away on Robson Street. Iconic Stanley Park is perfect for a hike or a picnic. Or soak up the rays by the seasonal outdoor pool. When the weather doesn't cooperate, work up a sweat in the on-site fitness center or relax at pHresh Spa + Wellness Club.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/13.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Davie Village (across the street)
  • English Bay beaches (0.4 mi/0.1 km)
  • Robson Street shopping district (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

49.2812 -123.1325
Area served
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Nearby airports
YVR Vancouver International Airport
Area description
1160 Davie Street (between Bute and Thurlow), steps away from the trendy West End Davie Village. Other attractions include: English Bay 7 blocks away, Stanley Park 10 blocks, Robson Street shopping 5 blocks, Yaletown (Canada Line Skytrain) 10 blocks, Granville Island 1.8 miles, Gastown (Historic District) 1.6 miles, Chinatown 1.6 miles, Vancouver Aquarium 10 blocks, Science World 1.6 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver Rooms

One Bedroom Suite - Ocean View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Ocean View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
Jacuzzi Penthouse Studio Suite
Penthouse Level, Studio Suite (Maximum 2 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 Queen Bed, Jacuzzi Soaker Tub, Bathrobe, Designer Toiletries, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Shower Only, Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, Private Balcony: Panoramic Views, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 1 LCD TV, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - City View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - Limited View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Limited View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.5 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.7 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.6 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Boardroom for 14 people. Must be booked with the Sales Manager at the hotel directly. Telephone: 604-781-7263

Dining

Moxie's Classic Grill
Upscale casual dining experience. Serving a variety of cuisine including brunch, burgers, steaks, pasta, salads, appetizers and desserts. Special menu items for Kids. Website: www.moxies.ca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Sep 19, 2009

Beware: this hotel charges $100 per day

Beware: this hotel charges $100 per day incidental hold on your credit card. Resturant food was good but service was horribly slow. Wireless internet in rooms did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
May 22, 2008

Not a great place

The room was horrible, the carpet was absolutely filthy and had numerous burn marks. I did not have a wahser/dryer as stated in amenities. Room is very small, I had to get into the bathtub to be able to close the door to use the tiolet. Area was Ok. I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Misleading
Business
Spanaway, Washington
May 30, 2013

Business travel

Dirty, the hotel does not make you feel welcome. What a headache every-time you got into the elevator you have to insert you room key. back of the hotel, way to security parking, very trashy. Room itself empty. terrible bedding, door to washer stuck. noisy people. Flake room services, if you go to the tv and check room services, goes in a loop, nothing in writing, just a phone number and why they keep advertising Moxies Grill, I do not think it was worthy. No starts from me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hammo
Business
Victoria BC
Jun 30, 2009

Only if you're desperate !!!

We upgraded to a "city view" room which cost us extra $ and our aspect was out towards Denman Street and Stanley Park (we couldn't see the park at all). We were told that anything above the 9th floor was considered a "city view" room, even if you weren't facing the city. What a rip off !!!! We had a one bedroom suite that was apparently for 4 people, however it only had towels for 2 people. We asked for some more towels and normal, non-decafinated coffee and decafinated coffee was bought to us; when we had stressed this point. There was absolutely no room to open the chest of draws. There was 20cm between the end of the bed and the chest of draws and I have a nice bruise on my hip from constantly hitting it. This hotel was so bad and we have travelled extensively .... absolutely the worst in Vancouver for us and we have probably stayed at 10 different places across the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Denman Street there is a fantastic Japanese restaurant called Tanpopo .... you must book.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis
May 20, 2010

Noisy and cramped.

Have stayed elsewhere many times and will continue to do so. We got out of this hotel after one night. Really, really small rooms. Noise level from intersection keeps you from sleeping and the air conditioner noise is ridiculous. Even the manager admitted that, in more than one room. Parking entry was downright scarry, have to drive around the dumster divers, not safe for a woman alone. Silver fish on floor of bathroom, no place to hide because it is so small. Fridge door does not close because it is so tightly wedged into counter. Main room has a single bed chair to sit on. No other chair or place to sit if more than one person in room. Elevators make people miss flights at the airport, BEYOND SLOW and you have to know to press the opposite direction of your destination if you want it to move. We moved out as soon as we could. The manager was great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Coast Plaza at Comox and Denman.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Topher2
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Convenient Location

The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered service without the asking. It is an older hotel obviously, so it would take a considerable amount of money to upgrade the heating and air conditioning, but the rooms have full kitchens with separate sleeping areas. The beds are overdue for an upgrade to something more comfortable, but again, that is another expense. The thing they do have control over is the cleanliness, and the rooms are overdue for a thorough cleaning. The repair to detail would just be icing on the cake if they could just deep cleanse the rooms and give them that shine and fresh smell that guests look forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MaryD.
San Diego, CA
Sep 28, 2012

Sandman suite needs some improvement

We had stayed in this hotel before and had an overall good impression. The room was cleaner and front desk employees were friendlier and helpful. We did not have the same experience this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane WA
Jun 11, 2011

Sandman Suites on Davie

Traveled to Vancouver and wanted to stay downtown near everything. It was the hockey playoffs and nearly everything was booked. Found the Sandman Suites on [...]and booked with themThe hotel is in a fairly decent location. Was given a room and found that the room was not quite what I expected. The suite was small and had a loveseat that took up the entire seating area in the living room. The double bed took up all of the bedroom leaving small areas on each side of the bed to walk by and about a six inch area in front of the bed to cross in front of the old TV and out to the living area. The living area had a small stove, refrigerator and utensils. The bed was soft and uncomfortable. The bathroom had a broken shower which was not fixed during our 4 day stay there - the water did not shut off and the mixing valve did not work, giving us cold to luke warm showers. The suite was made up late every day. The front desk staff was indifferent. A key card was needed to work the elevators and most of the time the cards did not work and we ended up at times locked in an elevator since you needed a key card to work to press the buttons. At times the key cards had to be rekeyed since they did not open the room or the elevator. The front desk staff was indifferent. Parking was underground but needed the key card which variably worked. Room service is from Moxies Restaurant and at times they did not have staff so you had to go down and get the food yourself. The food was poor with undercooked burgers that tasted off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat elsewhere in the city - not a lot of good restaurants around this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDen
San Diego
May 29, 2013

Good location and lots of space

The staff for very nice and helpful, the hotel is very conveniently located, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see/do. Rooms are nothing fancy but clean and provide lots of space and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a greek restaurant a block away that is great. Plus there are several other great places for any taste less than 5 minutes walking distance from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bartloo
Nj
Aug 24, 2014

Terrible family visit

Hotel was average but the elevators were the worst I ever experienced. Had to walk up and down 10 flights because of the wait. Average wait was 10 minutes but as long as 45 minutes. I would never stay there again. Our first room smelled like mildew but they moved us after 3 days. Stayed 8 days because I could not find another hotel. Avoid this one at all costs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search