$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
125 reviews
Really enjoyed our stay!!

We really enjoyed our stay. The bedroom and the living room with the kitchen area are really nice.... See full review

  • Chomp's Dad
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great stay

I have only stayed at this hotel every time I come to Vancouver. The best central location to stay,... See full review

  • Island paddler
  • Jun 24, 2014
Just like home, but with a much better view

With the exciting West End at the doorstep, beautiful English Bay in view and spacious suites with full kitchens, Sandman Suites offers a great location for an extended stay. Keep fit with a long walk or jog along nearby English Bay or utilize the fully-equipped, on-site fitness center. Guests relax at the seasonal outdoor pool or rejuvenate at pHresh Spa +Wellness Club, where massage, skincare and yoga are all available. Dining in is easy with full kitchens in every suite, but eating out is just as fun with Moxie's Classic Grill right downstairs.

Highlights
  • Spacious suites with full kitchens and in-room washer and dryers
  • On-site Moxies Classic Grill serves great food to please nearly every palette
  • Seasonal outdoor pool available to all guests

 

Rooms

Furnishing and decor in these spacious Sandman suites are classic and uncomplicated. Views from nearly every suite are stunning, particularly from a personal balcony. In-suite kitchens include full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. All suites also have a washer and dryer, TV and high-speed Internet access.

 

Features

Guests find everything they need for a comfortable extended stay at the Sandman on Davie. Suites are large with full kitchens and in-room laundry facilities. The hotel is pet-friendly so ask about special accommodations for furry or feathered friends. Most of the year guests can enjoy Vancouver's gorgeous weather with a stroll along the beach at English Bay or in trendy Davie Village. Chic boutiques, art galleries and innovative, world-class restaurants are only blocks away on Robson Street. Iconic Stanley Park is perfect for a hike or a picnic. Or soak up the rays by the seasonal outdoor pool. When the weather doesn't cooperate, work up a sweat in the on-site fitness center or relax at pHresh Spa + Wellness Club.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/13.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Davie Village (across the street)
  • English Bay beaches (0.4 mi/0.1 km)
  • Robson Street shopping district (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

49.2812 -123.1325
Area served
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Nearby airports
YVR Vancouver International Airport
Area description
1160 Davie Street (between Bute and Thurlow), steps away from the trendy West End Davie Village. Other attractions include: English Bay 7 blocks away, Stanley Park 10 blocks, Robson Street shopping 5 blocks, Yaletown (Canada Line Skytrain) 10 blocks, Granville Island 1.8 miles, Gastown (Historic District) 1.6 miles, Chinatown 1.6 miles, Vancouver Aquarium 10 blocks, Science World 1.6 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver Rooms

One Bedroom Suite - Ocean View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Ocean View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
Jacuzzi Penthouse Studio Suite
Penthouse Level, Studio Suite (Maximum 2 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 Queen Bed, Jacuzzi Soaker Tub, Bathrobe, Designer Toiletries, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Shower Only, Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, Private Balcony: Panoramic Views, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 1 LCD TV, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - City View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - Limited View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Limited View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.5 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.7 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.6 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.2 mi

Dining

Moxie's Classic Grill
Upscale casual dining experience. Serving a variety of cuisine including brunch, burgers, steaks, pasta, salads, appetizers and desserts. Special menu items for Kids. Website: www.moxies.ca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Boardroom for 14 people. Must be booked with the Sales Manager at the hotel directly. Telephone: 604-781-7263

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 7, 2007

Great place to stay

The Sandman Suites on Davie was an ideal location. Everything you need is within walking distance, if not the bus system and Skytrain are excellent. The room was comfortable, with each room having it's own balcony. I took advantage of the free heated swimming pool, and sauna. The hotel staff were very helpful with directions to all areas of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Aug 6, 2008

With two televisions, a ...

With two televisions, a dishwasher and an ensuite European-style washer/dryer, it was better equiped than my place. There is a sofa-bed so the room is good for families. Excellent staff who immediately responded to a key card problem and had no problems with a one hour check-out delay request. Room was very clean, all well maintained and with great views from the balcony. There even free internet access in the room. 10 units per floor, so if you can, ask for a corner room; with more windows, more light. One drawback was the bedroom was a bit small. Very narrow space between the bed and the dresser. Not good for the physically challenged. I will stay at the Sandman Suites on Davie the next time I'm in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants, caf?s and bars in the neighbourhood, but there is also a grocery store almost next door so you can do your own cooking.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Sep 8, 2007

Great Location

The location was excellent, very close to all the Vancouver attractions, lots of dining choices, grocery stores nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The attractions are just a short drive away (Stanley Park, Capilano brodge, Grouse mountain, Granville, Gastown). In fact you could probably walk to all these places (except for the Capilano and the Grouse).

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Sep 4, 2007

Great location

The hotel is in a great location, with good restaurants,coffee shops, bakeries, and fresh fruit & vegetable markets nearby. A short walk to Robson Street, Stanley Park, English Bay, and a short water bus ride to Granville Island. The hotel is not fancy, but it was clean, the front desk people were friendly & helpful, and the small suite had a full kitchen. There is a pool, health spa, sauna, and business center for computer access (for a fee). My only complaint was that my laptop could not connect to the internet on the free connection in my room. Other than that, it was a great place to stay, and a good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good ethnic restaurants all around the hotel, as well as good coffee shops, bakeries, and fresh fruit & vegetable markets. In walking distance to most major attractions, such as Stanley Park, English Bay, Robson Street, etc.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alonso
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 1, 2007

Excellent Guest Attention

The staff of the hotel was beyond friendly...they bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was excellent. The front desk staff was very professional and attentive. They addressed every concern we had, and even sent an attendant, to our room when our internet service went out. He was the best during our stay! The maid service forgot our room one day, but management ensured that they came at our convenience the next day. Also, management called us sporadically to inquire if we were pleased with the service. Our room on the 23rd floor had an awesome view of the harbor and mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A huge array of restaurants are right outside the door, as well as the supermarket.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR.Adam
Utah
May 7, 2014

we stay there every trip

if there booked we don't go to Vancouver. great bars across the street restaurant inside is awesome staff is awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 21, 2007

Fabulous Views and Affordable Options

If you want to be in the heart of Vancouver, feel like a star, and still have pocket change, you'll definitely want to stay at the Sandman Suites on Davie. It's worth the cost to get those stunning views of the harbor, so ante up, it will put a kick in your step and wow any visitors. The updated kitchen, fully equipped, allows you to splurge on the town, but keep other meals affordable. An excellent washer/dryer combo adds to overall convenience, especially if this is a business trip or one stop on a summer holiday! Be sure to check out festival dates far in advance, so you'll have the best rooms for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a few blocks, there are numerous affordable and $$$$ restaurants, as well as excellent grocery shops, bakeries, and coffee houses. You just really can't go wrong.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester
Sep 8, 2007

Friendly and Satisfactory

We arrived after a long tiring journey (plane holdups) so we were hoping all would be well with the hotel. Check in was friendly and quick, good staff on reception made us feel welcome. Room was slighty smaller than we imagined we had a delux ocean view with balcony. We had two windows the one with the balcony was breathtaking overlooked the ocean and the city, great photos. the other was views of the main street and city.We were on the 20th floor good lift no problems. The room had a kitchenette, fridge,microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer, iron kettle, coffee maker etc. All worked very well and were handy,beds comfy,very clean and tidy bathroom good, daily maid service kept everything clean fresh towels. We never felt uneasy in this area, bright well lit pently of shops, cafes, restaurants open till late. Not noisy for us but this could be due to the fact we were so high up on our floor. Hotel restaurant very nice and handy.Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only one problem if you want to go on the rocky mountain railway you are not picked up at this hotel, but the pick up is two blocks down, dropped off afterwards outside hotel. Great location for the Vancouver tour bus and buses into town.Close to Robson street, great greek restaurant 3/4 mins away.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, California
Jun 14, 2009

Great value Great location

Great value for the location. Near the bay, shopping and restaurants. If you like a convenient location then the Sandman is your choice. Staff was very thorough and highly professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester
Sep 8, 2007

Friendly and Satisfactory

We arrived after a long tiring journey (plane holdups) so we were hoping all would be well with the hotel. Check in was friendly and quick, good staff on reception made us feel welcome. Room was slighty smaller than we imagined we had a delux ocean view with balcony. We had two windows the one with the balcony was breathtaking overlooked the ocean and the city, great photos. the other was views of the main street and city.We were on the 20th floor good lift no problems. The room had a kitchenette, fridge,microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer, iron kettle, coffee maker etc. All worked very well and were handy,beds comfy,very clean and tidy bathroom good, daily maid service kept everything clean fresh towels. We never felt uneasy in this area, bright well lit pently of shops, cafes, restaurants open till late. Not noisy for us but this could be due to the fact we were so high up on our floor. Hotel restaurant very nice and handy.Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only one problem if you want to go on the rocky mountain railway you are not picked up at this hotel, but the pick up is two blocks down, dropped off afterwards outside hotel. Great location for the Vancouver tour bus and buses into town.Close to Robson street, great greek restaurant 3/4 mins away.

Back to menu Return to top