$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
Really enjoyed our stay!!

We really enjoyed our stay. The bedroom and the living room with the kitchen area are really nice.... See full review

  • Chomp's Dad
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great stay

I have only stayed at this hotel every time I come to Vancouver. The best central location to stay,... See full review

  • Island paddler
  • Jun 24, 2014
Just like home, but with a much better view

With the exciting West End at the doorstep, beautiful English Bay in view and spacious suites with full kitchens, Sandman Suites offers a great location for an extended stay. Keep fit with a long walk or jog along nearby English Bay or utilize the fully-equipped, on-site fitness center. Guests relax at the seasonal outdoor pool or rejuvenate at pHresh Spa +Wellness Club, where massage, skincare and yoga are all available. Dining in is easy with full kitchens in every suite, but eating out is just as fun with Moxie's Classic Grill right downstairs.

Highlights
  • Spacious suites with full kitchens and in-room washer and dryers
  • On-site Moxies Classic Grill serves great food to please nearly every palette
  • Seasonal outdoor pool available to all guests

 

Rooms

Furnishing and decor in these spacious Sandman suites are classic and uncomplicated. Views from nearly every suite are stunning, particularly from a personal balcony. In-suite kitchens include full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. All suites also have a washer and dryer, TV and high-speed Internet access.

 

Features

Guests find everything they need for a comfortable extended stay at the Sandman on Davie. Suites are large with full kitchens and in-room laundry facilities. The hotel is pet-friendly so ask about special accommodations for furry or feathered friends. Most of the year guests can enjoy Vancouver's gorgeous weather with a stroll along the beach at English Bay or in trendy Davie Village. Chic boutiques, art galleries and innovative, world-class restaurants are only blocks away on Robson Street. Iconic Stanley Park is perfect for a hike or a picnic. Or soak up the rays by the seasonal outdoor pool. When the weather doesn't cooperate, work up a sweat in the on-site fitness center or relax at pHresh Spa + Wellness Club.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/13.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Davie Village (across the street)
  • English Bay beaches (0.4 mi/0.1 km)
  • Robson Street shopping district (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver Rooms

One Bedroom Suite - Ocean View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Ocean View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
Jacuzzi Penthouse Studio Suite
Penthouse Level, Studio Suite (Maximum 2 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 Queen Bed, Jacuzzi Soaker Tub, Bathrobe, Designer Toiletries, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Shower Only, Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, Private Balcony: Panoramic Views, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 1 LCD TV, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - City View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - Limited View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Limited View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.5 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.7 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.6 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Boardroom for 14 people. Must be booked with the Sales Manager at the hotel directly. Telephone: 604-781-7263

Dining

Moxie's Classic Grill
Upscale casual dining experience. Serving a variety of cuisine including brunch, burgers, steaks, pasta, salads, appetizers and desserts. Special menu items for Kids. Website: www.moxies.ca

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Jun 15, 2009

A Great Spot in Vancouver

The location is excellent. It's right in the middle of a hip, alternative, charming neighborhood with lots of cool, little shops and places to eat. There are also nightlife spots (and parents should be advised there are some adult entertainment places right nearby, but they aren't particulary obtrusive--my kids never noticed them, especially since they aren't visible if you enter/exit the hotel through the parking garage). The staff at the hotel were all very friendly. The elevators were a little slow (one was out of order), but that is hardly a complaint. Overall, this place really rocked! It's a fun place at a great price. We stayed on the sea-view side of the hotel, and the view was amazing! Just looking out the balcony was a highlight of the trip. The hotel is just a few blocks from the beautiful English Bay and splendors of Stanley Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Eatery on W. Broadway is a fun, hip place to go for a great time and great sushi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 4, 2007

Great location

The hotel is in a great location, with good restaurants,coffee shops, bakeries, and fresh fruit & vegetable markets nearby. A short walk to Robson Street, Stanley Park, English Bay, and a short water bus ride to Granville Island. The hotel is not fancy, but it was clean, the front desk people were friendly & helpful, and the small suite had a full kitchen. There is a pool, health spa, sauna, and business center for computer access (for a fee). My only complaint was that my laptop could not connect to the internet on the free connection in my room. Other than that, it was a great place to stay, and a good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good ethnic restaurants all around the hotel, as well as good coffee shops, bakeries, and fresh fruit & vegetable markets. In walking distance to most major attractions, such as Stanley Park, English Bay, Robson Street, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Aug 6, 2008

With two televisions, a ...

With two televisions, a dishwasher and an ensuite European-style washer/dryer, it was better equiped than my place. There is a sofa-bed so the room is good for families. Excellent staff who immediately responded to a key card problem and had no problems with a one hour check-out delay request. Room was very clean, all well maintained and with great views from the balcony. There even free internet access in the room. 10 units per floor, so if you can, ask for a corner room; with more windows, more light. One drawback was the bedroom was a bit small. Very narrow space between the bed and the dresser. Not good for the physically challenged. I will stay at the Sandman Suites on Davie the next time I'm in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants, caf?s and bars in the neighbourhood, but there is also a grocery store almost next door so you can do your own cooking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jun 16, 2008

Convenient location and stay

The Sandman was conveniently located (somewhat like being in NY City). Outside of the hotel is a coffee shop, bakery and fruit and vegetable market with sidewalk stands. You can walk to any desired ethnic food restaurant, as the street is lined with casual dining. The room has a very well kept, fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable bed with living room pull-out couched, which did not induce any complaints from our 16 year old son. In fact the Greek restaurant right next door had a motley standing queue waiting for dinner. Robson St. is a $5 cab ride away, or you can walk through nice shopping/business neighborhoods. The Sandman's personnel is accommodating. We even stored our luggage for the day while we enjoyed the city until our evening flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Oct 19, 2008

Excellent Hotel and Staff

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is perfect to take advantage of the west end. The view was great overlooking English Bay. The kitchen was well equipped. I was very comfortable cooking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery stores and boutique shops are a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alonso
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 1, 2007

Excellent Guest Attention

The staff of the hotel was beyond friendly...they bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was excellent. The front desk staff was very professional and attentive. They addressed every concern we had, and even sent an attendant, to our room when our internet service went out. He was the best during our stay! The maid service forgot our room one day, but management ensured that they came at our convenience the next day. Also, management called us sporadically to inquire if we were pleased with the service. Our room on the 23rd floor had an awesome view of the harbor and mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A huge array of restaurants are right outside the door, as well as the supermarket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester
Sep 8, 2007

Friendly and Satisfactory

We arrived after a long tiring journey (plane holdups) so we were hoping all would be well with the hotel. Check in was friendly and quick, good staff on reception made us feel welcome. Room was slighty smaller than we imagined we had a delux ocean view with balcony. We had two windows the one with the balcony was breathtaking overlooked the ocean and the city, great photos. the other was views of the main street and city.We were on the 20th floor good lift no problems. The room had a kitchenette, fridge,microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer, iron kettle, coffee maker etc. All worked very well and were handy,beds comfy,very clean and tidy bathroom good, daily maid service kept everything clean fresh towels. We never felt uneasy in this area, bright well lit pently of shops, cafes, restaurants open till late. Not noisy for us but this could be due to the fact we were so high up on our floor. Hotel restaurant very nice and handy.Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only one problem if you want to go on the rocky mountain railway you are not picked up at this hotel, but the pick up is two blocks down, dropped off afterwards outside hotel. Great location for the Vancouver tour bus and buses into town.Close to Robson street, great greek restaurant 3/4 mins away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 26, 2007

Great location

This hotel was in the heart of a great walking neighborhood, surrounded by great eateries, lots of internet cafes and touristy shops,a fresh fruit market and bakery right next door, and a short distance from Stanley Park and the beach. We were pleasantly suprised to find a full kitchen in our room, complete with flatware, glasses, and plates. We were able to make our own breakfast each morning and to use fresh items from the market next door. The only disappointment is that there was not indoor pool or hot tub, the outdoor pool was heated but we were just not confident it was heated enough for us to take a dip in the cool Vancouver spring. The hotel overall was very nice and we'd stay there again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 11, 2007

Location, location,location

Great veiw, very freindly staff with knowledgeable recommendations as to where to spend time or eat out. Vey clean,comfortable rooms, Teh bath was small but suitable. The hotel seemed close to almost everything of interest to us. We'll be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Stanley Park, Dining of all kinds and the nightlife is right out side the lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island paddler
Business
Hawaii/San Diego
Jun 24, 2014

Great stay

I have only stayed at this hotel every time I come to Vancouver. The best central location to stay, comfortable walking distance to Yaletown, Ferry to Granville, Stanley Park. If cooking/ Foodie is your thing, the kitchen has all the basic cookware and with the new fresh seafood doors away and Granville market across the river just minutes by ferry, can't beat your own possibilities and creations. great reasonable restaurants, the best poutine across the street, downtown nightlife just 10 minutes away, housekeeping always the best. Yeah,,, I like this place, especially during the summer. So easy to get to from the airport. Haven't been here for the winter yet, but will soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For the Foodie, Granville market has so many options, yeah its $$$ for some items like foie gras (in a can or fresh), but for fromage, charcuterie, fresh meats, bread, seafood and so much more, 1 week is not enough

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top