$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
126 reviews
Really enjoyed our stay!!

We really enjoyed our stay. The bedroom and the living room with the kitchen area are really nice.... See full review

  • Chomp's Dad
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great stay

I have only stayed at this hotel every time I come to Vancouver. The best central location to stay,... See full review

  • Island paddler
  • Jun 24, 2014
Just like home, but with a much better view

With the exciting West End at the doorstep, beautiful English Bay in view and spacious suites with full kitchens, Sandman Suites offers a great location for an extended stay. Keep fit with a long walk or jog along nearby English Bay or utilize the fully-equipped, on-site fitness center. Guests relax at the seasonal outdoor pool or rejuvenate at pHresh Spa +Wellness Club, where massage, skincare and yoga are all available. Dining in is easy with full kitchens in every suite, but eating out is just as fun with Moxie's Classic Grill right downstairs.

Highlights
  • Spacious suites with full kitchens and in-room washer and dryers
  • On-site Moxies Classic Grill serves great food to please nearly every palette
  • Seasonal outdoor pool available to all guests

 

Rooms

Furnishing and decor in these spacious Sandman suites are classic and uncomplicated. Views from nearly every suite are stunning, particularly from a personal balcony. In-suite kitchens include full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave and dishwasher. All suites also have a washer and dryer, TV and high-speed Internet access.

 

Features

Guests find everything they need for a comfortable extended stay at the Sandman on Davie. Suites are large with full kitchens and in-room laundry facilities. The hotel is pet-friendly so ask about special accommodations for furry or feathered friends. Most of the year guests can enjoy Vancouver's gorgeous weather with a stroll along the beach at English Bay or in trendy Davie Village. Chic boutiques, art galleries and innovative, world-class restaurants are only blocks away on Robson Street. Iconic Stanley Park is perfect for a hike or a picnic. Or soak up the rays by the seasonal outdoor pool. When the weather doesn't cooperate, work up a sweat in the on-site fitness center or relax at pHresh Spa + Wellness Club.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.6 mi/13.9 km)

 

Attractions
  • Davie Village (across the street)
  • English Bay beaches (0.4 mi/0.1 km)
  • Robson Street shopping district (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

49.2812 -123.1325
Area served
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Nearby airports
YVR Vancouver International Airport
Area description
1160 Davie Street (between Bute and Thurlow), steps away from the trendy West End Davie Village. Other attractions include: English Bay 7 blocks away, Stanley Park 10 blocks, Robson Street shopping 5 blocks, Yaletown (Canada Line Skytrain) 10 blocks, Granville Island 1.8 miles, Gastown (Historic District) 1.6 miles, Chinatown 1.6 miles, Vancouver Aquarium 10 blocks, Science World 1.6 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver Rooms

One Bedroom Suite - Ocean View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Ocean View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
Jacuzzi Penthouse Studio Suite
Penthouse Level, Studio Suite (Maximum 2 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 Queen Bed, Jacuzzi Soaker Tub, Bathrobe, Designer Toiletries, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Shower Only, Fully Equipped Kitchen: Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, Private Balcony: Panoramic Views, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 1 LCD TV, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - City View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), City View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.
One Bedroom Suite - Limited View
One Bedroom Suite (Maximum 3 People), Limited View, Smoke-Free, 1 King Bed, Private 3-Piece Bathroom: Bathtub with Shower, Separate Living Area, 1 Pull-Out Sofa Bed (Single), Fully Equipped Kitchen, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Cook-Top, Oven, Dishwasher, Cookware, Tableware, Dining Table and Chairs, In-Suite Washer and Dryer, Private Balcony, Alarm Clock Radio, Climate Control: Heating and Air Conditioning, Coffee Maker: Complimentary Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet Access, 2 TV's, Telephone: Voice Mail and Computer Data Port, Work Desk: Ergonomic Chair and Desk Lamp, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Outdoor Pool (Seasonal), Secure Parking Facility (Extra Fee), Moxie's Classic Grill (Room Service), M Bar Lounge, pHresh Spa and Wellness Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.5 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.7 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.6 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.2 mi

Dining

Moxie's Classic Grill
Upscale casual dining experience. Serving a variety of cuisine including brunch, burgers, steaks, pasta, salads, appetizers and desserts. Special menu items for Kids. Website: www.moxies.ca

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Boardroom for 14 people. Must be booked with the Sales Manager at the hotel directly. Telephone: 604-781-7263

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 126
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gma Jae
Camarillo
Sep 29, 2013

great suite

this is a great suite at a good price. the location is close to everything but the area lacked ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDen
San Diego
May 29, 2013

Good location and lots of space

The staff for very nice and helpful, the hotel is very conveniently located, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see/do. Rooms are nothing fancy but clean and provide lots of space and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a greek restaurant a block away that is great. Plus there are several other great places for any taste less than 5 minutes walking distance from this hotel.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor 2012
Scotland
Mar 14, 2013

Great place

Was recommended to stay here. Staff were helpful. Rooms ideal. All in all, good place to stay and I myself would also recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meeborda
Chicago, IL
Dec 21, 2012

Suite Convert

The Sandman Suites were the perfect choice for our trip to Vancouver! The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown and is within walking distance to everything from great restaurants to the sky train. While we enjoyed the local grub, we were also able to save a little by shopping at the market down the street and cooking meals in our fully stocked kitchen. Having an in suite washing machine was also super helpful for our long stay. For the price, I'd recommend the Sandman Suites to anyone in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Safeway is just a short walk west of the hotel and is a lot less expensive for groceries than shopping at the small markets or Shoppers.

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MaryD.
San Diego, CA
Sep 28, 2012

Sandman suite needs some improvement

We had stayed in this hotel before and had an overall good impression. The room was cleaner and front desk employees were friendlier and helpful. We did not have the same experience this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zander
Aberdeen Scotland ABZ
Sep 25, 2012

Maid Service

The Hotel Was Excellent Good Value For Money,The Room Service left a lot to be desired we were there for 2 weeks and the bed sheets/pillowcases were not changed once, on one occassion we came home at night only to find the bed not been made,we made it up ourselves and repoted it to the front desk, overall avery good hotel we would stay there again no problem well worth the 3 star award (other than the maid service}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a 7 day Pass fot the local bus service @ 7 Dollars per person per week very good value for money

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick and Greg
Boston
Jul 7, 2012

Vancouver Davie Village

Hotel was in a easy location. Huge variety of ethnic restaurants, food markets, fruit stands very close by. Always a taxi in front of the hotel when needed. Downtown was an easy walk as was the ferry to Granville Island and Stanley Park. Room was clean, kitchen was modern, clean and very useful for breakfast and snacks. Bathroom a bit cosy. Bed was a full size and had a bit of a dip in the middle. Staff was responsive to anything we needed (TV remote needed batteries for example). Washer/dryer combo worked but a bit tricky to use. Was an all in one unit. Clothes came over very wrinkled. Hard to figure out how to use it and directions were not very helpful. All in all a very good stay. Would stay there again. Oh, nice pool too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Donair Dude shop a few doors away was awesome. Fast, delicious, great staff. Great place for end of the night snack! Yum!

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frederico
Olympia, WA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

New place for us, will return

We stayed here for the first time, and will definitely return. We visit Vancouver yearly for the RSVP bike ride from Seattle and usually stay at the Coast Plaza since that is where the ride officially ends. I've had issues in the past with the staff there-long lines checking in, rooms not ready, curt counter attitudes, and so with the rate increase this year I decided to look around. Sandman came recommended and I am doing the same. I was greeted politely, room ready, no lines, beautiful - albeit smaller then Coast Plaza- suite with bay view, balcony, nice pool, no screaming kids, restaurant and lounge. We were seven blocks from the Coast and so did some hoofing back and forth for events, but the exercise was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public bus anywhere and save taxi fees for expensive dining. Take coins! The bus drivers don't make change

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frederico
Olympia, WA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

New place for us, will return

We stayed here for the first time, and will definitely return. We visit Vancouver yearly for the RSVP bike ride from Seattle and usually stay at the Coast Plaza since that is where the ride officially ends. I've had issues in the past with the staff there-long lines checking in, rooms not ready, curt counter attitudes, and so with the rate increase this year I decided to look around. Sandman came recommended and I am doing the same. I was greeted politely, room ready, no lines, beautiful - albeit smaller then Coast Plaza- suite with bay view, balcony, nice pool, no screaming kids, restaurant and lounge. We were seven blocks from the Coast and so did some hoofing back and forth for events, but the exercise was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public bus anywhere and save taxi fees for expensive dining. Take coins! The bus drivers don't make change

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
Jun 22, 2011

A Different, High-Quality Experience

My wife and I spent four nights at this hotel for our first visit to Vancouver. The hotel was terrific and located quite convenitently. The neighborhood was definately not what we were used to but that was okay. It was very international and clearly catered to people with alternative lifesyles. Something different!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is abundant nightlife activity very nearby. Sometimes the neighborhood can be loud at night.

Back to menu Return to top