$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
View map of 1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 14, 2009

Great value Great location

Great value for the location. Near the bay, shopping and restaurants. If you like a convenient location then the Sandman is your choice. Staff was very thorough and highly professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Oct 19, 2008

Excellent Hotel and Staff

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is perfect to take advantage of the west end. The view was great overlooking English Bay. The kitchen was well equipped. I was very comfortable cooking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery stores and boutique shops are a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2008

Great Location

We stayed three nights at the hotel. If you don't mind walking, you can walk all over the city from China town, old town and Stanley Park all about one mile away. We stayed in the Penthouse on the top floor because we wanted the jacuzzi which was nice after walking around town, just remember that the penthouse is a studio room and doesn't have a seperate bedroom. Plenty of food choices and many great bakeries on the same block. A good hotel for the price and location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Aug 6, 2008

With two televisions, a ...

With two televisions, a dishwasher and an ensuite European-style washer/dryer, it was better equiped than my place. There is a sofa-bed so the room is good for families. Excellent staff who immediately responded to a key card problem and had no problems with a one hour check-out delay request. Room was very clean, all well maintained and with great views from the balcony. There even free internet access in the room. 10 units per floor, so if you can, ask for a corner room; with more windows, more light. One drawback was the bedroom was a bit small. Very narrow space between the bed and the dresser. Not good for the physically challenged. I will stay at the Sandman Suites on Davie the next time I'm in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants, caf?s and bars in the neighbourhood, but there is also a grocery store almost next door so you can do your own cooking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jun 16, 2008

Convenient location and stay

The Sandman was conveniently located (somewhat like being in NY City). Outside of the hotel is a coffee shop, bakery and fruit and vegetable market with sidewalk stands. You can walk to any desired ethnic food restaurant, as the street is lined with casual dining. The room has a very well kept, fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable bed with living room pull-out couched, which did not induce any complaints from our 16 year old son. In fact the Greek restaurant right next door had a motley standing queue waiting for dinner. Robson St. is a $5 cab ride away, or you can walk through nice shopping/business neighborhoods. The Sandman's personnel is accommodating. We even stored our luggage for the day while we enjoyed the city until our evening flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
May 22, 2008

Not a great place

The room was horrible, the carpet was absolutely filthy and had numerous burn marks. I did not have a wahser/dryer as stated in amenities. Room is very small, I had to get into the bathtub to be able to close the door to use the tiolet. Area was Ok. I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 11, 2007

Location, location,location

Great veiw, very freindly staff with knowledgeable recommendations as to where to spend time or eat out. Vey clean,comfortable rooms, Teh bath was small but suitable. The hotel seemed close to almost everything of interest to us. We'll be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Stanley Park, Dining of all kinds and the nightlife is right out side the lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester
Sep 8, 2007

Friendly and Satisfactory

We arrived after a long tiring journey (plane holdups) so we were hoping all would be well with the hotel. Check in was friendly and quick, good staff on reception made us feel welcome. Room was slighty smaller than we imagined we had a delux ocean view with balcony. We had two windows the one with the balcony was breathtaking overlooked the ocean and the city, great photos. the other was views of the main street and city.We were on the 20th floor good lift no problems. The room had a kitchenette, fridge,microwave, dishwasher and washer dryer, iron kettle, coffee maker etc. All worked very well and were handy,beds comfy,very clean and tidy bathroom good, daily maid service kept everything clean fresh towels. We never felt uneasy in this area, bright well lit pently of shops, cafes, restaurants open till late. Not noisy for us but this could be due to the fact we were so high up on our floor. Hotel restaurant very nice and handy.Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only one problem if you want to go on the rocky mountain railway you are not picked up at this hotel, but the pick up is two blocks down, dropped off afterwards outside hotel. Great location for the Vancouver tour bus and buses into town.Close to Robson street, great greek restaurant 3/4 mins away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 8, 2007

Great Location

The location was excellent, very close to all the Vancouver attractions, lots of dining choices, grocery stores nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The attractions are just a short drive away (Stanley Park, Capilano brodge, Grouse mountain, Granville, Gastown). In fact you could probably walk to all these places (except for the Capilano and the Grouse).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2007

Great place to stay

The Sandman Suites on Davie was an ideal location. Everything you need is within walking distance, if not the bus system and Skytrain are excellent. The room was comfortable, with each room having it's own balcony. I took advantage of the free heated swimming pool, and sauna. The hotel staff were very helpful with directions to all areas of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top